We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage in prime location”
other travellers have booked this property
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
The Crook, Stow-on-the-Wold Modern log burner for those winter evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
The Crook, Stow-on-the-Wold
Modern log burner for those winter evenings
The cosy living room, ideal for 6 +2 on spare chairs
Spacious kitchen
The dinner table for eight
Reverse view of the kitchen
The beautiful, private courtyard
Quality outdoor furniture for relaxing
The fire pit (not a BBQ, that is provided separately)
Magnificent, designer bedroom
Stylish finishes
Rear double bedroom, with a king size bed
The eaves bedroom and the master bedroom are adjoining
The +2 eaves room, perfect for children (the beds are 75cm wide and do not push together)
Shower and bath
Modern bathroom
Modern furniture
Well, it is located on Sheep Street!
The Crook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
debka2013
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Beware of management!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have visited the Cotswolds many times and love it! This visit, we elected to stay at the Crook. There were a number of deficiencies which the "guest services manager" was not willing to resolve in a reasonable period of time including phone service which was not in working order. The unit itself would have been adequate with appropriate attention to the usual details. Beware of this management service- character cottages. Even their emergency numbers did not produce a response.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: management not responsive
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
The following response is from the owner’s appointed Property Management company who run the maintenance and call out support for The Crook. The guest suggested that this is the job of Character Cottages, which is not correct. Character Cottages is the letting agent and is not responsible for the operations of The Crook.

Response from the management company:

“We received a call from these guests shortly before 9pm on Saturday night, advising that they were unable to operate the DVD player, and that one of the toilet seats was very loose. None of the previous guests, nor the housekeeping team had reported any previous problems, but we politely apologised for the inconvenience and said that we would arrange for someone to attend on Monday morning to rectify both issues.

This was not acceptable to the guests, who became particularly rude and discourteous during various phone calls late that night. We attempted to call the guests 12 times from 9pm to 11pm, and on each occasion, the call was rejected. We had no other phone number for the guests, so sent an email to explain that we had been trying to contact them and detailed the action that would be taken. They responded by saying that the phone was not working, and that we were not responding to their calls; this was simply not true and our telephone records prove such.

The following morning (Sunday), we emailed again to say that we would visit that day. On arrival at the property, we first checked the telephone with both incoming and outgoing calls – there was nothing wrong either phone. We checked the ‘very’ loose toilet seat, which had no more than 1” movement on one side – the screw was tightened and problem solved. Initially, the picture from the DVD player did not immediately display on the television. However, we checked the scart lead connection and found that the lead wasn’t quite pushed in enough. As soon as this was done, the picture appeared on the screen.

Despite attending for these guests on a Sunday, for a non-emergency issue, this inaccurate review was posted - just 24 hours after the guests’ arrival, with four days of their stay left to enjoy.

As a company, we pride ourselves on providing a high-quality, professional management service for our clients and their guests. The effectiveness of our strong work ethic is demonstrated by the numerous independent testimonials we, and the rental companies, have received. At all times, we strive to ensure the complete satisfaction of all guests at each of the properties we manage.”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinoSydne...
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to my expectations”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We booked this property because of the excellent ratings it had received on Trip Advisor, but we were disappointed with some aspects. Firstly on a positive note, Stow on the Wold is a pretty town and the property has a central location so it was very easy to walk everywhere.

The property has 3 bedrooms, 2 are double (one can be split into 2 singles) and a 3rd bedroom on the top floor with a superking bed and an annexe containing 2 very small singles which could accommodate young children.

When I booked I requested 2 doubles and the 3rd to be split for my 2 daughters. When we arrived the bed had not been split as requested. I phoned our contact and was abruptly informed that the bedding arrangements were as I requested (the 2 singles being in the upstairs room) , however she would have the beds split the next day but we may be charged extra if we used the additional beds for that night. Finally after some discussion and a check with the booking agent, the matter was resolved.

The property sits at the junction of Sheep St, an A road and Fosse Way, another A road. Both these road have heavy traffic throughout the day but we did not expect it would continue through the night, so much that we had trouble sleeping. I know nothing can be done about traffic but a warning would have been helpful.

This property was fairly expensive and we felt it was overpriced for what we got. The interior also left a little to be desired. There is only one small bathroom to service 3 bedrooms and no TV in the Master bedroom . The lounge rooms is small and the sofa didn't accommodate the four of us and was uncomfortable. The property was in need of an interior paint as the walls were quite scuffed. That said, the kitchen was a high standard and very well equipped.

Finally, parking was a constant issue. There is street parking for about 8 cars in front of the property and they were constantly occupied by the same vehicles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen.
Liked least: The lounge room.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing your feedback. It is very important to us and the owners of our properties to fully understand our customers’ views and to improve things where possible. Perhaps we can attempt to clarify a couple of points, for the benefit of all those reading this review:

1. Unfortunately, there was a mis-communication between the housekeepers, resulting in the bed configurations being made up in the wrong way. Please accept our sincere apologies for this. Those involved are aware of their mistake and know not to do it again;

2. With regards to the traffic, we do try our best to bring this to the attention of our guests before they make their booking, via our website, which states the following:

“The Crook is located on one of Stow's busier roads and some guests in the front bedrooms may be aware of traffic noise at night. The cottage is, however, set back from the road and is also close to a junction, so traffic speed is limited past the house.”

The upside of The Crook’s location, is that it is very close to the market square and all of its attractions, which hopefully outweigh any concerns regarding road noise!

3. With regards to the layout of the property, the single bathroom and the lack of TV in the master bedroom – perhaps this was missed at the point of booking, however, our website provides a detailed floor plan, a detailed property description and an inventory, which accurately explains all of these things.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Crook and that your concerns didn’t get in the way of a great time. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Character Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamj_bl
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in prime location”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at the crook for the bank holiday weekend as a group of six friends (3 couples). The cottage was perfect for what we wanted - somewhere to use as a base to explore the cotswolds and also to relax in the evenings. We made full use of the outdoor area with a fire each evening and also the bbq one night. The three main bedrooms are all a decent size and the cottage has been well decorated/designed throughout. The cottage is prefectly located to for those wanting to be close the amenties of Stow as you're literally on the edge of the town centre if not nearly inside it. The fourth room however would be a struggle if we had a fourth couple staying as its very small and barely private fromt he adjoining bedroom. Kitchen and other facilities are all very good (Wi-fi, Oven, TV, Nespresso machine, etc, etc). Hope to come back in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and furnishings
Liked least: only 1 bathroom (although separate downstairs WC)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself and the location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The boiler breakingdown
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LauraBton
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great House, but 4th room too small for adults”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This house was amazing. Finished to a really high standard, and really well kitted out. The location is perfect, and although we couldn't all park outside, there was plenty of free parking 5 minutes’ walk away. We used the wood burner in the living room which was very nice and cosy when it snowed, but loved the kitchen diner the best. It was huge and perfect for our group of 7 adults.

My only gripe is that the 4th bedroom is just too small for two adults, especially if you want it set-up as a twin room. There just isn't enough floor space or ceiling height for two adults to sleep comfortably. Also these beds were made up with plastic sheeting, not very luxurious for adults, and a massive contrast to the other bedrooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen - dining room, huge and lovely
Liked least: The 4th bedroom, just too small for adults
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzyBrisb...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to spend time with loved ones”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here at the end of December, and had a fabulous time.

We were travelling with my family (husband and 2 girls - 5 and 3) and my husband's family (mum, partner, grown up sister and brother) and we found The Crook fantastic.

The house is big enough for everyone and the dine in kitchen was great! I loved having a kitchen big enough to have everyone in, and cooking was a breeze with the amazing aray of kitchen equipment. It really was just like home!

We stayed on the top floor and the girl's loved sleeping in the eaves - not a usual thing for 2 little Australian girls!

The location was great, there were days when we didn't even get in the car! The proximity to Stratford-upon-Avon and other tourist sites was great!

The owners of this property have done a great job keeping it in the condition it is - it is a wonderful place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing