We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a relaxing getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

My husband and I had the grandparents watching the kids, while we spent one night at Number Four at Stow. We loved the look of the hotel from the outside and were happy to see the modern decor on the inside. The room was pure luxury. We melted into the bed, which had high thread count sheets, fluffy down pillows and down duvets as well as a foam mattress topper. So comfortable! There was a large flat screen TV on the wall. The fridge had complimentary bottled water. The bathroom was nice, and included a really great shower with high water pressure. The towels were even nice!
We ate dinner at the restaurant, which was lovely. The service is top-notch. They really seemed to care about our happiness and wanted to get to know us. The food was delicious and presented beautifully.
We had a little trouble getting to and from the train station in Moreton. When we arrived, it took us about 30 minutes to get a taxi. On the day we were leaving, one of the Number Four staff tried unsuccessfully to get us a taxi, and ended up driving us to the train station themselves. They acted like the lack of taxis was a rare occurrence. We were happy that they went out of their way to help us.
It's settled into a little valley, just outside of Stow. If you don't have a car, it is a little bit of a challenging walk into town. I think older people would be winded, as you have to walk up a long steep hill to get to Stow.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funm0m0f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Number Four and have passed on your compliments to our staff.

Hopefully you will visit us again soon. Please do let us know in advance and we will be very pleased to arrange transport for you if you are travelling by train.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    132
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
121
610
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

It's all been thought out so well - the rooms are excellent, the food in the restaurant is delightful and beautifully prepared and the overall standard of service and attention to detail is without fault.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Your compliments are very much appreciated, thank you. We are pleased that you had a memorable stay at Number Four and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Staff and owners are excellent and make you feel most welcome. Food was of a very high quality. We were upgraded to an executive bedroom which was furnished to a high standard.Unfortunately due to illness we had to cut short our visit adt the staff could not have been more helpful.We will return before the end of the year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enid4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write you positive review which has been passed on to the staff. We hope you are now fully recovered and send you our best wishes. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We haven't stayed at Number Four - YET. If the hotel is as good as Cutler's restaurant and the excellent staff then we'd be delighted to.
We arrived at the hotel to peruse the menu with a view to eating there that evening. As we arrived the door opened and we were greeted by the most charming young man, who welcomed us warmly. That evening, after an even warmer welcome we ate a most delicious meal, perfectly served. We returned two nights later and it didn't disappoint. The menu is sophisticated and modern, the cooking skilled.
Most of the staff are German with impeccable manners yet warm and friendly. I met one of the owners of the hotel, Caroline (it's a family-run business) who was absolutely charming and very hands-on. This business deserves to do well.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Moggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Your positive review is very much appreciated, thank you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Cutler's Restaurant. Next time you are visiting the Cotswolds we would be delighted to welcome you as overnight guests.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We have just returned from a three day break at Number 4. Great hotel with exceptional service from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, and everything was always done with a smile. Would strongly recommend to others. Only one (slight) downside. The hotel is not in Stow but is close to a very busy road just outside the village. However, the rooms were not noisy and we have a very relaxing and peaceful time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and post your positive comments. It is very much appreciated. We are both delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards

Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the hotel for my partner's 50th Birthday and Caroline and Patricia certainly made the visit memorable. Not only was the accommodation fabulous (we were upgraded to a suite) but the entire hotel was beautifully decorated and we couldn't have asked for better service. We were even given a lift into town in the evening as it was a wild and windy night. Everything was perfect from the 'cooked to order' breakfast to the superior quality linens and towels. Great location to explore the Cotswolds, with the centre of Stow about 1 mile away, but easily within walking distance. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly be coming back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelinee2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Inspite of the weather not being the best when you visited we are both delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Cotswolds. We are now basking in sunshine......and even dining Al Fresco so try and come back soon to experience Number Four in the sun!

Thank you from sunny Stow
Regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

My son booked this hotel for us Friday to Sunday 1st to 3rd April. We did not know what to expect so how delighted we were to have visited this gem. The rooms and restaurant were impeccable, the staff very courteous and friendly, well done to all concerned. A. & R. Stockley

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guernsey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you for your kind review of Number Four. We are both so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps your son will come to visit next time and bring you both back again!

With warmest regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing