We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best yet”

Review of Barncastle

Gorgeous Views of the Painswick Valley from the Barn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorgeous Views of the Painswick Valley from the Barn.
Stunning View of the Barn as you enter the driveway. First floor lounge room with wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Gorgeous Views of the Painswick Valley from the Barn.
Stunning View of the Barn as you enter the driveway.
First floor lounge room with wood burner
Dining room with patio doors leading to garden
Bedroom with en-suite
View of the garden
Front view of Barncastle
Downstairs bathroom
Front view of Barncastle
Garden view
View across the fields to Pitchcombe church
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Painswick, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jbird3
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best yet”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from our annual get together with friends and we have done this for the last 5 years. When organising something you always worry that the accommodation will be up to standard and in the past we have stayed in places where some rooms were good and others poor, but there was no problem this time. All the bedrooms were of an excellent standard with really comfy beds, lovely linen and towels and the bathroom facilities were excellent.

The location is great with wonderful views and the kitchen living and dining room all lovely. The quality of the fittings and the utensils in the kitchen was excellent and what was a real bonus was the provision of the basic cooking ingredients and tea, coffee etc.

Val the owner came to check everything was ok but then left us to enjoy the homemade cake and marmalade which were both very much appreciated (and gorgeous!)

We are already talking about going back as its the best place for a large group that we have stayed in by a country mile!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evrything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zephyr782
england
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb, beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The warm welcome, quality of the property, care and attention to detail and location made our weekend family break at Barncastle a stay to remember, it was genuinely superb

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth of the welcome by Valerie the owner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
1 review
“Amazing barn castle and barn cottage so impressed we have already booked again for summer hols!”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We booked both the barn castle and cottage for a week over New Year for our large family to spend time together. The accomadation allowed for all of us to eat,socialise and relax together as well as offering smaller areas for older and younger family members to have some quiet time. The lounge areas and beds were comfortable and warm and both castle and barn were so well equipped we wanted for nothing.
The views are breathtaking and the surrounding area ideal for walks and as was the case for some of our more active family members for jogging/running!
The cake on arrival was simply delicious too!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJBHertfo...
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First class accomodation”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Booked Barncastle for a special birthday celebration for my husband with the whole family, including three babies. It proved to be perfect. The house was large enough to accommodate us all but still retained a cosy feel. The kitchen was well stocked, the beds comfortable and there was enough seating for us all to relax in the main lounge. The views from the garden are spectacular and there are good walking routes in the local countryside.

Lovely touches for children with books and toys - cots and high chairs are provided.

The welcome pack was much appreciated and the owner Val was attentive and made herself available if we needed anything. We would have no hesitation in recommending Barncastle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good quality accommodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accomodation - exceded all expectations”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Barncastle for a long weekend with 9 other people and we were all amazed at the spacious layout, which the photos don't do justice, and how well equipped it was. The owner was very accommodating with the few requests we made, because it was a surprise weekend for one of our party.
The place was warm, modern, clean, had plenty of hot water, furniture, cutlery, crockery and the home made cake that was left for us upon arrival was delicious, which other reviewers have also stated. Set in a lovely position, overlooking a green field which rolls down into a valley with a wonderful view.
The local pub/ restaurant (The Edgemoor Inn) was the icing on the cake as they too were very accommodating for a late booking large group but fitted us in and provided fantastic food.
You will not be disappointed !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just a beautiful looking property
Liked least: Local town of Stroud is not a tourist destination, not at all worth visiting
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant venue!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our party (oldies, adult children and partners) stayed at Barncastle for August Bank Holiday weekend and had a fantastic time! There had been good communication beforehand with Val (who was a lovely lady) and she had thoughtfully provided us with juice and an excellent cake upon arrival! The venue was superb, well furnished and extremely clean with a secure garden, no pond (so no worries about little ones' safety) and breath taking views.
This was a wonderful venue which would suit a variety of ages/groups. The house was well stocked with good quality fixtures and fittings as well as interesting /useful additions (extensive cd/dvd/reading material and children's toys/books/games etc).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful venue in scenic area
Liked least: Very narrow lane leading to the property from the main road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S
Venice, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, Perfect and Perfect”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We came to the Cotswolds for 5 days with our daughter, son-in-law and two granddaughters (ages 12-and 14) to visit my wife's extended family in Cheltenham . It was a pleasure working with Val King from my first email, later phone calls, and then finally meeting her in person. We immediately felt her warmth and sincerity in making us feel that Barncastle was our special holiday home and indeed it exceeded all of our expectations. First it is situated on one of the most scenic hilltops in the Cotswolds with beautiful vistas. The interior of Barncastle is spacious, tastefully well appointed while cozy and comfortable in all respects (and immaculately clean). Our 5 days passed too quickly and everyone was quite sad to leave even though we were headed to London for the second half of our holiday trip. Barncastle is perfectly situated for visiting all parts of the Cotswolds, and though we were clearly in the country hills away from traffic and noise, all routine amenities could be found with a short trip to nearby towns. My wife wanted me to lie and leave a mediocre review so that this gem of a hideaway doesn't become unobtainable for our next trip but Barncastle is too special not to share with everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm, spacious home away from home.
Liked least: Having to leave :-(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing