We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, exceptional food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel, exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed one night, reminding ourselves how gorgeous the Cotswolds is. Number Four is a fantastic base to explore the Area. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable, though a little small. Given the good value on offer it would be worth paying a little extra to upgrade to a larger room. The welcome, particularly from the lady owner/manageress is warm and genuine. The food - both dinner and breakfast - is quite exceptional. Fresh, high quality ingredients, expertly and imaginatively prepared. As you would expect in good quality places they accommodate food intolerances well. More impressively, they proactively suggest alternatives and area really eager to please. Very well worth a visit

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonmogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Your compliments are very much appreciated by us all at Number Four, thank you. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and we now look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    133
    36
    5
    6
See reviews for
121
615
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights starting on the 31st July, ate in both nights and really enjoyed the whole stay. Road noise could have been a problem for us but if you mention it at booking they will let you know if your room could be affected. I have to say that all the staff were fantastic, so friendly and professional - they maintain very high standards but you feel totally relaxed as well. All areas were spotlessly clean and well maintained. No hesitation in highly recommending number 4

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChorleyStokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us and a memorable dining experience at Cutler's Restaurant.
We do hope you will visit again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was recommended by the good folks at ONE THREE NINE in Bath and had much to recommend it. Its location in the Northern Cotswolds (AONB .. area of outstanding natural beauty) is also very near Moreton on Marsh and Stow on the Water. The buildings were "gutted" three years ago after the present owners bought it which made way for a very modern and comfortable 19 room hotel and the hotel's restaurant is one you will not soon forget. Good wine list and they offer a pris fixe with 3 courses. The lamb fillet was amazing. I started with the scallop and shrimp appetizer both nights we are there. Very fine hotel staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms may need to checked for road noise if the window remains open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwest64373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We hope you had a safe trip back to the USA. Thank you for posting you review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay and enjoyed dining in Cutler's Restaurant. We hope that when you are next visiting the UK you will return to Number Four where a warm welcome awaits you.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
243 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Decent value given how overpriced many of the other Cotswolds hotels are. Rooms are fairly small, as are the double beds. But very modern, and clean. Breakfast was very pleasant with fruit salad, cereals, and option of full english breakfast included. The hotel is out of town but not a problem if you have a car.

Doors are thin so we were disturbed by other guests in the corridor late at night on both evenings of our stay. But if you are up and about early and need a decent place to stay this is a very reasonable option. Pleasant staff though no staff to help carry bags upstairs and no lift.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, your feedback is very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you again soon when you are next visiting the Cotswolds.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Travelled up from the Isle of Wight for a one night stay to celebrate our anniversary. Number Four did not disappoint! Lovely, welcoming staff, stylish decor and delicious food. The hotel had plenty of parking and a nice outside area to enjoy a drink. Inside it is clean, modern, tastefully decorated and also very comfortable with a lovely atmosphere. Staff are very attentive and smiling. The bedroom was well appointed and comfortable. Dinner was delicious and our dessert had a Happy Anniversary decoration which was a nice touch. Breakfast was equally impressive. It was also nice to see one of the owners on arrival, in the evening and at breakfast coordinating the staff to ensure the best possible service as well as finding time to chat to guests throughout our stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepigandthefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your Anniversary with us at Number Four. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and your compliments are very much appreciated by all of us.
We certainly hope you have an opportunity to return soon and discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just returned from a two night break,and had a lovely stay at this well run and immaculate small hotel a 15min walk from Stow. The room was quite small but spotless and was adequate for two nights.Next time we would book a suite for an extra £50 per night.
We dined in both nights and would say the food was of a really high standard,The dining room had a lovely ambiance,and the service excellent. We have stayed at many top class hotels,and consider Number Four a place we would return.and recommend to others.Thanks for a nice time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank francescPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel recently and we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your compliments have been passed on to all the team, thank you.
We now look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Situated just to the south of Stow-on-the-Wold, Number Four is very centrally situated within the Cotswold area, although a car is needed to visit anywhere including Stow itself. The hotel is modern, efficient and well-appointed with good food and a friendly welcome.
We stayed for three nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis.Our room was fairly compact but well designed with good touches like reading lights by the bed. There was a good range of dishes available for dinner, although the menu was the same each night with a couple of specials. By comparison the choice at breakfast was disappointing. All in all though, we liked the hotel very much and would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for your compliments. We appreciate your comments with regards the breakfast that we offer and we are now looking into improving this.
We now look forward to welcoming you both back to Number Four very soon.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing