We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Falcon Inn cancelled booking”
Review of Falcon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falcon Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Painswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2013

For Christmas this year we were going to take out our 89 year old grandmother to the Falcon Inn.To make sure we would get a table, we booked in October and we were told that our booking had been made. So when we called them in December to ask them to send us a menu we were told that they had no record of our booking and that there was no more room.But a week before they cancelled we called them to make sure they had the right amount of seats,They told us that they still had our booking.We regularly go to this pub whenever we are in painswick, we feel really let down and we are unlikely to go to that pub again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil J, Owner at Falcon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

I am so sorry to read how disappointed you are about not having a table at The Falcon on Christmas Day, there has obviously been a misunderstanding by both parties and it seems that you believe a booking was made and we believe an enquiry was made and that you were informed that there was a waiting list and that if there was any changes we would contact you, unfortunately all tables that were reserved in October were asked to pay deposits by 1st November, and that was the time if a table became available. All deposits were received by 1st November and therefore we were fully booked, the fact that no deposit was asked of you and none was paid by you, seems to suggest that it was an enquiry. The only error made by The Falcon was explaining the situation correctly at the first point of contact and not informing you in November that we were fully booked, for this I apologies and will ensure that we improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Falcon Inn is conveniently located in the center of Painswick and has a pub and views to the church. The staff is very pleasant and the layout is fine but the guestrooms are in need of a remodel. Our room had a bed with a serious tilt, threatening to catapult the sleeper to the floor if his vigilance to stay abed waned. The room smelled rather musty/mouldy, prompting a visit to the shop down the road for an aromatic candle. The bath was basic. The pub offered surprisingly good food, but that is a different review.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My partner and I stumbled across The Falcon by chance and had a wonderful meal. From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and professional, the service was excellent, the food superb and the ambience lovely.

We found the whole evening to be a most agreeable experience and would thoroughly recommend it, although it would almost certainly be necessary to book as we were very lucky to get a table and they were turning others away

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I were completely exhausted and we managed to organise 4 nights away at The Falcon Inn based on its Trip Advisor reviews. This pub and all its staff are an utter delight and we had a really magical time. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable, the bath was deep and someone had actually thought about where to put the plugs so they were convenient for hair dryers etc. Downstairs the pub was packed every night and i'm not surprised because they were all wonderfully charming without being over the top and the food was delicious. We will be back Falcon Inn - you are an oasis of loveliness.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KateSilverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at this charming establishment for a short break in the Cotswolds. We were more than pleased with our choice of accommodation. What we experienced was a very good value clean room, very good food served by very friendly staff. Without exception all staff members served us with a smile. A very informal and friendly feel made for a very enjoyable break. The Falcon Inn fully deserves high rating and continued success.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 at the front but untroubled by road noise or church bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Falcon Inn on 26th October 2013 and I would recommend this hotel most strongly. The staff were friendly and efficient, the meal was superb and the rooms very clean. Breakfast was one of the best full English I have had in a long time.

The room we stayed in (No 1) had a great view of the churchyard and the surrounding hills. Just one minor point I meant to raise with the staff but simply forgot, the bathroom fan in the adjoining room is very noisy and does sound loud even through the walls.

I will certainly be booking this hotel again when next we are in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very good B & B, with charming French Countryside decor. Good location, excellent rooms with quality duvets and pillows. It was heaven to sleep after a long drive :-)

Top notch cleanliness, service, and general quality of food. Very helpful hosts and service. Hilghly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terracottared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painswick
0.1 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,354 reviews
5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Court House Manor
Court House Manor
#2 of 13 in Painswick
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troy House
Troy House
#1 of 13 in Painswick
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Inn

Address: New Street, Painswick GL6 6UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falcon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Inn sits opposite a quintessential English village church with its famous 99 clipped yew trees sitting in its grounds. The Falcon was first opened as a coaching inn in the 16th century and carries out the aims of the coaching inn to this day, the transport to it is just a little bit different. Great food, service and hospitality are provided at value for money prices. Painswick is not to be missed and the Falcon is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falcon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Painswick
Falcon Inn Painswick, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing