We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definite recommendation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definite recommendation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My friend and I booked a two night stay at this fantastic hotel having scoured Trip Advisor for suitable accommodation for our first trip to the Cotswolds.

It is a family owned and run hotel that is decorated to a high standard. Attention to detail and personal service was impeccable. The hotel is well placed in the North Cotswolds and there are plenty of beautiful landmarks to visit within a relatively short drive - Daylesford (Organic Farm and Spa), Blenheim Palace and the beautiful Arboretum at Tetbury. We would highly recommend Cutler's Restaurant! We sampled the fayre that this restaurant offers on our first evening's stay... It was that good we booked for our second night! It was lovely to be able to dine and then potter off to our room!! Excellent food at reasonable prices. The service was noteworthy and a chat with Mr. Brian Cutler - Chef - himself was delightful.

Other reviews have commented on the location of the hotel and possible concerns of road noise. Be reassured that all of the rooms are located towards the rear of the hotel with beautiful views over rural landscapes. The main road runs alongside the restaurant and road noise was not an issue at all during our evening meals. Noted a little at breakfast but hardly worth a mention and certainly did not detract from the gorgeous choice of continental or cooked breakfast.

Plenty of parking. Excellent service. Particular mentions to Ann and Mark. Nothing was too much trouble (Mark's wine recommendations were excellent)! Malbec Mmmmmm.

A further visit to the Cotswolds would mean that we would not have to think twice about our choice of accommodation.

Thank you for your hospitality :-)

Room Tip: We booked a twin room and had a double bed with 2 single duvets! Not a
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesbabycatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    132
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
121
610
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed during the October half-term with our two young children. We had a family bedroom and it worked really well - great bathroom, comfy beds and all beautifully clean. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Lovely staff. Highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning on our next trip to the Cotswolds. Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimborne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

helpful, friendly staff,immaculate accommodation, food as good as it gets, superb location, would recommend to anyone. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed one weekend in Oct 2011 and had a truly wonderful experience. very clean and beautifully decorated hotel. Top class staff and welcome,and excellent food and wine. Brought our 7 year old boy and he was very well looked after especially by the quality of the food he received.
Heartily Recommend to all

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scullybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

A great place to stay to explore the Cotswolds from. A warm welcome, nice atmosphere, loved the decor and enjoyed the restaurant + poached eggs to die for! Am gifting a break for my daughter and hubby as they are oh so fussy but will love it at Number Four.


Thanks to Patricia and team.

Room Tip: We had a first floor upgrade which was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

The staff and proprietors of Number Four at Stow make the running of such a fine and welcoming establishment look effortless. Working in customer service industries as we do, we know that such a high standard of service and care is not effortless and takes huge amounts of hard work and dedication. So thank you to all the staff for making our stay and family gathering such a pleasure.

If you are looking to stay in the area, then stay here; it really is that good. And the restaurant itself should have its own listing if it doesn't already. We enjoyed the dinner, bed and breakfast option (which was excellent value for money) and we are now a little heavier! The food was honest, delicious and plentiful, delivered with impeccable service.

All in all, a wonderful experience.

N Williams and family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlumphFlumph_du_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were looking for accommodation for 5 Mums who were "getting away from it all" for the weekend. We certainly felt we had made a great choice as we had a dinner, bed and breakfast package which was excellent value. The food was delicious, the staff were unfailingly helpful and polite and the service was excellent. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing