We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We were very pleased indeed with our brief stay at Number Four at Stow, thank you, and pleasantly surprised to have been allocated a small suite. The food was excellent throughout: quality, quantity, presentation and service were just right for us, both for dinner and breakfast.

We will have no hesitation recommending Number Four to anyone looking for high class accommodation in your area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmg3gvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. On your next visit to the Cotswolds we would be delighted to welcome you back to Number Four at Stow.
Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel has a nice clean contemporary look with modern conveniences. This suited our personal preferences far greater than the dated, inconveniences of many "B&B's" in this area. Our room (1-0-something) was small - not a lot of room outside the bed but it was well-organized so that it didn't feel too small (we only stayed one night). The windows open (which I really like). It is on a busy road so there is traffic noise but this didn't bother us. Breakfast was good and service overall was attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelemaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back to Number Four on your next visit to the Cotswolds.
Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Beautiful hotel, well kept, clean, spacious, lovely lovely staff, magnificent food, fantastic location (the cotswolds are fab)....I cannot wait to go back...and the owners are both lovely ladies, I left my phone charger there and one of the ladies dropped it off at my house on her way past as she lived near'ish- now thats what I call service!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were upgraded to executive suite 206, big surprise. Everything was spotless could not fault, nice little details of extras in room and lounge areas with games etc.
No trouble to provide anti allergy bedding for me and were very strict about my nut allergy in restaurant.
Service was like a five star hotel but without the feeling of being uncomfortable. Food was tasty, nicely cooked and presented without being too fussy - needed to walk all day to burn off, great choices and lovely breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Staff always had time to ask how you were and this was genuine to make your stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of Number Four at Stow with other TripAdvisor users. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and the food in Cutler's Restaurant, and have passed your comments onto our staff.
Should you visit the Cotswolds in the future, we would love to welcome you back to Number Four.
Best wishes
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Management and staff very friendly and obliging, made to feel most welcome.
Fabulous food served in the Resturant. Rooms and ensuite, contemporary and immaculately clean. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckley1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back to Number Four on your next visit to the Cotswolds.
Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This was a real treat. Wonderful accommodation and excellent and friendly staff in a great location for touring the Cotswolds. Great restaurant. Could not reccommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat1480935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Your high recommendations are greatly appreciated and your wonderful feedback has been passed on to all our team here at Number Four, thank you.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Number Four when you next visit the Cotswolds.
With kindest regards
Caroline & Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I didn't think this could live up to the reviews and spent hours dithering before deciding to book! However, it did do so and was exactly what I had hoped for. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean with a lovely big bathroom and comfortable bed. Dinner was delicious, very simply and well done with a good, reasonably priced wine list. The service was charming and attentive without being intrusive. Breakfast was also very good. It is on a busy road and you can't really walk into Stow, but this didn't matter to us. The only improvements I could wish for is bigger bath towels and I thought given the size of the bathroom, the sink was quite small, as you can see very minor niggles!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,484 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
9.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £97 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing