We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“1st class cottage with loads of charm”
other travellers have booked this property
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
The Crook, Stow-on-the-Wold Modern log burner for those winter evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
The Crook, Stow-on-the-Wold
Modern log burner for those winter evenings
The cosy living room, ideal for 6 +2 on spare chairs
Spacious kitchen
The dinner table for eight
Reverse view of the kitchen
The beautiful, private courtyard
Quality outdoor furniture for relaxing
The fire pit (not a BBQ, that is provided separately)
Magnificent, designer bedroom
Stylish finishes
Rear double bedroom, with a king size bed
The eaves bedroom and the master bedroom are adjoining
The +2 eaves room, perfect for children (the beds are 75cm wide and do not push together)
Shower and bath
Modern bathroom
Modern furniture
Well, it is located on Sheep Street!
The Crook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan P
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage but not so lovely customer sevice”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family of seven adults for a birthday celebration. The cottage is pretty and welcoming. The kitchen is super and also the three main bedrooms. However beware of the pictures as the sitting room in particular is small for 8 adults. The small bedroom with the badly stained carpet is not suitable for adults. We had a few niggles during our stay, one of which was dealt with by housekeeping. However, other queries had previously been logged in the guest book; the cooling fridge did not work. It was no consolation to us that it would be fixed the day after we left. The 5 slate placemats were dirty so was the upstairs toilet. Housekeeping informed me that the chimney sweepers had used the toilet. Why not the
downstairs toilet? Stow is beautiful and we enjoyed our few days there.
This cottage is expensive and I should not have expected a lengthy dismissive email from housekeeping whose job it is after all to make sure it lives up to its description.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages.

The following is written by the professional property manager, as appointed by the property owners:

"As we work so hard to ensure that every property is prepared to a high standard, it is disappointing to hear a negative comment about one of our homes. This is especially difficult when we are not made aware of some of the problems until after the guests’ departure. This party called on Friday night to report that the fridge was not working, and that there was also a problem with the wine cooler. As always, we acted swiftly and a maintenance person attended on Saturday morning, and found the fridge to be working perfectly well. The wine cooler, however, was not, and could not immediately be fixed. It was checked by a specialist engineer on the Monday morning, and has to be replaced. With a perfectly working fridge, this should not have been a problem for the guests.

When we received notification of the other issues raised, (after the guests’ departure) we investigated each point and spoke with the relevant parties. The housekeeping team had missed checking the placemats, for which they apologised. On checking the maintenance schedule, it was discovered that the chimney sweeping company had attended after the housekeeping team had prepared the house. Whilst there, the sweeps admitted using the toilets, which was clearly not acceptable. We have since instructed all maintenance contractors that none of the properties’ facilities are to be used at any time. Further, we visited the house and checked/tested all the appliances – aside from the already notified broken wine cooler, all of them worked correctly. It is fairly common for some guests to occasionally have difficulty with operating some appliances, and for that reason, we leave all instruction manuals at each home.

The carpet in the bedroom was unfortunately stained by a previous party and, as the carpet is not able to be cleaned, will be replaced.

As for the guest comment about the fourth bedroom being unsuitable for adults, she is quite correct. However, it is clearly listed on the Character Cottages website that this room ‘contains two small single beds (75cm wide). A particular feature of this room, which makes it ideal for younger children, is that the door from bedroom 3 can be safely shut but left open at the top, so that adults in bedroom 3 can keep an eye on the children in bedroom 4’.

Booking a property for eight adults, when it is clearly advertised and furnished as being only suitable for six, plus two children, must have been an oversight on the guests’ part. Therefore, this criticism of the property is entirely unjustified."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“1st class cottage with loads of charm”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked this cottage for our staff as an alternative to a Hotel for the Big Feastival Event and it was a wise choice. The accommodation was excellent, as were the facilities.
Location could not have been better and it was just a shame that we did not get to enjoy the house more because the event hours were long.
Will definitely book again next Summer and highly recommend this cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great value and top location
Liked least: mattresses could be improved
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy m
formby
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Needs A Facelift”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Have just spent a pre- Christmas weekend break with family staying at The Crook cottage. This cottage does not live up to its web site photos or description of its amenities, it was a let down. The walls and paintwork need decorating as they are marked and scuffed, The living room is very small for six adults with inadequate uncomfortable seating that needs replacing. The bedroom carpets are badly stained and the seal on the shower screen is covered in mould. The general cleanliness is poor and both loos need a good bleaching. The 'All Season' courtyard garden is unkept and the barbecue unusable, dirty and rusty,
I have never stayed in a cottage that is so in need of a facelift and so overpriced for what it is. I have contacted the lettings agency with above points but to date have not received a reply.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2013
Character Cottages can confirm 100% that we did NOT receive any notifications from this guest whatsoever. This review, posted on TripAdvisor, was the first time we had any indication of dissatisfaction.

Since Character Cottages is a lettings only agent and does not actually own or manage any of its cottages. The owners, or the owners appointed property managers, are responsible for maintaining standards and as such, they have provided a response to this guests review, as follows:

"It is disappointing to have received negative comments after the guests have departed the property. We can confirm that NO communication was received by us, or the letting agents during their stay, and so no inspection of the property could took place to verify the legitimacy of those comments. However, we can offer the following information:

The garden was clear and tidy prior to the guests’ arrival. However, the Cotswolds area was subject to storm-force winds in excess of 74mph during the preceding day. This was undoubtedly the reason for the garden being messy, as trees were blown down and debris was scattered across the whole region. BBQs are obviously not intended for use during the winter months and, as such, are not normally checked for wear and tear until the Spring. At that time, should the BBQ be found to be inadequate it will, of course, be replaced. We shall assess the quality of the carpets and shower seal and take action as necessary.

Well-balanced, honest and fair reviews, whether positive or not, are always welcome and all feedback is treated with great importance. It is a pity that these guests failed to mention that the house was clean, tidy, well-equipped and in a prime location.

Kind regards,

The Property Manager"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara I
Ashby de la Zouch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - shame about the detail!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from an excellent weeks holiday. The cottage was beautifully positioned in the heart of Stow giving us access to all that the town had to offer plus great walking from the door. The cottage itself was warm and cosy but the lack of attention to detail was irritating to say the least. There were no spare bulbs to replace the ones that were out in both the house and the outdoor area. We couldn't find the promised cushions and blankets on the night we sat outside. The kitchen lacked sufficient pans (only 2) and had no paring knife, kitchen tongues or pan scrubs. The clocks in the kitchen and outside weren't working. As we left, we attempted to clean up only to find there was a brush but no dustpan. To give credit to the management - on Sat we were advised to buy what we needed and we were reimbursed. I accept that each of these issues taken in isolation were only minor and a more vigilant housekeeping check before we arrived could have avoided them. However put together they took the shine of an otherwise lovely holiday

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2013
Character Cottages is a lettings only agent and does not actually own or manage any of its cottages. The owners, or the owners appointed property managers, are responsible for maintaining standards and as such, they have provided a response to this guests review, as follows:

"It is regretful that this guest had cause to make negative comments about their stay at the lovely Crook. On receipt of the review, the housekeeping team was instructed to complete an inventory of the cooking pans and found there to be 5 frying pans and 3 original saucepans, along with the new one purchased by the guest during their stay. We would say this is in line with the equipment requirement for holiday homes. It is standard practice to leave only ‘non-abrasive’ washing sponges, to prevent damage to non-stick equipment and stainless steel appliances etc. However, this guest was reimbursed for the extra saucepan which was required, and for the pan scourer and two light bulbs. As the guests said, these items were minor irritations, and the property was well-presented, clean, tidy and warm. Even so, as the property manager, these comments still command our attention to ensure any issues are addressed and resolved with speed; which they were.

Many kind thanks,

The Property Manager"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debka2013
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Beware of management!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have visited the Cotswolds many times and love it! This visit, we elected to stay at the Crook. There were a number of deficiencies which the "guest services manager" was not willing to resolve in a reasonable period of time including phone service which was not in working order. The unit itself would have been adequate with appropriate attention to the usual details. Beware of this management service- character cottages. Even their emergency numbers did not produce a response.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: management not responsive
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
The following response is from the owner’s appointed Property Management company who run the maintenance and call out support for The Crook. The guest suggested that this is the job of Character Cottages, which is not correct. Character Cottages is the letting agent and is not responsible for the operations of The Crook.

Response from the management company:

“We received a call from these guests shortly before 9pm on Saturday night, advising that they were unable to operate the DVD player, and that one of the toilet seats was very loose. None of the previous guests, nor the housekeeping team had reported any previous problems, but we politely apologised for the inconvenience and said that we would arrange for someone to attend on Monday morning to rectify both issues.

This was not acceptable to the guests, who became particularly rude and discourteous during various phone calls late that night. We attempted to call the guests 12 times from 9pm to 11pm, and on each occasion, the call was rejected. We had no other phone number for the guests, so sent an email to explain that we had been trying to contact them and detailed the action that would be taken. They responded by saying that the phone was not working, and that we were not responding to their calls; this was simply not true and our telephone records prove such.

The following morning (Sunday), we emailed again to say that we would visit that day. On arrival at the property, we first checked the telephone with both incoming and outgoing calls – there was nothing wrong either phone. We checked the ‘very’ loose toilet seat, which had no more than 1” movement on one side – the screw was tightened and problem solved. Initially, the picture from the DVD player did not immediately display on the television. However, we checked the scart lead connection and found that the lead wasn’t quite pushed in enough. As soon as this was done, the picture appeared on the screen.

Despite attending for these guests on a Sunday, for a non-emergency issue, this inaccurate review was posted - just 24 hours after the guests’ arrival, with four days of their stay left to enjoy.

As a company, we pride ourselves on providing a high-quality, professional management service for our clients and their guests. The effectiveness of our strong work ethic is demonstrated by the numerous independent testimonials we, and the rental companies, have received. At all times, we strive to ensure the complete satisfaction of all guests at each of the properties we manage.”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinoSydne...
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to my expectations”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We booked this property because of the excellent ratings it had received on Trip Advisor, but we were disappointed with some aspects. Firstly on a positive note, Stow on the Wold is a pretty town and the property has a central location so it was very easy to walk everywhere.

The property has 3 bedrooms, 2 are double (one can be split into 2 singles) and a 3rd bedroom on the top floor with a superking bed and an annexe containing 2 very small singles which could accommodate young children.

When I booked I requested 2 doubles and the 3rd to be split for my 2 daughters. When we arrived the bed had not been split as requested. I phoned our contact and was abruptly informed that the bedding arrangements were as I requested (the 2 singles being in the upstairs room) , however she would have the beds split the next day but we may be charged extra if we used the additional beds for that night. Finally after some discussion and a check with the booking agent, the matter was resolved.

The property sits at the junction of Sheep St, an A road and Fosse Way, another A road. Both these road have heavy traffic throughout the day but we did not expect it would continue through the night, so much that we had trouble sleeping. I know nothing can be done about traffic but a warning would have been helpful.

This property was fairly expensive and we felt it was overpriced for what we got. The interior also left a little to be desired. There is only one small bathroom to service 3 bedrooms and no TV in the Master bedroom . The lounge rooms is small and the sofa didn't accommodate the four of us and was uncomfortable. The property was in need of an interior paint as the walls were quite scuffed. That said, the kitchen was a high standard and very well equipped.

Finally, parking was a constant issue. There is street parking for about 8 cars in front of the property and they were constantly occupied by the same vehicles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen.
Liked least: The lounge room.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing your feedback. It is very important to us and the owners of our properties to fully understand our customers’ views and to improve things where possible. Perhaps we can attempt to clarify a couple of points, for the benefit of all those reading this review:

1. Unfortunately, there was a mis-communication between the housekeepers, resulting in the bed configurations being made up in the wrong way. Please accept our sincere apologies for this. Those involved are aware of their mistake and know not to do it again;

2. With regards to the traffic, we do try our best to bring this to the attention of our guests before they make their booking, via our website, which states the following:

“The Crook is located on one of Stow's busier roads and some guests in the front bedrooms may be aware of traffic noise at night. The cottage is, however, set back from the road and is also close to a junction, so traffic speed is limited past the house.”

The upside of The Crook’s location, is that it is very close to the market square and all of its attractions, which hopefully outweigh any concerns regarding road noise!

3. With regards to the layout of the property, the single bathroom and the lack of TV in the master bedroom – perhaps this was missed at the point of booking, however, our website provides a detailed floor plan, a detailed property description and an inventory, which accurately explains all of these things.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Crook and that your concerns didn’t get in the way of a great time. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Character Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamj_bl
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in prime location”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at the crook for the bank holiday weekend as a group of six friends (3 couples). The cottage was perfect for what we wanted - somewhere to use as a base to explore the cotswolds and also to relax in the evenings. We made full use of the outdoor area with a fire each evening and also the bbq one night. The three main bedrooms are all a decent size and the cottage has been well decorated/designed throughout. The cottage is prefectly located to for those wanting to be close the amenties of Stow as you're literally on the edge of the town centre if not nearly inside it. The fourth room however would be a struggle if we had a fourth couple staying as its very small and barely private fromt he adjoining bedroom. Kitchen and other facilities are all very good (Wi-fi, Oven, TV, Nespresso machine, etc, etc). Hope to come back in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and furnishings
Liked least: only 1 bathroom (although separate downstairs WC)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing