We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning little boutique Costwolds hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed here earlier this year after it being recomended by friends and we are very glad that we did.

The location is perfect to see the Cotswolds in summer or winter but stunning in the autumn with all the leaf fall. The hotel is beautiful in it's self. the interior has been beautifully and carefuly decorated with style and taste. We had a room with a small seperate living room and it was lovell. One of the things I love about the room was that it had a large fridge instead of the usual tiny minibar. The bathroom was very well appointed and the ambience of the hotel is friendly and relaxed.

We only had breakfast which was first class but heard other patrons discussing the food in a very positive way.

All in all a perfect place to base yourself to explor the beauty of the Cotsworlds and a hotel that you will look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your trip to The Cotswolds. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Number Four when hopefully you will have the opportunity of dining in Cutler's Restaurant.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in October and enjoyed both the hotel and the restaurant. Our room was very quiet and pleasingly decorated, with a very comfortable bed. There was however room for only one chair, and the only way to watch television was to sit on the bed. It would have been nicer had the wardrobe had a door, but that was not possible in the space.
The sitting areas are very comfortable and the restaurant excellent. It comes in two parts, so that.however many guests there are, you do not feel you are in a great open, or crowded space.
Two comments may be helpful. The address is Fosseway, but the entrance is from the Burford Road, and the building is on a sloping site. Many bedrooms are on the ground floor, but there are stairs between that and reception and again to the restaurant areas.
The whole place seemed very well managed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

We are delighted that your experience staying at our hotel was an enjoyable one. We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post your compliments and comments on Trip Advisor which we trust other users will find helpful.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Cotswolds soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming receptionist and were shown to our lovely room. There was a fridge with two bottles of water inside, plentiful tea, coffee and hot chocolate supplies and a really huge, extremely comfortable bed. The bed has 2 single duvets as opposed to a double, although double duvets are available on request. I was not sure as to how well that idea would work, but we both had an amazing couple of nights sleep due to not being distrubed by the other turning over! The room was very beautifully decorated and was very modern and clean looking. The bathroom, although relatively small, was also well decorated and had a fantastically powerful hot shower.
We dined at the Cutler's restaurant and the food, although pricey, was beautiful, you could tell a real effort had gone into the cooking of it and the presentation, for a special occasion it was a real delight, with attentive and friendly staff.
The second night of our stay was a Sunday and the restaurant was closed. We thought we would venture into Stow as there seemed to be plenty of nice pubs we could eat at. However, on arriving back to the hotel after a day out, the lovely lady on reception asked if we had made plans to eat and rang around a few places on our behalf and managed to book us a table at a lovely pub in Northleach. The staff could not do enough for us and it felt as though nothing was too much trouble, which was great. Our stay at this hotel really added to a relaxing weekend. The hotel is a good location for exploring the area, only a couple of minutes drive out of Stow on the Wold and has copious on site parking. I would highly recommend Number Four if you want a luxurious trip away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarryEyed14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your extremely complimentary review of our hotel. We are very pleased that your experience at Number Four was so enjoyable and we have passed your thanks on to all the staff.

We do hope that you will find a reason to return to The Cotswolds very soon where we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October with friends and found the hotel staff most welcoming, attentive and helpful. Our room was very comfortable with a good bed and pillows and the whole hotel was spotless. We appreciated the comfortable lounge area where we could relax and chat after a day out.The hotel is well located for seeing the Cotswolds. We ate both nights in the dining room which had a lovely atmosphere and the meal was excellent. Only one quibble....it would have been nice to choose from a different menu on the second night. Overall we had a delightful weekend and really appreciated the care and attention to detail shown by the owners and staff. We hope to return. Thank you!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view, but are more susceptible to traffic noise. Our room overlooked a patio, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamCheadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with your friends at our hotel and very much appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor. We do hope that you will return soon to discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here three nights in November and cannot rave enough about our stay. Patricia and Caroline, the owners, run a fabulous hotel and make you feel like a part of the family. Their chef, Brian Cutler, has a deft hand with cuisine and we had two delightful meals. Number Four is perfectly located for exploring the Cotswolds. The hotel and rooms are cozy and charming. Everything was renovated two years ago so it's new. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHM_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you very much for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. This is very much appreciated and your comments have been passed on to the staff.
We trust you had a safe journey back to the USA and should you be visiting The Cotswolds in the future please do make sure you come and visit us.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Number 4. We stayed for two nights, which was perfect. It is a great location for exploring the Cotwolds. The rooms have a nice and crisp modern design, for a luxurious, relaxing stay. The beds were so comfortable.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The bircher muesli was amazing, I don't know how they made muesli taste so good. Our hot breakfasts were cooked to perfection. We had dinner on the one night, which was absolutely delicious, and we had a lovely night in the restaurant.

The staff were really lovely and gave us lots of tips to fill our days. They also gave us a bottle of wine for booking directly with them, which was a lovely touch.

It was a little more expensive in comparison to other hotels in the area, but as it is well designed, well maintained and well serviced with amazing breakfasts, it is definitely worth it. We would definitely recommend Number 4.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay at our hotel and that you have taken the time to review Number Four.
We do hope you will return to The Cotswolds soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

As soon as we stepped throught the door the staff were fantatic and very helpful. Travelling with 2 children the first thing one member of staff did was show my youngest were their toy cupboard was and there was a huge bag of lego hallelujah !!! A real child friendly hotel and they are rare.
We had lunch which again was amazing great choice and the food for the children was perfect and extremly tasty. The room was a family room we found it immaculately clean modern and plenty of room to move about. TVs in both rooms with ceebies so children were very happy. Due to our crazy children waking at 5.30am the staff sorted us out with cereals and milk before we went to bed having a fridge in the room was fantastic and a real help. A great base or just a night away you cant go wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

We are delighted that your trip to the Cotswolds with your children was an enjoyable one.Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor, much appreciated.
We do hope to welcome you all back in the near future - the toy cupboard is waiting!

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
280 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,483 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,075 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £98 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing