We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location Location Location”
other traveller has booked this property
Open plan living and dining space - perfect for socialising!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living and dining space - perfect for socialising!
Living room, reverse angle Sit down and relax, you are on holiday now
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Open plan living and dining space - perfect for socialising!
Living room, reverse angle
Sit down and relax, you are on holiday now
Beautiful dining table for four lucky people...
... to enjoy fun nights in
Tea is sweet and accents are sweeter...
The modern and well-presented kitchen, leading to...
... the small, but private courtyard
Great for al fresco dining during summer time
A clue as to the nationalities of the cottage owners!
The beautiful, en-suite double bedroom
Cosy and comfy
En-suite bathroom with shower
Masters House is a stylish cottage
Landing space heading towards the second bedroom and family bathroom
The family bathroom with overhead shower
Second, characterful double bedroom
Cosy bedside lamp
Looking down to the courtyard space
Masters House is a stylish cottage
The outside view of Masters House, on Sheep Street
Welcome to Masters House, for an unforgettable holiday in the Cotswolds!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
502Peter
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Perfect spot for centre of Stowe. For walks or pubs/restaurants - recommend The Queens Head.
Well equipped and comfortable. We were only 2 and choose to sleep at the back.The front bedroom may be affected by traffic noise.

Lovely big dining table and the open plan aspect felt great. Was pleasantly surprised at the consumables/cleaning products/larder items provided and left by previous guests.We were pleased to add our own on departure.

For some reason, on arrival, the wrong key was in the safe and we waited fully 45 minutes in the rain until a housekeeper came and gave us hers. No explanation was know or offered for the error.

Also needs a tea cosy and oven glove.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The wrong key on arrival
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages.

The following is written by the owner's appointed property manager:

The housekeepers apologise for the incident of the wrong key on arrival and for the delay in attending the property, which was mainly due to it being Good Friday, with the large amount of extra traffic in the Cotswolds. The previous guest had put their garage key, which was the same type as the property key, in the key safe without locking the door because the housekeeping team had already arrived so there was no need to lock up the property. This was an unforeseen one-off incident which has never happened before. We are glad that the rest of the stay in Stow on the Wold at Masters House was enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I want to live here!”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My sister and I stayed here for four nights in October. What a treat! Everything we needed was there. Two fabulous bedrooms, comfortable beds and our own bathrooms! On arrival we found a scrumptious chocolate cake had been left (we hope for us because we ate it). Clean, cosy and excellent decor. We honestly couldn't have asked for anything more. Would recommend to anyone who wanted perfect accommodation in a central spot for visiting Stow in the Wold and surrounding beauty spots. Many thanks to the owners!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rona c
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“" Beautiful"”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We came here with my Daughter and Husband and our little Grandson. The Cottage is just so becautiful.... Home from Home.... everything you would ever need was there.. gorgeous welcome pack was lovely. Beds so comfortable... very chic inside and a lovely court yard outside. Wonderful time we all had..... Thank You.... x

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawleyDor...
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Belief”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nothing compares to 'Masters House' and it's location. It is unique in every way. The cottage has been renovated to the highest of standards which covered everything one could possibly need and more. We were a party of 4 adults and our small granddaughter with plenty of space. Comfortable beds and en suite bath/shower rooms with beautiful décor and those added touches. The kitchen was equipped with every possible utensil and modern convenience to the point that we tried to think of something that was missing. Ureka!! No Oven Gloves. Even the cupboard was full of those everyday food items. A wonderful gesture was a bottle of chilled wine and a yummy chocolate cake. I could go on and expressing the wonders of this amazing cottage but I would suggest you try it for yourself. My only concern is that the accommodation may not be vacant when we choose to return but it would be unfair not to share what we have been fortunate enough to find. Thank you so much to the Owners of this property for sharing their little piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipper-g...
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the minute we stepped through the door we felt relaxed and at home. The cottage has been superbly renovated by the owners with so much attention to detail, everything you could possibly need is there. The decor and furnishings are beautiful and you can tell a lot of thought has gone into the house.
Yes if your 6' you might have an issue upstairs, but it all adds to the fun and a handrail in the bath might not go amiss for older visitors. It's location is great, central for the market square and Stow itself is an ideal base to explore the Cotswolds and beyond.
I'm reluctant to give this review as I'd really like to keep it my secret!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robins194...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife & I had a 4 day break at Masters House in July and were delighted with the quality and attention to detail which the owners have taken in refurbishing the property. First impressions were excellent and remained that way throughout our stay, so we wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it. Whilst we only used one bedroom (at the back of the house), the traffic noise in the front bedroom might be an issue to light sleepers, as might the sloping beamed ceilings in the bathrooms to anyone over 5ft tall! However, neither of these minor issues should detract from what is an exceptionally nice and immaculately clean place from which to explore a lovely part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing