We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic friendly outstanding service fine dining at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Wow what an experience. Our first trip to the Cotswolds and as soon as we arrived at number four we were greeted with a big smile and warm greeting. Our room was immaculate well equipped and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Situated between stow on the wold and bourton on the water it was an ideal location. Had a meal in the restaraunt and wow it was fine dining at its best and very well priced. The chef chatted to us after the meal which was a great touch. If your going to the cotswolds stay here the staff will make you feel so welcome and you ll be amazed at the high standards they set which is reflected in the restaraunt with high quality fine food. Thanks to you all see you again soon! Andy and Kate

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy4639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
There are newer reviews for Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2011

We chose Number Four to stay for our anniversary and my wife's birthday. We were not disappointed, from the moment we walked in to the moment we walked out the extremely professional and attentive staff made our stay a wonderful experience. To mark our celebrations our room was upgraded to a suite room 201 (highly recommended). The decor and attention to detail throughout the whole hotel was a credit to the owners. We chose to eat in the restaurant (Cutlers) and that too was a very high class experience. From the very polite and experienced staff to the chef's delicious and inventive dishes. Located a mile from the town centre leaves a short walk or an even shorter drive into town. We looked around in Stow but saw nothing to compare to the standards at number Four. You would need to be very very picky not to like this place. Thank you sister's and staff for a great stay. Rog and Kym Devon. PS perhaps it should be renamed Number ONE !!

Room Tip: Room 201 was quiet and spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudger3886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The reviews on this site led us to book a night here for our Anniversary and we were not dissappointed. From the minute you walk through the door you feel well looked after and the food is fantastic - dinner and breakfast. Luxury without the usual pretentiousness that accompanies it. Well done!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liliwen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Number Four and thank you for your compliments which have been passed on to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We arrived late on a Friday evening and the staff were very friendly, polite and welcoming. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to order with a buffet of fresh fruit and ham/cheeses. The cooked breakfast was very nice - not as spectacular as it could have been (down to personal preference more than anything), but very nice all the same. Service was impeccable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay in the Cotswolds and thank you for taking the time to post your review for our hotel. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to return again soon.

Warm regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

After reading rave reviews about this hotel. I decided to book dinner bed and breakfast for our break away.

We arrived early for check in, just on the off chance room being ready. The receptionist checked to see if house keeping had done our room..yes they had. Receptionist said she would get her supervisor to check the room before we went in (impressed by the professionalism of the staff, or so I thought).

Our room smelt of damp or something had leaked on the carpets. Went and complained and got given another room. The lady who owned it said she didnt know what had happened??? Surley it is her job to know!

We had a walk a around stow and decided to go back for a beer and ordered a pint on draft selection. We were told they had ran out and instead gave us 2 bottles of perioni for £3.50 each. The bar man said he had arrived this morning and found they had ran out, but a 4pm still didnt have any. I found this to be disorganised that the staff didnt know when they were low on stock and not borrow from another nearby establishment as I am aware happens.

The double rooms are small, beds nice and comfortable.

The dinner was lovely and made up for the short comings of the hotel, but I would class it as a bed and breakfast.

I would recommend to eat here but its overpriced for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katefrancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As we are always looking at ways to improve what we offer at Number Four, constructive feedback is always appreciated, thank you. We are naturally dissappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations but hope that if you visit the Cotswolds again you will come back to Number Four.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This hotel is a superb place to stay to explore the Cotswold area. The owners of the hotel are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are immaculate and the fridge in the room is a nice touch.
Breakfast was delicious and the evening meal in the restaurant was scrumptious.
Would definitely stay there again.

Mr. and Mrs. Agombar

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time during your stay in The Cotswolds. Thank you for posting your review, it is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming back to Number Four soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in October. Reception was very welcoming, taken to our room which was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. We had a delicious evening meal at the hotel on our first night and drove up to Stow on the second night and found a nice pub. The breakfast was exceptional. Really enjoyed the fresh fruit from the buffet before a freshly cooked to order full english. We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we have passed on your comments to the staff which is much appreciated. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again soon.

With warm regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,090 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £149 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing