We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle, Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A delightful weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October with friends and found the hotel staff most welcoming, attentive and helpful. Our room was very comfortable with a good bed and pillows and the whole hotel was spotless. We appreciated the comfortable lounge area where we could relax and chat after a day out.The hotel is well located for seeing the Cotswolds. We ate both nights in the dining room which had a lovely atmosphere and the meal was excellent. Only one quibble....it would have been nice to choose from a different menu on the second night. Overall we had a delightful weekend and really appreciated the care and attention to detail shown by the owners and staff. We hope to return. Thank you!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view, but are more susceptible to traffic noise. Our room overlooked a patio, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamCheadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with your friends at our hotel and very much appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor. We do hope that you will return soon to discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    132
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
121
610
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here three nights in November and cannot rave enough about our stay. Patricia and Caroline, the owners, run a fabulous hotel and make you feel like a part of the family. Their chef, Brian Cutler, has a deft hand with cuisine and we had two delightful meals. Number Four is perfectly located for exploring the Cotswolds. The hotel and rooms are cozy and charming. Everything was renovated two years ago so it's new. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHM_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you very much for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. This is very much appreciated and your comments have been passed on to the staff.
We trust you had a safe journey back to the USA and should you be visiting The Cotswolds in the future please do make sure you come and visit us.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Number 4. We stayed for two nights, which was perfect. It is a great location for exploring the Cotwolds. The rooms have a nice and crisp modern design, for a luxurious, relaxing stay. The beds were so comfortable.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The bircher muesli was amazing, I don't know how they made muesli taste so good. Our hot breakfasts were cooked to perfection. We had dinner on the one night, which was absolutely delicious, and we had a lovely night in the restaurant.

The staff were really lovely and gave us lots of tips to fill our days. They also gave us a bottle of wine for booking directly with them, which was a lovely touch.

It was a little more expensive in comparison to other hotels in the area, but as it is well designed, well maintained and well serviced with amazing breakfasts, it is definitely worth it. We would definitely recommend Number 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay at our hotel and that you have taken the time to review Number Four.
We do hope you will return to The Cotswolds soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

As soon as we stepped throught the door the staff were fantatic and very helpful. Travelling with 2 children the first thing one member of staff did was show my youngest were their toy cupboard was and there was a huge bag of lego hallelujah !!! A real child friendly hotel and they are rare.
We had lunch which again was amazing great choice and the food for the children was perfect and extremly tasty. The room was a family room we found it immaculately clean modern and plenty of room to move about. TVs in both rooms with ceebies so children were very happy. Due to our crazy children waking at 5.30am the staff sorted us out with cereals and milk before we went to bed having a fridge in the room was fantastic and a real help. A great base or just a night away you cant go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are delighted that your trip to the Cotswolds with your children was an enjoyable one.Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor, much appreciated.
We do hope to welcome you all back in the near future - the toy cupboard is waiting!

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed there for two nights. We had been traveling through England for two weeks, staying at numerous hotels before arriving here. The price was higher than our other stops, but it sounded like a modern hotel and a change from the others.
Lots of positives. I've not seen a cleaner room and there was a good bed and quality furnishings. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was served quickly and was very good.
Unfortunately, there are a couple of serious negatives. It is located quite far from town and the walk is not pleasant (small path adjacent to a narrow fast moving road.
The room is very small. You have to coordinate your movements to walk past the end of the bed because there is no way that two people can pass each other. The bathroom is also small with a heated towel rail a few inches in front of the toilet. It is impossible to use the toilet in the normal manner. I understand from responses to other comments that larger rooms are available, but this was already one of the more expensive on my travels and I had no desire to pay even more to obtain a usable room. There was also very little soundproofing and you can hear every movement from upstairs and from outside the door.
I was going to point out these issues when we were checking out, however it was very chaotic at the time and interestingly, this was the first hotel where we were not asked how we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Logan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We trust you had a safe journey home and thank you for sharing your experience of Number Four with other TripAdvisor users. We're delighted that our service, food and cleanliness of the hotel met with your high expectations. We do hope that should you visit the Cotswolds in the future we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Number Four at Stow.
Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Three girlfriends and I stayed for one night in October. We spent the day shopping at Bicester and arrived at the hotel about 5.30pm. There are plenty of parking spaces so we had no worries trying to find a space! We were met with a very friendly smile and check in was quick and efficient.

The hotel is very nicely decorated and attention to detail fantastic.

Our rooms were spotlessely clean and had everything we needed. We had twin beds, which were lovely and comfortable and the bedding looked and felt crisp and fresh.

We stayed on the dinner, bed and breakfast package, which suited us as we didn't have to leave the hotel on a dark chilly evening. We booked this based on previous reviews about the food and we were not disappointed. We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar area whilst looking over the menu. The service in the restaurant was excellent as was the food, which was beautifully presented. We had a wonderful dinner and after dinner sat in the bar area to finish our drinks.

The breakfast was equally as good, both in quality and choice and my poached eggs were cooked to perfection.

All the staff were friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble. We all decided that we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your compliments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to all the staff. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience of The Cotswolds and shopping at Bicester.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you all back soon and perhaps to sample some of the lovely Boutiques in Stow.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

My wife and I stayed for a 2 day break 22nd and 23rd October 2012. We needed a cetral base and this hotel was perfect. We found the ambience, decor, fixtures & fittings, hospitality and food incredible. Attention to detail is the name of the game and this hotel has it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eoghain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your 2 day break in The Cotswolds and your positive comments following your stay at our hotel are very much appreciated, thank you.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing