We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
23
13
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
13
0
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We had a wonderful time in Ashton House. A warm welcome, nice bed, modern shower and great breakfast. The service was very special. We visited Painswick as a central point for our walks on the Cotswold Way. We received all the help and information we needed. Including many offers to give us a lift to and from starting and finishing points on the route. For everybody who wants to get away from the rush of everyday-live, we recommend Ashton House in Painswick, especially thanks to the enthousiastic hospitality of Philippa and Steve.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToonKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed for two nights at Ashton House in Painswick and found it to be a gorgeous place to stay and unwind. Phillipa made our stay most enjoyable and helped us with lots of things to do during the day and eve.

We snoozed, ate and drank. All what we wanted to do to unwind.

Will defo be back another time.

RS and FT x

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rashah100975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Ashton house. 4 of us stayed a night to attend a wedding in the area and it was the perfect place to stumble back to that night. The owner was very welcoming and cooked a great breakfast. The rooms were all clean and very comfortable. All in all, it was ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigshiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We we're put in a room that appeared to be their daughter bedroom, no lock on the door not even a locking mechanism so we had to put a bag against it from the inside. The TV didn't work, the chest of draws had their daughters clothes in so there was nowhere to put anything. The bed was nice, flimsy blinds so the minute the sun came up the room was too light to sleep. We could clearly hear the host below in the kitchen, the bathroom had no shower or bin, just a shower hose.
Breakfast was nice and the host was nice if not somewhat bossy.
I would have preferred for the host to have been honest and said they were fully booked and all they had left to put us in another room and NOT charged us the full price. I wasn’t asked once if everything was OK or if we slept well either.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxx020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I found myself without accommodation at short notice and simply knocked on the door of Ashton House. Philippa was very helpful and within minutes everything I had somewhere very special to stay. I don't like modern, impersonal hotels and this is exactly what Ashton House is not. Ashton House is the real thing - a true English B & B in an old, interesting, quirky, well furnished house in a quiet and beautiful historic town. There is free parking nearby. Philippa makes you feel like her private guest in her lovely home although she is running a proper B & B and she cooks a wonderful breakfast. There are limitations to the facilities because of the age and style of the property but take that as part of the charm and you won't be disappointed. I would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarriecoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews