We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friends 50th birthday celebrations”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Painswick, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirstie M
1 review
“Lovely house with some issues”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is a large house, even larger than appears from the pictures. Downstairs you'll find a nice sit-in kitchen with Aga and a utility room and large pantry off it. There is a very big dining room, a large sitting room, a library and an office as well as a cloakroom. Upstairs are 5 bedrooms - four are double/king size and one has twin beds. The grounds are extensive and there is more than enough room for the ten people the house sleeps. It is warm (we went in November), the caretaker lives on site and is responsive if there are any issues. It is well stocked with pretty much everything you could want.
On the downside there are only two showers in the house and both are extremely old - one has almost no water pressure at all and is above a bath. A number of the beds are quite uncomfortable, particularly the twin room. The house itself has an odd feeling - it is as if the owners left five minutes before you arrived and there are still far too many personal belongings left behind - not just nice things like books and pictures and ornaments, but half used condiments, a cupboard full of coats and so on. The library is decidedly musty and probably damp.
On balance we had a nice time here, were relatively comfortable, but would probably not return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Kirstie
I am glad you had a nice time but disappointed that the house was not up to your expectations. As it is about 200 years old I.m afraid we have to put up with some features that are not up to modern standards....but is that not the charm of such houses? I think many houses rented off this type of owner direct websites will feel a little like the owners left 5 mins ago.....perhaps in our case a couple of days before you arrived! Anyhow thanks again for your stay. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie B
1 review
“Friends 50th birthday celebrations”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a fantastic time in this beautiful,spacious house. It was so warm and welcoming, as was Gabor the house keeper upon arrival. Would recommend for family and friends getogethers and look forward to coming back again soon. Great for murder mystery evenings! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Jeannie - Very pleased that you and your colleagues enjoyed Horsepools House. Hope we can welcome you back!
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Sep 2017
Dina

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JillA1334
1 review
“Cycling friends weekend”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a lovely stay at Horsepools House. We enjoyed being in the interesting house and beautiful gardens after a day's cycling exploring the area. We cycled from Nailsworth and also Kemble station where the terrain is flatter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Very many thanks for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay! As Horsepools is about the highest point in the area cycling home was always a bit if a struggle! Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnoldal...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic and unique”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absoloutely amazing location with loads of space. Very unique and relaxing environment. Garden is massive

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thanks John - yes the garden is wonderful and takes a bit of looking after!!! Always a lot to do! Very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrot...
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house for a relaxing get together”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a reunion of old school friends and this house was perfect. A lovely, interesting house with a fantastic huge garden. We spent most of the weekend outside and had a BBQ on the new big gas BBQ. We had some small children and the garden was perfect for them to run around and play in. The kitchen was well equipped for all the cooking we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
So pleased you all enjoyed the house and gardens. We have just redecorated the library that is now also open to guests so yet more to see in the house even if the weather is unkind! Thanks again for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosdens
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a family celebration ”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights over the May Bank holiday weekend. It is a beautiful house which is large but warm and welcoming. There was plenty of space for 4 families to unwind and relaxed. It was great to cook for the whole family in a well-equipped country kitchen. It was child friendly with plenty of toys to play with and a massive garden to run around in. The decor was traditional and in keeping with the style of the property. Check in was flexible as we all arrived at different times and the house keeper was available but did not disturb us. Would definitely recommend for a large family gathering

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Delighted you enjoyed the long weekend at Horsepools - our children always enjoyed the garden and all the space! Thanks again for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing