We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
preston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from a two night break,and had a lovely stay at this well run and immaculate small hotel a 15min walk from Stow. The room was quite small but spotless and was adequate for two nights.Next time we would book a suite for an extra £50 per night.
We dined in both nights and would say the food was of a really high standard,The dining room had a lovely ambiance,and the service excellent. We have stayed at many top class hotels,and consider Number Four a place we would return.and recommend to others.Thanks for a nice time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank francescPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel recently and we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your compliments have been passed on to all the team, thank you.
We now look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    133
    36
    5
    6
See reviews for
121
615
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Situated just to the south of Stow-on-the-Wold, Number Four is very centrally situated within the Cotswold area, although a car is needed to visit anywhere including Stow itself. The hotel is modern, efficient and well-appointed with good food and a friendly welcome.
We stayed for three nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis.Our room was fairly compact but well designed with good touches like reading lights by the bed. There was a good range of dishes available for dinner, although the menu was the same each night with a couple of specials. By comparison the choice at breakfast was disappointing. All in all though, we liked the hotel very much and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your compliments. We appreciate your comments with regards the breakfast that we offer and we are now looking into improving this.
We now look forward to welcoming you both back to Number Four very soon.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

On initially booking the hotel I was a little taken aback that instead of just the normal contact number, they wanted my full credit card details as well. On arrival I was asked to pay in full before we had even seen the room and when my wife was unable to locate the hair drier the lady on receptions answer was "we'll it's in there".
As the hotel is a way out of town we decided to eat in the restaurant We went in a little early with a view to having a few drinks and a leisurely read of the menu but we were immediately told we would not be given a menu at all until much nearer our booking time.
At the end of the meal I complained that the biscuits on the cheeseboard were horrible and inedible. The waitress passed on my comments but I was still charged in full for my dessert.
Finally, having spent over £220 for one nights stop over, my wife was charged a further £3 when she inadvertently left an item of clothing behind and asked for it to be posted on.
The hotel itself is lovely and spotlessly clean but they really need to step up their customer service to warrant their high prices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your views on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. We appreciate all constructive feedback from our guests to enable us to continually improve on what we offer at Number Four.
It is most unfortunate that you were unhappy with several aspects of the service but we do have certain policies in place with regards reservations etc that we are unable to change. We are pleased your belongings arrived back to you, which were posted at the request of your wife, who incidentally, also offered to pay for postage.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Number Four in the future when we will assure you of our personal attention.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patrica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had booked for one night as we were attending an opera performance at nearby Longborough (which was splendid - highly recommended)!

All staff were friendly and helpful at all times, service was well-nigh flawless and the hotel itself is as attractive as portrayed.

On arrival, I did initially feel a little apprehensive, given Number Four's location at what turned out to be a very busy road junction near Stow, that our room might be noisy, but I needn't have worried at all on that count.

There are 12 double rooms on the ground floor and a family room and five suites on the first floor. We had chosen a ground floor room and I have to admit that it was rather cramped; that said, whoever designed these rooms (which I understand are all more or less identical) made the very most of the available space, including plenty of hanging space. The bed was very comfortable, the bedlinen and towels of fine quality and the room was remarkably well appointed, given its size.

Each room has a fridge (which I'd not realised when booking); this proved a godsend as we were able to use it to store our picnic food that we were taking to have in the interval of the performance at Longborough.

We took to the hotel so well that, within less than an hour of our arrival, we asked if we could book a second night so that we could once again explore the area. We menitoned that our room was rather small and were advised that the upper rooms were larger; we were shown one on request and, at an additional £50 per night, these suites represent better value for money in my view so, when we book again, as we undoubtedly will, we'll go for one of these if there's one available (which on this occasion there was not) in preference to a ground floor room, as they really are much more spacious.

Breakfast was very good.

The room fridge also proved a blessing on our second day, as we paid another visit to the nearby Daylesford Organic Farm Shop (which is actually far more than just that and is well worth the visit - an abundance of mainly local produce of such an excellence as to make even Fortnum & Mason seem like a mere city corner shop - so, again, highly recommended!). We had brought our car fridge and were able to store our goodies in the room fridge and then transfer them to this on departure.

We very much look forward to our next visit! Number Four has been open all year round but will this year be closing on 23 December until the end of January 2014.

Stow is, of course, a delightful Cotswold village, as many reviewers have testified; Number Four and its attentive and professional staff most certainly do it credit!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the five suites (or the family room if that's your preference); the extra space i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorabji_archive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to write such an informative review following your stay in The Cotswolds, thank you. We are so pleased that your stay was a memorable one and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Dont forget to bring your car fridge as we also have an amazing local butchers, Lambournes, which may interest you for shopping on the way home!

With kind regards
Caroline and Patrica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Conveniently located about 15 minute walk from the town and a short drive into many pretty Cotswold villages. Lovely rooms (we had a suite), well furnished with comfortable sofas & beds and attractive lighting, also air conditioning that worked! Ample space in a dressing area to hang & put clothes away. Large car park with gate closed at night.

Evening dinner was superb especially the lamb! There was a good, not huge, choice served by attentive, well trained staff. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. One of the very best places we have stayed, we are planning to return next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you had a great stay and certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year, if not before!

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed for two nights b&b.Didn't have an evening meal,but breakfast was excellent. The hotel is situated at a fork in the road three quarters of a mile from Stow.There is a steep hill to climb to get into the town but this was not a problem for us.The hotel is very nice,clean and modern,and our room was very comfortable.There is some traffic noise but it was not a problem.The staff were very friendly and helpful.We would not hesitate at a stay here again , and would recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and for offering your feedback. This is much appreciated and your compliments have been passed on to all the team.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We just finished a two week tour of the UK and spent two nights at Number Four at the beginning of our trip. The room was very comfortable and spacious and the service was excellent. The hotel is within easy driving of several great towns and within walking distance of Stow. We ate at the hotel one night and at the Bell Pub in Stow the other night, recommended by the hotel. Both were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoxanneMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Number Four and thank you for your compliments. This is always very much appreciated by all the team.

We do hope you will visit again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing