We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and clean with great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Modern and clean with great food!”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Great place located near the town! Modern rooms and great area for sitting outside when the weather is nice! Even managed to have breakfast outside when we were there as the staff we very accommodating! Had dinner here the night we stayed and it was excellent. Nice atmosphere and alot of Attention to detail! Only down side perhaps is the location of the place. In the middle of two busy roads although you do not hear any traffic in the rooms! Will go back!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    135
    37
    5
    6
See reviews for
122
617
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I read the reviews before I booked and thought "It can't be that good - they must write their own". But no I was wrong - it is that good. The service is so attentive, nothing was too much trouble. As a hotelier myself I have to say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in in the UK for a long while. They deserve to prosper

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHT_Spend_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel and the staff. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Number Four at Stow on your next trip to the Cotswolds.
Kind regards
Caroline & Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at the hotel for only one night but an excellent night it was. All staff were very helpful and recommended places to visit in the area. Very accomodating ( early check-in/ late check out).

The room was a good size and was very well decorated. Bothroom was nice and very clean.

Breakfast was good, fine choice of cereals and amazing croissants!

Highly recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottsperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. Your comments have been passed on to all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit the Cotswolds.
Kind regards
Caroline & Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We returned for our second time to Number Four at Stow and had a wonderful and relaxing time. Great food, beautiful environment, friendly & attentive staff. We're looking forward to getting there again soon.

http://www.hotelnumberfour.co.uk/

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizBonney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted you enjoyed staying with us once again and look forward to welcoming you back to Number Four at Stow on your next visit to this beautiful part of the UK.
Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We have just returned from a 4 day break in the cotswolds,the hotel was superb ,we booked an executive room at £140 per night b and b ,upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite and taken to the room by one of the owners,it was sheer luxury and nothing was to much trouble for the friendly staff,a special mention to Olly and the young lady on reception,it was centrally located so we were able to travel around the lovely surrounding area,as with anything you book on the net you are not sure what you are getting but this surpassed our wildest dreams,i know that it might sound a bit expensive but it was worth every penny,i cannot find anything negative to say,i also believe that the restaurant was excellent,i did not use this as i am a funny eater.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davemufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 May 2011
Thank you for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed your 4 days in the Cotswolds. Your comments have been passed on to all the staff. I'm sure the Chef can prepare something that you enjoy eating if you stay with us again at Number Four.
Kind regards
Caroline & Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We always read reviews on Trip Advisor before booking any holiday but this is the first review that we have written. We stayed at Number Four at Stow for two nights in April for our silver wedding anniversary on the dinner, bed and breakfast package. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to a suite on arrival. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and all of the staff very attentive and polite. All of our meals were excellent and also the wine which we enjoyed so much the first night that we ordered again on the second! We've been trying to purchase this wine since our stay but to no avail. We could have done with stopping another two nights so that we could try some of the other great food from the Cutlers menu. I have already recommended the hotel to family and friends and would not hesitate to book again ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandNBaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of Number Four. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and the food and wine in Cutler's Restaurant. If you contact us to let us know the wine we can try and find a supplier near to you. We look forward to welcoming you and some of your friends/family again soon.
Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We have never enjoyed a meal so much. There was nothing to fault. The meat was cooked to perfection. I had the duck, which was succulent and pink and my wife had the steak, which melted in the mouth.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dooley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing