We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quietly located and beautifully presented...”
other travellers have booked this property
Modern kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern kitchen
Welcoming living room with fire Real fire for those winter nights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Modern kitchen
Welcoming living room with fire
Real fire for those winter nights
Smart finishes
Smart finishes
Dining table for 4
Twin bedroom (only 1 bed shown)
Stylish design
View from the window
Modern bathroom
Mirror and radiator
Modern bathroom
Master bedroom
Cosy and inviting
Elegant furniture
View from the front
Outside Al fresco!
Front door and chairs
Primrose Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
guypurdy
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quietly located and beautifully presented cottage only two minutes from the centre of Stow”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Being located off the road via a short path makes this a peaceful location. The warm cottage is clean tidy, well maintained and one of the best we have stayed in, thoroughly recommend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyates31
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Beautiful little cottage set in a wonderful and convenient location. Cottage was very homely and we felt settled the minute we arrived. The area is spot on as it's only a stroll into town or a short drive to a number of other amazing villages. Highly recommended and we'd love to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxlau91
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and perfect little cottage.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great weekend staying at Primrose Cottage. It's so close to town, easy access to local bars and tea rooms and the local residents were so friendly.

The only downside was the cleanliness of the bathroom as the toilet brush was exceptionally dirty and we felt the seat could have benefitted from a change.

Other than the bathroom facilities it was a great weekend and ideal for seeing all surrounding villages.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owner of Primrose Cottage:
"Thank you for taking the time to review our much loved 'Primrose Cottage'.
As soon as I read this review I sent my housekeeper straight there to check the bathroom, I myself fitted a brand new toilet seat last month, however it had come slightly loose-so thank you for informing us of this, and this has now been tightened. The brush-although it wasn't dirty had been exposed to some water, and so had some small rust damage on the handle. I am pleased to tell you that this has now been replaced and rectified.
Thanks again for your review""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40AuntieK
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A lovely little property in an ideal location to explore the Cotswolds. It was a last minute break - booking through Character Cottages was superb - very friendly and efficient (even over the weekend when they were officially closed!) and the direct contact we had with the owner was also faultless.
Nice decor and finishing touches throughout. The small bedroom would have benefited from a table lamp, as would the lounge too in making it feel even more cosy (as the wall lights were quite bright).
The homemade cookies on arrival were much appreciated and very welcoming.
Thanks for a lovely break - we hope to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and lovely log burner
Liked least: Attitude of the cleaner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy W
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful quaint cottage, perfect for a slow weekend”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children, had a lovely time snuggled up in Primrose Cottage on a cold, indeed snowy, weekend in the Cotswolds! Perfect for a long weekend, and as a base to explore some of Stow and local towns!

It has virtually everything you need for a weekend, and longer: well equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge room, wood for the fire, efficient heating, comfortable beds, even a washing machine.

While we didn't need it for Sunday night, we actually appreciated the imposed 3 night minimum, as the slow Sunday start was far more pleasant than having to race off at 9:55am!

Loved the Old Butcher restaurant a few minutes walk away. It's in a super location, very easy to walk everywhere you need to. Street parking is ample,

A little tricky to find in the dark, just look for the church yard about halfway along the street from the main town road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHHahn
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
“Location is perfect for time in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A cozy, charming cottage just a block from the town center. Easy on the street parking, quiet neighborhood, modern and updated but with the charm and quirkiness of a vintage terrace house. Tasteful decor, large and well stocked kitchen, very comfortable furniture in the living room, lots of hot water in the shower, comfortable bedding and linens. Our only snag was our unfamiliarity with the clothes washer and dryer and we couldn't find a user guide. Wi-fi worked perfectly. It was a great home base for exploring the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable furniture
Liked least: confusing washer/dryer
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris N
1 review
“Perfect mini-moon for the newlyweds”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Wow! What a gorgeous cottage, located in a beautiful town. We really enjoyed our stay and thought that the modern yet charming decor and personal touches in the cottage made it feel very homely and welcoming. The nearby cafes, shops and pubs are only a 2minute walk from your front door and everywhere we ate, the food was fantastic. On the evenings that we ate in at the cottage the excellent kitchen facilities meant we could prepare, serve and clear away with ease.
Although there was only the two of us staying, we have already recommended the cottage to our family and friends. The twin bedroom and spacious kitchen/diner would be perfect for a small family holiday too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feel and aesthetics of the cottage
Liked least: The weather...haha
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing