We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B on The Cotswold Way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Painswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Anne's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Painswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived slightly early for check in at 4pm but were graciously shown to our room. A lovely twin room overlooking the front of the property. No problem with road noise as the town falls quiet at sunset. A good size bathroom in this room. Breakfast was fantastic and was at a shared table with other guests. A very good walker friendly B&B with storage for boots and wet weather gear. Recommended to all hikers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had the bedroom with the four poster bed and the most noticeable thing is the very small shower room and toilet concealed in what appears to be a wardrobe. We found this hilarious, but people of greater girth than us or more sophisticated expectations might be a little disappointed. However, unlike Narnia you don't have to go right through it to get there, and it is much easier to come back. This room faces the rear and is very quiet.
The B & B is right on the Cotswold Way so is ideal for walkers as well as those who want something slightly unusual. There is a good lobby in which to de-boot and to leave wet items. Iris and Greg have relaxed attitude to the comings and goings of guests, and seemed also quite relaxed about breakfast times. They are very welcoming and attentive. Breakfast is taken at a communal table and we enjoyed the company of couples from Norway and Switzerland. There is plenty of homemade organic produce to eat; porridge, cereals, bread, croissants, full fry and variations, fruit juice and tea & coffee.
Parking, if you have a car, is on the opposite side of the one-way street, slightly up from the house, but there is a good public bus service through the town so there is no need to drive if you can avoid it. The Falcon Inn just round the corner is a great place to eat in, and there are other places within walking distance too.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Despite the warm welcome and excellent breakfasts, the "red room" is one to avoid at all costs as the en suite facilities are located behind in what looks to be a large converted wardrobe. These facilities are not acceptable especially after a long day's walk in intense heat - it is impossible to sit on the toilet except sideways and the space for drying oneself after showering is totally inadequate ; there is also a dangerously high step-up into the en-suite. It seems that the room had been offered to somebody else prior to our arrival as the used towels which had been left on the bed would suggest that somebody had rejected it having inspected the en suite. Whilst we were having a cold drink downstairs , the towels were replaced . We were offered the use of other bathroom facilities but to reach them one had to go downstairs through the dining room into the front hall.

Room Tip: Avoid the red room at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamHemmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

After finishing our walk for the day on the Cotswold Way it was nice to find our B&B located right on the route. A warm welcome was given, including fresh tea and a toasted scone. Our room was at the front overlooking the street which at first seemed very busy but as the evening approached the traffic disappeared. Lovely old building with creaky stairs and slanted ceilings, just what you'd expect in that part of the country. Breakfast was very good and locally sourced which is an added bonus. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building with very welcoming hosts. On arrival we were instantly offered a lovely pot of tea and some toasted fruit loaf. Lovely stuff! My room was a cosy double with en suite shower room. Tastefully decorated and clean, the bed was comfy and the shower was warm. Lovely view of the wonderful buildings opposite and down the road. I was also very pleased to meet the family dog, who loves a good cuddle and a belly tickle! Breakfast was organic and delicious, with freshly baked bread and croissants and home made plum jam. A super stay in a pretty and interesting village.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

As a nervous driver in snow bound conditions, I took a decision to stay in Painswick rather than attempt to get home. At short notice, I was given a lovely cosy room that had everything I needed. As part of the tea/coffee making facilities, I had proper milk (not the nasty stuff in little cartons. Iris even put a hot water bottle in my bed to air the linen - a little thought that went such a long way!
I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough - I feasted like a king at breakfast - and I look forward to being snowed in again!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nich14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This is a little gem.The hosts are lovely and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay with them and this part of the Cotswolds.I had a room with a four poster bed..great nights sleep and the room was very tastefully decorated etc..The locally sourced breakfast was fantastic and set me up for the day.This was a nice change to staying in a hotel.

Room Tip: When you book,let it be known if you are on the large side because one of the rooms has a quite smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthonyvanoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Painswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Falcon Inn
Falcon Inn
#3 of 13 in Painswick
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Troy House
Troy House
#1 of 13 in Painswick
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Court House Manor
Court House Manor
#2 of 13 in Painswick
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St Michael's
St Michael's
#4 of 13 in Painswick
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardynham House
Cardynham House
#6 of 13 in Painswick
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Anne's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Anne's Bed and Breakfast

Address: St. Annes Gloucester Street, Painswick GL6 6QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Painswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Painswick
Price Range: £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
St. Anne's Bed And Breakfast Painswick, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing