We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very well run hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Pershore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A very well run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in October and enjoyed both the hotel and the restaurant. Our room was very quiet and pleasingly decorated, with a very comfortable bed. There was however room for only one chair, and the only way to watch television was to sit on the bed. It would have been nicer had the wardrobe had a door, but that was not possible in the space.
The sitting areas are very comfortable and the restaurant excellent. It comes in two parts, so that.however many guests there are, you do not feel you are in a great open, or crowded space.
Two comments may be helpful. The address is Fosseway, but the entrance is from the Burford Road, and the building is on a sloping site. Many bedrooms are on the ground floor, but there are stairs between that and reception and again to the restaurant areas.
The whole place seemed very well managed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are delighted that your experience staying at our hotel was an enjoyable one. We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your compliments and comments on Trip Advisor which we trust other users will find helpful.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Cotswolds soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    132
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
121
610
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming receptionist and were shown to our lovely room. There was a fridge with two bottles of water inside, plentiful tea, coffee and hot chocolate supplies and a really huge, extremely comfortable bed. The bed has 2 single duvets as opposed to a double, although double duvets are available on request. I was not sure as to how well that idea would work, but we both had an amazing couple of nights sleep due to not being distrubed by the other turning over! The room was very beautifully decorated and was very modern and clean looking. The bathroom, although relatively small, was also well decorated and had a fantastically powerful hot shower.
We dined at the Cutler's restaurant and the food, although pricey, was beautiful, you could tell a real effort had gone into the cooking of it and the presentation, for a special occasion it was a real delight, with attentive and friendly staff.
The second night of our stay was a Sunday and the restaurant was closed. We thought we would venture into Stow as there seemed to be plenty of nice pubs we could eat at. However, on arriving back to the hotel after a day out, the lovely lady on reception asked if we had made plans to eat and rang around a few places on our behalf and managed to book us a table at a lovely pub in Northleach. The staff could not do enough for us and it felt as though nothing was too much trouble, which was great. Our stay at this hotel really added to a relaxing weekend. The hotel is a good location for exploring the area, only a couple of minutes drive out of Stow on the Wold and has copious on site parking. I would highly recommend Number Four if you want a luxurious trip away.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarryEyed14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your extremely complimentary review of our hotel. We are very pleased that your experience at Number Four was so enjoyable and we have passed your thanks on to all the staff.

We do hope that you will find a reason to return to The Cotswolds very soon where we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October with friends and found the hotel staff most welcoming, attentive and helpful. Our room was very comfortable with a good bed and pillows and the whole hotel was spotless. We appreciated the comfortable lounge area where we could relax and chat after a day out.The hotel is well located for seeing the Cotswolds. We ate both nights in the dining room which had a lovely atmosphere and the meal was excellent. Only one quibble....it would have been nice to choose from a different menu on the second night. Overall we had a delightful weekend and really appreciated the care and attention to detail shown by the owners and staff. We hope to return. Thank you!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view, but are more susceptible to traffic noise. Our room overlooked a patio, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamCheadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with your friends at our hotel and very much appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor. We do hope that you will return soon to discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here three nights in November and cannot rave enough about our stay. Patricia and Caroline, the owners, run a fabulous hotel and make you feel like a part of the family. Their chef, Brian Cutler, has a deft hand with cuisine and we had two delightful meals. Number Four is perfectly located for exploring the Cotswolds. The hotel and rooms are cozy and charming. Everything was renovated two years ago so it's new. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHM_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you very much for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. This is very much appreciated and your comments have been passed on to the staff.
We trust you had a safe journey back to the USA and should you be visiting The Cotswolds in the future please do make sure you come and visit us.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Number 4. We stayed for two nights, which was perfect. It is a great location for exploring the Cotwolds. The rooms have a nice and crisp modern design, for a luxurious, relaxing stay. The beds were so comfortable.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The bircher muesli was amazing, I don't know how they made muesli taste so good. Our hot breakfasts were cooked to perfection. We had dinner on the one night, which was absolutely delicious, and we had a lovely night in the restaurant.

The staff were really lovely and gave us lots of tips to fill our days. They also gave us a bottle of wine for booking directly with them, which was a lovely touch.

It was a little more expensive in comparison to other hotels in the area, but as it is well designed, well maintained and well serviced with amazing breakfasts, it is definitely worth it. We would definitely recommend Number 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay at our hotel and that you have taken the time to review Number Four.
We do hope you will return to The Cotswolds soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

As soon as we stepped throught the door the staff were fantatic and very helpful. Travelling with 2 children the first thing one member of staff did was show my youngest were their toy cupboard was and there was a huge bag of lego hallelujah !!! A real child friendly hotel and they are rare.
We had lunch which again was amazing great choice and the food for the children was perfect and extremly tasty. The room was a family room we found it immaculately clean modern and plenty of room to move about. TVs in both rooms with ceebies so children were very happy. Due to our crazy children waking at 5.30am the staff sorted us out with cereals and milk before we went to bed having a fridge in the room was fantastic and a real help. A great base or just a night away you cant go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are delighted that your trip to the Cotswolds with your children was an enjoyable one.Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor, much appreciated.
We do hope to welcome you all back in the near future - the toy cupboard is waiting!

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed there for two nights. We had been traveling through England for two weeks, staying at numerous hotels before arriving here. The price was higher than our other stops, but it sounded like a modern hotel and a change from the others.
Lots of positives. I've not seen a cleaner room and there was a good bed and quality furnishings. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was served quickly and was very good.
Unfortunately, there are a couple of serious negatives. It is located quite far from town and the walk is not pleasant (small path adjacent to a narrow fast moving road.
The room is very small. You have to coordinate your movements to walk past the end of the bed because there is no way that two people can pass each other. The bathroom is also small with a heated towel rail a few inches in front of the toilet. It is impossible to use the toilet in the normal manner. I understand from responses to other comments that larger rooms are available, but this was already one of the more expensive on my travels and I had no desire to pay even more to obtain a usable room. There was also very little soundproofing and you can hear every movement from upstairs and from outside the door.
I was going to point out these issues when we were checking out, however it was very chaotic at the time and interestingly, this was the first hotel where we were not asked how we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Logan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We trust you had a safe journey home and thank you for sharing your experience of Number Four with other TripAdvisor users. We're delighted that our service, food and cleanliness of the hotel met with your high expectations. We do hope that should you visit the Cotswolds in the future we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Number Four at Stow.
Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing