We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Renovation”
other traveller has booked this property
Open plan living and dining space - perfect for socialising!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living and dining space - perfect for socialising!
Living room, reverse angle Sit down and relax, you are on holiday now
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Open plan living and dining space - perfect for socialising!
Living room, reverse angle
Sit down and relax, you are on holiday now
Beautiful dining table for four lucky people...
... to enjoy fun nights in
Tea is sweet and accents are sweeter...
The modern and well-presented kitchen, leading to...
... the small, but private courtyard
Great for al fresco dining during summer time
A clue as to the nationalities of the cottage owners!
The beautiful, en-suite double bedroom
Cosy and comfy
En-suite bathroom with shower
Masters House is a stylish cottage
Landing space heading towards the second bedroom and family bathroom
The family bathroom with overhead shower
Second, characterful double bedroom
Cosy bedside lamp
Looking down to the courtyard space
Masters House is a stylish cottage
The outside view of Masters House, on Sheep Street
Welcome to Masters House, for an unforgettable holiday in the Cotswolds!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DLW2009
Mississauga, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Renovation”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is ideal for restaurants, bars and shops. Ideal central location for enjoying Cotswolds walks and hikes. Spotlessly clean on arrival with bottle of wine, cake and milk for tea and coffee. Great kitchen fully equipped. Decorated with funky antiques. Fantastic renovation.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James E
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“House and facilities excellent”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A great house with character and modern facilities. Well maintained and ideal for exploring the Cotswolds. The town was great with a vast array of pubs, restaurants, antiques and boutique shops.
A very relaxing long weekend with friends. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
1 review
“The perfect Cotswolds experience”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A beautifully presented, charming cottage perfectly situated in the heart of Stow. It felt like a home away from home with everything we needed thought of for a really relaxing few days in the Cotswolds. I would highly recommend staying here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathie R
Merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed here with friends for a weekend visit for the races, the cottage is of the highest standard, beautifully decorated, extremely clean , and a fabulous location. There are many great pubs and restaurants minutes away, and the facilities in the cottage are second to none. We will definitely be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was decorated to a high standard and extremely comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi P
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lorries roaring by”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My sister and I stayed here with my Dad this July. The rental was nice but located literally 5 feet off of a major road. The traffic noise in the front bedroom was too loud. We were traveling with my dad who has terminal cancer so we wanted it to be great and memorable but all we remember is the traffic noise. We did call management and they offered a fan but we just wanted a more peaceful stay. We were disappointed in the fact that there is no mention of this and the management lady did acknowledge the large trucks "roaring" by. We ended up leaving our stay early and not being offered some money back was a disappointment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Location on the road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owner of Masters House:

"Thank you for providing this feedback. Firstly, we are very sorry that your stay at Masters House was not satisfactory. The comfort of all of our guests is our primary concern.

As advertised, the location of Masters House is on the main street of a bustling market town. Artisan shops, seasonal markets, charming antique shops and great pubs and restaurants are all less than five minutes walk from the cottage. There will naturally be some traffic noise, at certain times of the day, associated with this location. However, the town of Stow on the Wold is fairly quiet after business hours. Any street noise will be more apparent with the windows open which is why our housekeeper offered to provide you with an alternate method of cooling the rooms.

To date, we have had over 300 visitors to Masters House and this is the first instance where a guest has claimed to have cut short their stay. Unfortunately we had no way of knowing that you had vacated the property early. Neither our booking agent or house keeper were notified that you were taking this course of action. We also have no record of having received any request for compensation.

Again, we apologise sincerely that your stay at Masters House was not up to your expectations."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
502Peter
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Perfect spot for centre of Stowe. For walks or pubs/restaurants - recommend The Queens Head.
Well equipped and comfortable. We were only 2 and choose to sleep at the back.The front bedroom may be affected by traffic noise.

Lovely big dining table and the open plan aspect felt great. Was pleasantly surprised at the consumables/cleaning products/larder items provided and left by previous guests.We were pleased to add our own on departure.

For some reason, on arrival, the wrong key was in the safe and we waited fully 45 minutes in the rain until a housekeeper came and gave us hers. No explanation was know or offered for the error.

Also needs a tea cosy and oven glove.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The wrong key on arrival
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages.

The following is written by the owner's appointed property manager:

The housekeepers apologise for the incident of the wrong key on arrival and for the delay in attending the property, which was mainly due to it being Good Friday, with the large amount of extra traffic in the Cotswolds. The previous guest had put their garage key, which was the same type as the property key, in the key safe without locking the door because the housekeeping team had already arrived so there was no need to lock up the property. This was an unforeseen one-off incident which has never happened before. We are glad that the rest of the stay in Stow on the Wold at Masters House was enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I want to live here!”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My sister and I stayed here for four nights in October. What a treat! Everything we needed was there. Two fabulous bedrooms, comfortable beds and our own bathrooms! On arrival we found a scrumptious chocolate cake had been left (we hope for us because we ate it). Clean, cosy and excellent decor. We honestly couldn't have asked for anything more. Would recommend to anyone who wanted perfect accommodation in a central spot for visiting Stow in the Wold and surrounding beauty spots. Many thanks to the owners!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing