We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must place to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Very warm welcome..nothing too much trouble..staff exceptional in attention to detail & friendliness..room beautiful, very clean & comfortable...then a meal in the restaurant attached to the hotel..excellent service, choice, ambience & above all food (apart from hubbies slightly chewy steak..oops) & wine... Had a fabulous time in the Cotswolds & Number 4 at Stow was the cherry on the cake...make it your must place to stay you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    133
    36
    5
    6
See reviews for
121
615
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knaphill, Woking
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at Number Four in November '11 for two nights. We were welcomed as soon as we arrived and were instantly impressed with the pristine condition of the public areas. The staff were equally impressive and were very attentive without being "over the top". The room was immaculate; the beds, bedding and soft furnishings comfortable. We reserved a table for dinner and were delighted with the food, menu and service. The atmosphere and ambiance was relaxed yet the staff were attentive, close by and very friendly. Service that came across as totally genuine. Breakfast was great with poached eggs to dream of! The location is great for exploring the Cotswolds. We were disappointed that the restaurant was not open on Sunday evening, the only thing that we would suggest reviewing Number Four! (but only because the food was so fabulous).Would definitely recommend to family, couples and solo travellers who are looking for something that ticks all the boxes for service,value and comfort. Thank you for a lovely stay everyone at Number Four and we would love to return.
Mr & Mrs Todd

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ca2dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of Number Four. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a good Christmas and New Year. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us when you are next in the Cotswolds and if it's on a bank holiday weekend Cutler's Restaurant will be open on Sunday evening!
Warm regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The team at Number four at Stow know how to take care of their guests on a personal level. We just spent another cozy weekend up in Stow and our experience was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mosesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you once again when you are next visiting the Cotswolds.
Warm regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at Number Four for one night in January. The staff were incredibly attentive throughout our stay and helped with suggestions for things to do locally. The food (evening meal and breakfast) was delicious and helped us to thoroughly enjoy our weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed at Number Four on New Years Day for 1 night with our 7 year old son. From the moment we arrived we were very impressed at how attentive the staff were. They took time to speak to our son and made him feel very welcome. We were shown to our room which was spotless. We had reserved a table for dinner and the food was absolutely delicious, once again staff very friendly and polite. The beds/pillows were very comfortable and the next morning breakfast was lovely and again staff polite/helpful. An ideal spot to explore the Cotswolds. Our son was so happy he did his own thank you note for everyone at Number Four!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

In need of some R and R following our daughter's Christmas wedding, we booked a night away at Number Four. We had a superb suite which was spotless, bright and comfortable.
The evening meal was absolutely delicious accompanied by lovely wine. The house champagne is excellent too! After an extremely comfortable night's sleep, the breakfast was wonderful! Staff were friendly and helpful. A most enjoyable stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We struck lucky when we stayed at Number 4 for a weekend. This is a family run business where all the staff are extremely helpful. The bedrooms are spotless and a great deal of thought has been put into the customer's needs. We opted to have an evening meal at the hotel rather than go to nearby Stow and we were certainly not disappointed as the food was excellent. Very convenient location to explore the Cotswolds. We will go back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davies46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing