We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in the Cotswolds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a charming, well-run little inn in the Cotswolds. It is modern, extremely clean, with pleasant staff and an excellent breakfast While we were unable to sample the evening dining, we understand it has an excellent reputation and is highly sought-after. The rooms, while not large, are well-appointed and have excellent beds.

I think their reputation as one of the top hotels in the Cotswolds is well-deserved. We definitely would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We trust you all enjoyed the remainder of you visit in the UK and had a safe journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments, this is very much appreciated. We now hope that you will have the opportunity to return in the near future when we can welcome you back to Number Four.

With warm regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but had a wonderful start to our holiday by having dinner in this lovely restaurant. The staff were attentive and the food was really excellent. We loved the ambiance of the extremely smart dining room. I would recommend this place and the locals were there too, not just tourists. Always a good sign!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

It is wonderful to hear your positive feedback following your meal at Cutler's Restaurant recently. Perhaps next time you visit you will also experience an overnight stay and have time to discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer

We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Have stayed here and had the pleasure of dining in the restaurant on several occasions. Have never been able to fault the hospitable welcome, great service and delicious food. Love the split level bar area and the fact the restaurant isn't one massive space making it feel far more intimate. Bedrooms are clean comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. Best of all excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Number Four at Stow during your recent visit to The Cotswolds. We are delighted that your stay lived up to your expectations following your previous stays. It is also appreciated that you have taken the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, thank you.

We now look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is one of the nicest, intimate hotels I have ever stayed in. Everything was so clean, very well furbished and well placed. I stayed here with my partner for 3 nights for a romantic getaway and it certainly ticked all the boxes. We had a beautiful room with a large bed and lovely bathroom. The area itself is very quiet but it is nice to get in the car and drive around to the little villages nearby. The breakfast was very enjoyable and filled you up for the rest of the day. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant 2 nights and it was delicious – the steak was cooked to perfection which is very hard to find sometimes! Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and all in all I would most definitely stay here again for a long weekend. I always recommend this hotel to friends and family – You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Your positive feedback is really appreciated by all. We now look forward to your return visit and also to hopefully welcoming all your family and friends in the near future!

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husbabd and I stayed at No.4 at Stow for one night only on 25th August. When we arrived we were greeted by Patricia the owner with a friendly welcome to the hotel. The Reception Staff were very welcoming and took us to our Room, it was spotlessly clean , we had a Suite which was beautifully decorated with a very comfortable couch and armchair to relax in !

We decided to have an evening meal at their beautifully set. The Meal was 1st Class and so tasty, we were constantly asked if everything was to our satisfaction, we enjoyed every mouthful especially the Crumble which my husband and I both had, highly recommended! And beautifully presented!

Would definitely go back again! 1st Class Hotel and Restaurant!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

It is wonderful to hear that you had such a memorable stay and dining experience at our hotel. Your review is greatly appreciated, thank you.

We now look forward to welcoming back soon.

With warm regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Number 4 for three nights while attending a family wedding. We had a lovely welcome and our room was a good size with separate area for our daughter. Patricia was very friendly and we saw her every day to chat to. The lady on reception was most helpful and booked hair appointments for myself and my daughter at a really good salon. We ate in the restaurant on the first night, food and service were good. Would definitely recommend. It is a great area to visit.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

We trust that you arrived back home in the USA safely and we would like to thank you all for coming to stay at our hotel. Your compliments are very much appreciated by all the team here, thank you.
We hope that when you are next visiting the UK you will return to The Cotwolds and Number Four and perhaps enjoy some of the wonderful villages and places of interest.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My Husband and I stayed for 1 night on 23rd August and from the moment we arrived the service we received from all the staff couldn't have been better. We were shown to our room which was spotlessly clean and very nicely furnished, and asked if we would like some fresh milk for tea and coffee which was already in the room. We had a full sized fridge containing water and a complimentary bottle of wine (which was part of the offer the hotel offered when we booked direct with them) so being able to store the fresh milk was great, a lovely touch. Following a very pleasant drink in the bar where we made our choice of food from the menu, we ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a superb meal. The food was exceptionally good and the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We had a great breakfast the next morning with a really good choice of fresh fruit being part of the continental breakfast which was followed by a delicious full english cooked breakfast. The hotel is in a good location for visiting different parts of the Cotswolds and after breakfast we took a very pleasant walk into Stow. We would definitely not hesitate in booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

It is greatly appreciated that you have taken the time to review our hotel following your stay in The Cotswolds. Thank you very much for your compliments with regards our accommodation and the food that we offer in Cutler's Restaurant.

We hope that you return to the area soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to Number Four.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,484 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
9.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £97 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing