We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and amazing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. we booked a suite and it was a super room, very comfy bed and huge deep relaxing bath. We also booked our evening meal in the restaurant and the food was superb.

In the morning the breakfast was also more than we could have hoped and set us up perfectly for our day.

Many thanks to all the people that made my 1st wedding anniversary perfect for my very particular wife!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevebryan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

We are delighted that you chose to stay at our hotel to celebrate your 1st Anniversary and thay you both had such an enjoyable time here in The Cotswolds. Thank you for sending in your review. This is always very much appreciated by us and our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, perhaps in the spring when the snow has gone!

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed at Number Four on Saturday night to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had a lovely time; the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Our room was spotless and the decor was very nice and restful. Our room (104) was on the ground floor and had a lovely view over the hills. The bathroom was small and functional but again spotlessly clean and had great towels. We could hear a little traffic noise but not enough to disturb us.

We ate dinner at their restaurant Cutlers and the food was fantastic. My husband and I are pretty hard to please with food (keen cooks and eaters) but were very impressed by the food at Cutlers. The food was beautifully cooked and presented and truly delicious. My John Dory with pan fried gnocci in an orange butter sauce was a particular highlight although all three courses were top notch, no complaints, even the bread was wonderful. One of the best meals we had had in a while. Breakfast was also delicious and cooked to order.

Number Four is a little way out of Stow and is on a busy road but is surprisingly good once you step inside and the quality of service is next to none. We hope to return and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - the view is great and you are a little further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulip74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your birthday weekend at our hotel and thank you for choosing Number Four for your celebrations. Your feedback on Trip Advisor is very much appreciated.

We now look forward to welcoming you both back again soon and also your friends!

With warmest regards
Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay at No.4@Stow! Our room was beautifully appointed and perfectly spotless. Our lasting impression will be the warm welcome, the professionalism of ALL the staff, and the fantastic dinner and breakfast. The dining room has a very relaxing atmosphere, with log burning stove and tranquil decor. We will most definitely be recommending this boutique hotel to our friends and family. Thank you for a memorable time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

We are both very pleased to hear that your stay at Number Four was so enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your feedback with Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated. Your compliments have been passed on to all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming back again soon.

With warmest regards
Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Drove through the snow to this enchanted place, enjoyed an excellent dinner prepared with talent out of fresh local products.
All was perfect, extremely warm welcome and friendly staff.
Clear and nice room, with a very comfortable bed. Loved the place and will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvie Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and dining experience at our hotel during your recent visit to The Cotswolds. Thank you for your compliments on Trip Advisor.

We certainly hope we can welcome you back soon...the weather has much improved although "Stow in the Snow" is a very beautiful place to visit!

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Me & my partner have just come back from a night stay in this lovely hotel. My stay was to celebrate my birthday. The weather was awful but the welcome from this hotel made up for that....the service is very impressive. We eat in the restaurant for dinner & breakfast & both occassions the food was amazing......& the staff were so polite & attentive.......

Next time we are in Stow we will defin come back ....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iveco01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for reviewing Number Four following your stay In The snowy Cotswolds. Your compliments are much appreciated and have been passed on to the team here. We do hope you will find the opportunity to return, perhaps in the spring, to experience more of what the area has to offer.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Absolutely impressed with my recent stay. The staff are friendly and caring. Room 102 is like new. Comfy bed, clean, tidy bathroom and loads of tv channels. The restaurant for breakfast and dinner is simply sublime! Fresh ingredients, precise preparation and the chef's clear passion for quality food left me coming back for more. Unfortunately, had to leave early due to poor weather 17/18 January. However already figuring out when I am returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Number Four. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We hope you didn't suffer too much
from the snow after you left The Cotswolds and enjoyed the remainder of your trip.

We hope to welcome you back to Number Four soon...the weather has now improved!

Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I spent several nights in the hotel in late October. The staff was courteous and responsive. They were especially helpful when it came to nearby areas of interest and directions. The room we had was very clean and the bathroom was clean and modern. We ate dinner at the inn one evening and had breakfast in the dining room on several mornings. The room we had was VERY SMALL. My husband and I were not able to move about the room at the same time. We finally gave up and took turns sitting in the one chair in the room while the other completed their tasks. The dinner was good and the wine selection was good. It was not the best meal we had while on vacation in England but it was certainly not the worse. The breakfast was a completely English affair and it was well done. The bar was small and friendly but not very well stocked. The hotel is located at the crossroad of two busy local roads. This is great for traveling about the region but a little too busy for walking into town. Our room was at the back of the hotel and we were not bothered by road noise. We were able to hear other guests in the corridor and in the adjacent rooms. These noises did not disturb our rest. We would recommend this hotel to others with the above short comings noted and would have rated the hotel a 3.5 if that rating had been available.

Room Tip: Opt for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay at our hotel. We are of course delighted that you enjoyed your time whilst visitiing The Cotswolds. As well as double rooms we do also have a limited number of suites available which have a seperate lounge and dressing area which may be more suitable for a longer stay.
We do hope to welcome you back to Number Four when you are visiting the UK again and please do contact us so we can assure you of our best attention.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
374 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,488 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,085 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £98 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing