We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
23
13
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
13
0
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were walking the Cotswalds and had a 1 night stay here during our 8 day trip.
Phillipa was the most welcoming of all the B&B owners. Eventhough she was going out the door when we arrived, she made some tea, offered to put some of our laundry in the wash she was doing and gave us info on where to eat, etc in Painswick.The home itself is 400 years old and beautifully done. The twin we had was lovely. Roomy with good amenities. Privacy. Breakfast was wonderful. Painswick is a lovely town as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 65AroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We had a one nights stay at Ashton House, and despite a bit of confusion on what time we were supposed to have arrived, we were made to feel very welcome with tea and cakes in the lovely garden. Breakfast was delicious and the large open fire was lit on our wet Sunday morning which was lovely.
A week later after we had left I realised that I had left an expensive running watch in our room. It was put in the post very promptly and my offer to pay postage and packing wasn't taken up - that's what you call customer service. Thank you Philippa!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This B & B is delightful from its history to its gorgeous garden to the herbs smoldering in the fire place on arrival, the sherry on the side board to the very nice rooms, to the excellent breakfast this is a winner on the small scale type of B and B. The town is very cute also; good cafe/deli, superb restaurant in St. Michael and the very historic St. Mary's church and churchyard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We had a wonderful time in Ashton House. A warm welcome, nice bed, modern shower and great breakfast. The service was very special. We visited Painswick as a central point for our walks on the Cotswold Way. We received all the help and information we needed. Including many offers to give us a lift to and from starting and finishing points on the route. For everybody who wants to get away from the rush of everyday-live, we recommend Ashton House in Painswick, especially thanks to the enthousiastic hospitality of Philippa and Steve.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToonKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed for two nights at Ashton House in Painswick and found it to be a gorgeous place to stay and unwind. Phillipa made our stay most enjoyable and helped us with lots of things to do during the day and eve.

We snoozed, ate and drank. All what we wanted to do to unwind.

Will defo be back another time.

RS and FT x

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rashah100975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews