We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a beautiful town”
other travellers have booked this property
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
The Crook, Stow-on-the-Wold Modern log burner for those winter evenings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Impressive, master bedroom in the eaves
The Crook, Stow-on-the-Wold
Modern log burner for those winter evenings
The cosy living room, ideal for 6 +2 on spare chairs
Spacious kitchen
The dinner table for eight
Reverse view of the kitchen
The beautiful, private courtyard
Quality outdoor furniture for relaxing
The fire pit (not a BBQ, that is provided separately)
Magnificent, designer bedroom
Stylish finishes
Rear double bedroom, with a king size bed
The eaves bedroom and the master bedroom are adjoining
The +2 eaves room, perfect for children (the beds are 75cm wide and do not push together)
Shower and bath
Modern bathroom
Modern furniture
Well, it is located on Sheep Street!
The Crook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny H
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a beautiful town”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful weekend stay at the Crook. The house was very well appointed and suited us perfectly. The living space was ideal for long meals sitting around the kitchen table and lazy afternoons by the fire. Stow on the Wold is a lovely town and we had a great day at Daylesford.

We would definitely recommend the Crook for a Cotswold getaway.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip S
Almeria, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A weekend in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely cottage with an country feel and modern kitchen and bathroom appliances. Two nice double bedrooms on the first floor. On the second floor there's a lovely big double bedroom but the fourth room is not really independent so only suitable for children of the couple staying in the double. A nice patio garden with table and chairs and BBQ.

We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival and settled in for a fantastic weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsey s
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It was absolutely fantastic, gorgeous cottage enjoyed by all. Great location, surrounded by lovely inns, shops and tea rooms. x

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo L
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute Characterful Cottage”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have returned today following a lovely four day break with two friends and our babies. The cottage itself is clean, tidy and you have everything you need (and if not you are in the middle of a beautiful market town with very friendly people). The kitchen is huge and great for 6+ people to enjoy whilst the lounge is cosy snug to relax in whilst
enjoying the log burner. The cottage is OLD and not lived in therefore you should expect to have some problems but I couldn't find any! I would say if you are looking for somewhere to sleep 8 Adults you should look at the floor plan as it is more suitable for 3 couples + 2 children as forth room is off the main room on top floor.
Great stay. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan P
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage but not so lovely customer sevice”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family of seven adults for a birthday celebration. The cottage is pretty and welcoming. The kitchen is super and also the three main bedrooms. However beware of the pictures as the sitting room in particular is small for 8 adults. The small bedroom with the badly stained carpet is not suitable for adults. We had a few niggles during our stay, one of which was dealt with by housekeeping. However, other queries had previously been logged in the guest book; the cooling fridge did not work. It was no consolation to us that it would be fixed the day after we left. The 5 slate placemats were dirty so was the upstairs toilet. Housekeeping informed me that the chimney sweepers had used the toilet. Why not the
downstairs toilet? Stow is beautiful and we enjoyed our few days there.
This cottage is expensive and I should not have expected a lengthy dismissive email from housekeeping whose job it is after all to make sure it lives up to its description.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages.

The following is written by the professional property manager, as appointed by the property owners:

"As we work so hard to ensure that every property is prepared to a high standard, it is disappointing to hear a negative comment about one of our homes. This is especially difficult when we are not made aware of some of the problems until after the guests’ departure. This party called on Friday night to report that the fridge was not working, and that there was also a problem with the wine cooler. As always, we acted swiftly and a maintenance person attended on Saturday morning, and found the fridge to be working perfectly well. The wine cooler, however, was not, and could not immediately be fixed. It was checked by a specialist engineer on the Monday morning, and has to be replaced. With a perfectly working fridge, this should not have been a problem for the guests.

When we received notification of the other issues raised, (after the guests’ departure) we investigated each point and spoke with the relevant parties. The housekeeping team had missed checking the placemats, for which they apologised. On checking the maintenance schedule, it was discovered that the chimney sweeping company had attended after the housekeeping team had prepared the house. Whilst there, the sweeps admitted using the toilets, which was clearly not acceptable. We have since instructed all maintenance contractors that none of the properties’ facilities are to be used at any time. Further, we visited the house and checked/tested all the appliances – aside from the already notified broken wine cooler, all of them worked correctly. It is fairly common for some guests to occasionally have difficulty with operating some appliances, and for that reason, we leave all instruction manuals at each home.

The carpet in the bedroom was unfortunately stained by a previous party and, as the carpet is not able to be cleaned, will be replaced.

As for the guest comment about the fourth bedroom being unsuitable for adults, she is quite correct. However, it is clearly listed on the Character Cottages website that this room ‘contains two small single beds (75cm wide). A particular feature of this room, which makes it ideal for younger children, is that the door from bedroom 3 can be safely shut but left open at the top, so that adults in bedroom 3 can keep an eye on the children in bedroom 4’.

Booking a property for eight adults, when it is clearly advertised and furnished as being only suitable for six, plus two children, must have been an oversight on the guests’ part. Therefore, this criticism of the property is entirely unjustified."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“1st class cottage with loads of charm”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked this cottage for our staff as an alternative to a Hotel for the Big Feastival Event and it was a wise choice. The accommodation was excellent, as were the facilities.
Location could not have been better and it was just a shame that we did not get to enjoy the house more because the event hours were long.
Will definitely book again next Summer and highly recommend this cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great value and top location
Liked least: mattresses could be improved
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy m
formby
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Needs A Facelift”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Have just spent a pre- Christmas weekend break with family staying at The Crook cottage. This cottage does not live up to its web site photos or description of its amenities, it was a let down. The walls and paintwork need decorating as they are marked and scuffed, The living room is very small for six adults with inadequate uncomfortable seating that needs replacing. The bedroom carpets are badly stained and the seal on the shower screen is covered in mould. The general cleanliness is poor and both loos need a good bleaching. The 'All Season' courtyard garden is unkept and the barbecue unusable, dirty and rusty,
I have never stayed in a cottage that is so in need of a facelift and so overpriced for what it is. I have contacted the lettings agency with above points but to date have not received a reply.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2013
Character Cottages can confirm 100% that we did NOT receive any notifications from this guest whatsoever. This review, posted on TripAdvisor, was the first time we had any indication of dissatisfaction.

Since Character Cottages is a lettings only agent and does not actually own or manage any of its cottages. The owners, or the owners appointed property managers, are responsible for maintaining standards and as such, they have provided a response to this guests review, as follows:

"It is disappointing to have received negative comments after the guests have departed the property. We can confirm that NO communication was received by us, or the letting agents during their stay, and so no inspection of the property could took place to verify the legitimacy of those comments. However, we can offer the following information:

The garden was clear and tidy prior to the guests’ arrival. However, the Cotswolds area was subject to storm-force winds in excess of 74mph during the preceding day. This was undoubtedly the reason for the garden being messy, as trees were blown down and debris was scattered across the whole region. BBQs are obviously not intended for use during the winter months and, as such, are not normally checked for wear and tear until the Spring. At that time, should the BBQ be found to be inadequate it will, of course, be replaced. We shall assess the quality of the carpets and shower seal and take action as necessary.

Well-balanced, honest and fair reviews, whether positive or not, are always welcome and all feedback is treated with great importance. It is a pity that these guests failed to mention that the house was clean, tidy, well-equipped and in a prime location.

Kind regards,

The Property Manager"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing