We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hidden valley with tea rooms”

Painswick Rococo Garden
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Painswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Painswick Rococo Garden is a unique 18th century garden set in a hidden valley with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Painswick Rococo Garden was designed in the 1740s as an English country gentleman's pleasure garden, a place for holding intimate garden parties. Laid out in a hidden valley around Painswick House, the Garden is now the country's only complete surviving rococo garden. Since 1984, an ambitious restoration programme has transformed the Garden from a woodland wilderness into a stunning place to escape the busy world. Enjoy beautifully-framed views or snuggle in one of the fanciful garden buildings. Battle to find the centre of the unusual maze and enjoy homemade food in the cafe afterwards. The Garden is famous for its snowdrop displays in winter, usually February
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Wonderful hidden valley with tea rooms”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great story here, imagine finding this hidden forgotten valley and bringing it back to life over the past 30+ years. Stay for tea as well

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It has been a fascinating project bringing this abandoned valley back to its 18th century glory. Still some areas to do so the journey is not over yet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    176
    51
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The garden though not huge, seemed to swallow the other visitors and we felt as if we were there alone, just how we like it!
A fascinating insight to how gardens have developed.
The garden is beautifully kept with helpful labels of what plants are in each bed.
We were there for two hours not counting lunch, we visited on a glorious day which obvious helped. Bet the owners of the house wish it was still theirs.
The cafe is also very good, we had lovely sandwiches, the waitress very helpfully brought the coffee after we had eaten (I do get fed up with coffee that arrives before the food!) and volunteered water with ice, lemon and mint!
The plants for sale are also very reasonably priced.
What more could you want?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank weekender79584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Garden and restaurant. I will pass on your comments to the staff in the restaurant and send them off to pick some more mint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great treasure”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Happily spent 90 minutes going through the Gardens. Lots to see and do, and the maze was lots of fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidFarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed the Garden and our unusual maze.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely garden”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a grand example of the rococo gardens which existed for no other reason but for the owner's pleasure. It is not very large but can be carefully covered in 45 minutes to an hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Asheville-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Very pleased that the original owner's pleasure became your pleasure as well. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Really nice gardens spread out with some great views, only criticism is that it has a maze which was a let down, it was small and you could see through the hedges so not much fun!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shu1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Manager at Painswick Rococo Garden, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write you review. We are delighted you found the gardens lovely, we are sorry the maze fell short of your standards, admittedly we have only recently had to give it its annual haircut and this does mean that the hedges can take a couple of weeks to thicken up again. it is always a problem in maintaining a Garden that plants need cutting back at times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Painswick Rococo Garden also viewed

 

Been to Painswick Rococo Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing