We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
23
13
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
13
0
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Ashton house. 4 of us stayed a night to attend a wedding in the area and it was the perfect place to stumble back to that night. The owner was very welcoming and cooked a great breakfast. The rooms were all clean and very comfortable. All in all, it was ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigshiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We we're put in a room that appeared to be their daughter bedroom, no lock on the door not even a locking mechanism so we had to put a bag against it from the inside. The TV didn't work, the chest of draws had their daughters clothes in so there was nowhere to put anything. The bed was nice, flimsy blinds so the minute the sun came up the room was too light to sleep. We could clearly hear the host below in the kitchen, the bathroom had no shower or bin, just a shower hose.
Breakfast was nice and the host was nice if not somewhat bossy.
I would have preferred for the host to have been honest and said they were fully booked and all they had left to put us in another room and NOT charged us the full price. I wasn’t asked once if everything was OK or if we slept well either.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxx020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I found myself without accommodation at short notice and simply knocked on the door of Ashton House. Philippa was very helpful and within minutes everything I had somewhere very special to stay. I don't like modern, impersonal hotels and this is exactly what Ashton House is not. Ashton House is the real thing - a true English B & B in an old, interesting, quirky, well furnished house in a quiet and beautiful historic town. There is free parking nearby. Philippa makes you feel like her private guest in her lovely home although she is running a proper B & B and she cooks a wonderful breakfast. There are limitations to the facilities because of the age and style of the property but take that as part of the charm and you won't be disappointed. I would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarriecoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed at Ashton House for two nights and had a thoroughly nice time. The room was delightful and the bed very comfy indeed. Although we don;t usually have breakfast we did on this occasion and Philippa cooked us two very indulgent breakfasts. We stay in a lot of B&Bs for weekend breaks and the nice thing about this place was that Philippa let us come and go as we wanted without always hanging around as you get in other places. Painswick itself is gorgeous and I can recommedn it to anyone looking for a break from the city. We'll certainly be coming back to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW114HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We were very disappointed with Ashton House. When calling ahead to confirm our arrival we were told that our room had not been held even though we had booked it nearly 2 months in advance. We were acommendated for one night & we were sorry we left Chipping Campden & drove all the way to Painswick for this abysmal experience. The room was not clean, not modern, the shower did not work, the sink was in the room & the size of a small bucket. This was the worst place I have ever stayed. Philippa was not apologetic for not keeping our reservation nor did she comp us anything. We were sorely disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bssteffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews