We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Super Weekend at Number Four”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another Super Weekend at Number Four”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Have just returned from our second weekend stay at Number Four at Stow. Having enjoyed our first visit so much a few months ago,we recommended it to four of our friends as a perfect venue to meet up in the Cotswolds and again we were not disappointed. The friendly atmosphere, high standards of cleanliness and professionalism throughout, as well as the superb food in Cutler's restaurant were exactly as before and make for a great place to stay. As in my previous review ,I can only concur with all the other excellent reviews for this establishment. For best value take the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package, you will not be disappointed. Many thanks again to Caroline, Trish and all your excellent staff and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsterlingbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel and to meet your friends. We are so pleased that you had another enjoyable weekend at Number Four and your kind comments have been passed on to all the staff.

We now look forward to welcoming you all again...perhaps in the Summer?

With warmest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    136
    39
    6
    6
See reviews for
124
624
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

So, the restaurant is excellent. Really great food and wonderful service. Yes the wine list could have been better and yes it feels a bit like eating in some ones living room, but this doesn't matter. The staff were super-attentive, but not pushy and not over asking how everything was. The price was very reasonable.

The hotel service was similar, as the staff seemed to be the same people. This really is a small hotel. So, yes, great service in the hotel. My problem was the room really. For the price we paid for the room, ~£140 for the night, it really was very small and just not worth the money. I never wanted to spend any time in the room, so for most of the evening we spent our time in the lobby area, which was nice enough, or the restaurant. I don't know if we just happened to get one of their smaller rooms. The hotel didn't seem full, so I assumed that we would have been upgraded to something bigger if they could have. Well, I'd like to think so.

The other strange thing was the location of the hotel. It's right on what is a pretty busy junction. Even if the weather had been nice, which it wasn't, I wouldn't have wanted to spend any time in the small outside space, due to the proximity of the traffic. I also didn't like the new look of the hotel, but that's just me ;)

Did I have a nice time? Yes, definitely, but due tot he restaurant, not the hotel as such. If passing through or just having a quick night away, with a meal and then lots of walking in the Cotswold's, like we did, I would recommend it. However, if you want the 'hotel' experience or want somewhere to stay longer than single night, I would not. This makes me a little confused on how it is rated number 1 on trip advisor. The best? Really? Good, but not best.

Room Tip: Ask to see if they have any bigger rooms than the one you are assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loz2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your compliments with regards our food and service is very much appreciated. All our double bedrooms are the same size however, we do also have some suites available which have an adjoining lounge area therefore suitable for guests looking for extra space.

We certainly hope to welcome you both back in the future. Please call us directly and we can check our availability for you.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Just came back this evening from our stay at number 4, the highlights for us were the fantastic food, the great Rebellion beer, meeting Brian and Patricia who made us feel very welcome indeed!

Really recommend it, will be back.
Kevin

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevtherev565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
We are delighted you had a memorable stay with us during your recent visit to The Cotswolds and thank you for your complments. The weather has now improved, we have even managed a few days al fresco dining so hopefully you will return soon.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and were very impressed. We had a lovely room which had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. The bed was really comfy and the room itself was a good size. The hotel is beautifully furnished. It's modern with a cosy feel, and we were made to feel very welcome by the proprietors who were very friendly and gave us some great tips about where to visit in the Cotswolds. Breakfast in the morning was a real treat. The best scrambled eggs I have ever tasted! We would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyStarSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and now hope that you will return soon to discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidenhead
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My family and I travelled from Maidenhead as a surprise for my husbands birthday ( we used to be patrons at Fredericks, the Losel familys previous hotel and spa). True to style everything was amazing. The welcome, from Trisha and her lovely team made us feel so special and comfortable, and the food was just out of this world. My husband was given a lovely " birthday sweet accompanied by singing and a lovely irish coffee" Thank you so much too you all. Fantastic, can't wait to come back. Love the Hunters

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you all to our hotel in The Cotswolds and we are both delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebrations.

We now look forward to your return where a warm welcome awaits you. Hope to see you soon.

Best wishes

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

stayed with partner in late March. we realy enjoyed our stay here. the place was clean and quiet whilst the staff were courteous and professional. The rooms were spacious and modern. It is also well located for walks and cycles. Caroline and another lady (her sister maybe?) were incredibly hospitable and went out of the way to help me and my partner when required. It is clear that the staff are trained to a very high standard. Stayed in the Wicks Hill down the road a few years before hand which was more expensive and i prefered this place as it has more of a chilled out vibe (although the grounds at the Wicks Hill are better). Did not eat in the Cutlers restaurant as i prefer exploring local pubs although it did look good. A couple we spoke too said the food was excellent. the cooked breakfast was very good. my partner said that the cold buffet was okay although could have better as there was not much choice. There is a pub about 20 minutes drive away in bleedington called the kings head inn its a nice drive and the food there was sensational. i would recommend going there for dinner one night if you can. I would return to the hotel without hesitation. I thought it was good value for money. thanks again to the staff at Number 4. x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleeye090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
We are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Number Four and thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We certainly hope you will have the opportunity to return soon and perhaps enjoy a dining experience in Cutler's Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you both in the near future.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Location, scenery, and food are all great, but it's their outstanding service that sets them apart.
The toilet flush in our room broke down. These things happen -it's how they're handled that matters. Caroline at Number 4 was impeccable in her kindness and attention to us -and despite being fully booked, she arranged another room for us (a suite) at no additional cost.

We have good memories of a wonderful experience, thank you. We'll stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 787jorged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Number Four whilst visiting The Cotswolds. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting your compliments onTrip Advisor. This is always very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,070 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
206 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing