We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number Four”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is an excellent hotel in the Cotswolds. The location is a short distance from Stratford-on-Avon, and Warwick Castle. Enjoyed the village of Stow with it's many small shops. Number Four serves dinner nightly, with an excellent chef providing a gourmet dining experience.Breakfast was excellent as well. The place was fastidiously clean. Our room was slightly small. The staff was extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We hope you had a safe trip back to The States with fond memories of your holiday. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel whilst visiting The Cotswolds. Your comments on Trip Advisor are very much appreciated, thank you.

If you are returning to the UK in the future, a warm welcome awaits you at Number Four.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent two nights at Number Four. Dined in the restaurant the first night and found it to be excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and knew their jobs. Alot of attention to small detail has been given to this establishment which didnt go unnoticed. The rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janect14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay at our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Everything about this hotel was perfect! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable, and had sufficient space. The bed and pillows were comfortable. There was plenty of closet space for storage (and we had a lot of luggage as we were travelling for 2 weeks through England). The bathroom wasn't cramped, as most hotel bathrooms in England are. We saw other guests enter their rooms on either side of our's, however, we never heard them, nor the guests in the room above us. The hotel was about 1 mile outside of town, which was fine for us as we had a car. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We trust you all enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in the UK and had a safe trip back to the USA. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to have met you all. Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated.

We now look forward to welcoming you all back when you next visit the UK.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

A smart, modern hotel with great décor and friendly staff. Being on the junction of two main roads, the noise is a problem, especially on the outside patio. More importantly, the rooms were quite small and don't think the high price (£145) is really justified. The restaurant is fantastic though!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger5223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor, this is always very much appreciated as it helps us to continually improve on what we offer here at Number Four.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience and your compliments have been passed on to the team.

We now hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you both back soon.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This boutique style Hotel is outstanding,from the very warm welcome we received on our arrival to the beautifully designed bedrooms with a wonderful addition of a fridge complementary bottled water and great bathroom products. The evening meal was extremely good and the service was attentive without being intrusive, perfect. Breakfast was extremely good with a fabulous selection. The first time i have had the chance to have birchermuesli in years wonderful. The bar and lounge area is tastefully decorated with a sprinkling of tealights giving a cosy romantic feel. There is a lovely outside seating area and beautifully attended garden. This Hotel offers great attention to detail with little extras, boxed games Dvd player etc with outstanding warm and friendly staff, not to mention a wonderful area to explore. The is a privately owned hotel long may it continue, cant wait to return. A massive thank you to the owners, staff and chef for making our stay with my cousin and her husband so perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise4222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that your experience was a memorable one. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. This is always very much appreciated.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to return soon where a warm welcome awaits.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We called in to make our reservation to the #1 Tripadvisor rated hotel in Stow, and our complimentary bottle of red wine was lovely. Thank you.
Very nice and clean, OK sized and nicely outfitted room, nice modern bathroom.
Breakfast was outstanding. Dinner was superb but pricey. Nice attached car park.
Good base from which to see the different Cotswold villages: the Slaughters, Moreton,...
But this hotel is not really in the town of Stow; it is at the bottom of the hill or wold.
Fairly steep 20 minute walk up the hill to the town with lots of 3-4 lane car and truck traffic charging past.
Would stay here again; just be aware that there is nothing nearby within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spf1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Number Four whilst visiting The Cotswolds last week. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your compliments are very much appreciated, thank you.

We now look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My partner and I were recently invited to the wedding of a close friend at Fosse Manor in Stow-on-the-Wold. Whilst we were spoiled for choice with local bed and breakfast establishments we chose to spoil ourselves with the most expensive, number four, at £145 a night. Having noticed on the website that if booking by telephone a free bottle of wine would be in the room for arrival we ditched our usual habit of doing everything online and made the call instead. On arrival staff are very friendly and the establishment is very pleasant. On seeing our room I was initially taken aback by the double bed with two single duvets but I suppose it's each to their own. We left the room and did not return until midnight after the wedding. On arrival at midnight we were greeted by the 'night porter' who seemed to know precious little about the hotel except how to open the door, which we realised when asking him what time we needed to check out...his solution being to call us in the morning. The night of 'sleep' that followed was the worst I can remember. If I could have taken a recording of the generator outside our window to attach to this review I'm sure you'd soon see why! On realising that the night porter is unlikely to help I decided to wait until morning to talk to the hotel manager. Not only was her response unhelpful but she was positively patronising in her dismissal of me. I was told that all she could do now was apologise as we'd had our night. Her only token gesture was to give us a key to another room to see if we wanted to 'nap' in the three hours prior to check out. I may be alone but I felt this suggestion was absurd. This hotel is incredibly noisy, and whilst the hotel staff in general are polite, they'll be unlikely to help you if you're unhappy with your stay. I did think to ask if I was alone in my concern about the noise and was rudely told that some guests have a 'grumble' but as not every guest complains, they didn't feel the need to act to resolve the issue. I absolutely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCKHL, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of Number Four on TripAdvisor. We are naturally disappointed that your experience of Number Four was very different to many of our other guests. It is through feedback from our guests that we can continuously monitor our staff training and improve on it. We do believe our General Manager took appropriate action at the time when you complained to her about the noise from outside the room.
We trust you had a safe journey home from the Cotswolds and thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
285 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,486 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,083 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £97 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing