We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Easter”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Painswick, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hanski201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Easter”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I can't give enough praise for this wonderful house and it's history. The house and grounds are beautiful. Yes, the decor is dated but it adds to the experience. We got an Ocado delivery on the first night and ate in both nights. There is a fire, which we sat in front of playing Articulate. The house is spacious so we didn't get under each other's feet! There's lots of room for parking (we had 4 cards). There's a book detailing the history of the house, which is really interesting.

There was 9 of us (all very different personalities) and everyone loved the house and stay so thank you!

Communication before and after the stay is good and friendly.

We used the garden for an Easter egg hunt so if you're lucky, there may still be one or two around... ;)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Delighted you enjoyed your stay over Easter! We recently had the history of ownership of Horsepools prepared by a historian and it does make interesting reading I agree!
Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Horsepools sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beebee03
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Big House”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

It was a pleasure staying at Horsepools. The owner, Paul, was very kind and obliging when we asked if we could rent the house at the last minute and bring our cat with us. The house is very big with a spacious open garden. There's plenty of bedrooms and two of them are ensuite, the shared 'family bathroom' though, is small and the shower is not very powerful. The house is next to a busy main road, however it's somehow peaceful and quiet. We all slept very well. We stayed at Horsepools right before the biggest snowfall in years and it was bitterly cold outside, but not in the house. The heating works well and it was nice and warm. Our daughters were delighted to take over the study in order to revise for their exams, the table was big enough for both of them and had everything they needed, glue sticks, scissors, pens and more! Unfortunately Gabor couldn't make the printer work, but that would be splitting hairs! All in all we had a wonderful time, it would've been perfect though, if Gabor had left perhaps a pint of milk and some biscuits in the kitchen before our arrival. There were tea bags in the cupboard but that was it. We've booked over a dozen houses with trip advisor/ holiday lettings over the years, in Britain and abroad and we've always been welcomed with the essentials like milk, tea, biscuits, etc. We were very tired when we arrived after a long drive and a cup of tea was badly needed, perhaps next time? Thank you Paul for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2018
Thanks for taking the time to review us. Yes it was a little challenging with the very last minute booking and the cat who left his mark and more all over the house! Anyhow glad you enjoyed the stay and tea and biscuits will be provided on your next stay!
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Gail - Many thanks for your review and delighted you and your group enjoyed your stay. Painswick is lovely I agree! Thanks again.

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue S
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Year break”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This going to be a hard act to follow. A family group of eight stayed over the new year. Amazing and well equipped Grand old house. Very warm and welcoming. Even though it is a grand house it is a real home from home. We spent a very relaxing few days here to celebrate the new year. The house needs some tlc but this adds to the charm as it feels like a well loved family home. I was convinced it would be a draughty old house and took lots of warm clothes, this is not the case the heating system is as good as any modern house.Gabor is a real asset to have on hand and didn't mind any requests for help. He even found us a film on you tube. Good location for walkers from a nice stroll to a long walk. Fantastic views from the cottage. The owner even left us a bottle of champagne to celebrate the new year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Sue - Many thanks for your comments and so very pleased you enjoyed the New Year break! We are slowly upgrading - the boiler was new last year hence the good heating! It has always been a very happy family house for us and hope others can enjoy it in the same way. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa H
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing venue for an extended family gathering”
Reviewed 17 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Well placed not far from M5. Close to Slimbridge wildlife and wetlands centre which we visited. A spacious and charming family home with an extensive garden for children. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2017
Theresa

Many thanks for your review - delighted your enjoyed Slimbridge which was my parents favourite and we all used to visit often. We do hope you will return and explore more of the area.

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house, full of character”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were slightly dubious about staying in a 'lived in' house like this but we had a great stay and loved the character of the house. Used to staying in modern, characterless places but this was far more fun and you very quickly overlook the quirks and creeks. Made you feel like you were in an episode of Downton Abbey. Highly recommend but go with an open mind - don't expect perfection.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2017
Many thanks for your review - yes the house is over 200 years old so there are certainly a few quirks and creeks!! My parents bought the house in 1991 and we are still exploring the cellars and attics! Horsepools is certainly anything but characterless - thanks again for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstie M
1 review
“Lovely house with some issues”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is a large house, even larger than appears from the pictures. Downstairs you'll find a nice sit-in kitchen with Aga and a utility room and large pantry off it. There is a very big dining room, a large sitting room, a library and an office as well as a cloakroom. Upstairs are 5 bedrooms - four are double/king size and one has twin beds. The grounds are extensive and there is more than enough room for the ten people the house sleeps. It is warm (we went in November), the caretaker lives on site and is responsive if there are any issues. It is well stocked with pretty much everything you could want.
On the downside there are only two showers in the house and both are extremely old - one has almost no water pressure at all and is above a bath. A number of the beds are quite uncomfortable, particularly the twin room. The house itself has an odd feeling - it is as if the owners left five minutes before you arrived and there are still far too many personal belongings left behind - not just nice things like books and pictures and ornaments, but half used condiments, a cupboard full of coats and so on. The library is decidedly musty and probably damp.
On balance we had a nice time here, were relatively comfortable, but would probably not return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Kirstie
I am glad you had a nice time but disappointed that the house was not up to your expectations. As it is about 200 years old I.m afraid we have to put up with some features that are not up to modern standards....but is that not the charm of such houses? I think many houses rented off this type of owner direct websites will feel a little like the owners left 5 mins ago.....perhaps in our case a couple of days before you arrived! Anyhow thanks again for your stay. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;