We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cardynham House
Nearby Hotels
The Painswick(Painswick)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tibbiwell Lodge(Painswick)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcon Inn(Painswick)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Michael's(Painswick)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hatton Court Hotel(Upton St Leonards)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Troy House(Painswick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
117
85
35
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
85
35
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool roomnew englandarabian nightsfour poster bedtuscany roomthe pubfour starnarrow streetspre booktop floordelightful roomcar parkporridgeexposed beamsweekend breakunique hotelwonderful food
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the Cardynham last weekend for 2 nights. My partner had booked the pool room as a surprise for my 40th birthday. We were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived our bags were wrestled out of our hands as we were shown to our room and given instructions on using the pool.
The room was lovely, warm, cosy and quiet just what we were after given out busy lives caring for 2 severely disabled children.
The pool was kept at a constant warm temperature and even in the middle of December we never once felt cold.
The first evening we ate out after a stroll through the village which is lovely and especially so being near to Christmas. Even the yew trees in the churchyard were decorated in lights.
We came back that evening to
A lovely fire in the lounge where I sat checking emails and showing off our beautiful room on facebook!! We were unable to get wifi in our room but this really wasn't a problem
The next morning we were set up for the day with a mountain of a breakfast. I asked for hot chocolate and was given it in a teapot!! The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
That night we dined in the bistro. Lovely food, attentive and friendly service. Just what we wanted
I have read many negative reviews on here but felt they were talking about another place as we found nothing negative to say. As we said to the lady who we handed the key back to on leaving, hopefully they will still be going in 4 years when my partner turns 50 as we will definitely be visiting the pool room and Cardynham house again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyingpigeon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Nice place, good welcome perfect to get away from it all to relax. Rooms all have character, didn't, eat in the restaurant but looked good. Breakfasts nice, well cooked and tasted fine. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Cardynham House is advertised as a 15th century house which is what makes it so unique & a wonderful place to stay. If you want a porter at reception to carry your bags,champagne drinks on arrival, monsoon showers in the bathroom, butler service to provide bed tea in the mornings & turn on the room heaters, high tea in the lounge at 4PM etc etc then this place is not for you! Try the Hilton, Sheraton or even Premier inn.
We stayed 2 nights with 2 rooms & enjoyed it immensely.
Breakfast cooked by very pleasant staff was just what we ordered. We had dinner one night in restaurant downstairs which was very good.
Don't think they needed to provide parking in the 15th century so we were shown a parking area 1 minute walk away for a small sum.
A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Polly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Booked this hotel for 2 nights as a base for the cheltenham races painswick is a lovely village On arrival The hotel looks great from the outside as soon as you walk in through into the lounge area it felt cold the fire in the lounge area was not lit the 2 nights we stayed this would have been more welcoming our room was clean and bed was comfortable but it's let down by cheap tacky fittings the en suite is cold rubber matting no rug cheap shower unit why ? this place could be fab it's got character and history. The tea & coffee facilities in the room need updating, Also I don't like to order my breakfast the night before why is this as for the breakfast well we had the cooked breakfast the sausages,bacon,beans all economy in other words cheap also the poached eggs where done like the 70's half cup steamed over cooked, our second breakfast we ordered soft boiled eggs they came hard boiled and the warm croissant had been frozen they were dry and tasted of nothing they should be buttery, sorry this is not good enough why don't you use local produce ? The bistro is ok nothing special better atmosphere in the pub next door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevenSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Paterson, Owner at Cardynham House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I am sorry that this guest felt the need to post this review. I spoke to them on departure and they made no mention that they were not satisfied with their stay in any way. We do source our ingredients locally wherever possible but we are in a rural location - our croissants are supplied part baked and frozen but that is because there is no fresh supplier within 10 miles. Apart from that we use local butchers and sources wherever possible and most of our suppliers fit this description. We do ask guests to order breakfast the night ahead simply because that enables us to offer a much wider choice. All our breakfasts are cooked to order freshly as a result if the eggs were not done correctly then all it would take is to draw this to our attention and they would have been replaced to order. As a property with only nine rooms we find that this system enables us to offer the best possible freshly cooked choice.

There is a fire in the lounge which we expect to have operating regularly soon - we are waiting on the sweep to clean the chimney. All the guest needed do was to ask my staff for the fire to be lit and this would have been done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just spend one night at this B & B with my husband and sister and brother-in-law. We stayed in the Dovecote room and they were in the Old Tuscany. Both rooms were lovely, our was particularly large as it was a family room. Lovely comfortable beds - however the bathroom was very cramped and quite cold. Car parking quite difficult in narrow street, but there is public car park close by.

Excellent breakfast, nice open fire in breakfast room, so very cosy. Staff very helpful. Had evening meal in the Royal Oak next door, small but food very good.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews