We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great welcome and it keeps going”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Bingley
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great welcome and it keeps going”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Short break with the family and we chose one night here mostly based on trip advisor ratings. Those giving it ***** are right. Great room, lots of attention to detail, staff super friendly from the owner downwards, good menu and well served/presented. Nice lounge/bar areas with good fittings but mostly underused. Great location for all the South Cotswold attractions

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertiembingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Number Four. We hope you managed to fit in some visits to many of the local attractions suitable for children in the area. Perhaps we can look forward to welcoming you all back soon to discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer.

Wishing you a Happy Christmas and we hope that Father Christmas comes to visit you all!
Warmest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    135
    37
    5
    6
See reviews for
122
617
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire, U.K.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This was a two day birthday treat for my partner, Karen. Number Four is the perfect retreat for good food and relaxation and is ideally situated for exploring the glorious Cotswolds.
We had a suite at the rear of the hotel; spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff are very attentive but not "pushy". Highly recommended. AAAAA+++++

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utnapishtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
We are pleased to hear your positive feedback following your "birthday weekend" celebrations. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. This is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming when you are next visiting The Cotswolds.

Wishing you both a Happy Christmas and peaceful New Year
Warmest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I would have no hesitation in recommending the No 4 Hotel at Stow to anyone - because it is a luxury hotel that belives in personal service (and the food is truly wonderful, too!!).
The family running the business deserve every success because they go out of their way to ensure that everything goes right with your stay.
And the chef, Brian Cutler, one of the business partners, is to be complimented on a magnificent menu that really does live up to the reputation he has carved for himself in a comparatively short time at Stow, even though he has satisfied the taste buds of diners at many of Europe's top hotels.
Yes, the No 4 is a treat waiting ti be sampled by the most discerning of holidaymakers and business people.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a complimentary review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come again to visit perhaps in the New Year. Your comments have been passed on to Brian and all the staff which is much appreciated.

We wish you a happy Christmas and New Year
Warm regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend at Number 4. What a super Hotel, it was everything you could wish for. Spotlessly clean, excellent tasteful decor, very friendly, efficient staff and superb food. Knowing the area well, we looked at several alternatives before settling on Number 4 at Stow based on the reviews and we were certainly not disappointed. We took the Dinner,Bed and Breakfast package which was very good value and the food in Cutlers restaurant really is excellent in both choice and quality. The hotel is perfectly located about 3/4 mile out of Stow with plenty of parking and although situated on the fork between two main roads you hardly hear the traffic. I think the owners Caroline and Trish have got everything just right and we will certainly be going back

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsterlingbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
We are both delighted that you enjoyed your weekend at our hotel whilst visiting The Cotswolds. Thank you for your positive feedback which is very much appreciated.
We now look forward to welcoming you back again soon perhaps in the Spring when hopefully it will be a bit warmer!

Wishing you a peaceful Christmas and New Year
Warm regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

First - I have to say that the staff were friendly, the room was clean and fresh (though small), the food was fine.
However, this is not an idyllic spot. The hotel is situated on a busy road junction - I asked for a room at the back when I booked as I noted previous reviews and we were not disturbed at night but you would never sit outside here because of the position. I did think a previous reviewer was probably being a wimp saying the walk into Stow wasn't great - but the volume of traffic on the road meant you would never want to do it. The restaurant has blinds kept half-closed in the day and lights on to distract from the traffic going by which I personally hate.
Overall it is a reasonable place to stay ( I suspect the food in the restaurant is better than other places in Stow) but the feeling of the place is generally very bland.
Because of the price I was expecting something a bit more special. As a base to tour from probably fine - as a romantic weekend - disappointing

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back because of traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of Number Four on TripAdvisor.
It is through feedback from our guests that we can try and improve on the facilities we offer. We trust you had a safe journey home and wish you both a happy and peaceful Christmas and all the best for 2013.
Warm regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Our first visit to this excellent hotel. Everything about our visit was perfect - the accommodation was first class, the service from the owner and the staff was everything you could ask for and the food was brilliant. They even produced a birthday cake for my wife.
We will definitely be going again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBotsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you back to Number Four when you are next in the Cotswolds and in the meantime wish you a Merry Christmas and all the best for 2013.
Warm regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

What a lovely friendly hotel . Everyone was so nice ! The room was immaculate and the whole hotel is tastefully decorated. Missed out on dinner but breakfast was stunning ! Got to be the best black pudding ever !! Heartily recommend a visit to this idyllic spot

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of Number Four..We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and your comments have been passed onto all the staff. Have a lovely Christmas and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in 2013.
Warm regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing