We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had high expectations on the hotel but when we got into the room, we were disappointed. The room was tiny. The restaurant however, offered very nice food. Overall given the price we paid I do not think it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chngrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Firstly we would like to thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Naturally we are disappointed to hear that the room was not large enough for your requirements and we do appreciate your feedback. We do have a limited number of suites which are more spacious and maybe suit you better should you hopefully return to Number Four in the future.

We look forward to wishing you a warm welcome back soon.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We came here for Sunday lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the attentive service and good quality food. The beef was excellent (the lamb Wellington very good, although the pastry was not amazing), as was the roast potatoes, vegetables and drinks. Before we sat down, we were greeted in the reception and enjoyed a pre-lunch drink, and only called to the table when our meal was ready. All lovely. The big downside was the somewhat soulless room: modern, no charm, and not very much like the countryside. The same food and service in a pub would have been 5 stars.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Cutler's Restaurant following your recent visit for Sunday Lunch. All your comments are very much appreciated and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience.
We hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps for our mid-week lunch menu from £14.50 2 courses or to sample the A La Carte menu which we serve every day except Sunday!

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We made an impromptu stop at this hotel enroute to the south coast. After a friendly welcome, we were shown directly to our room by a member of staff. The room was clean, well equipped including flat screen TV, fridge, tea/coffee etc with a contemporary bathroom/shower. Breakfast was served in pleasant surroundings of the main dining room with the option of continental/full English breakfast. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the hotel is located alongside a busy A-road. As we made a last minute booking, our room was probably one of the last rooms to be allocated and it was close to the road however with the window closed, road noise wasn't an issue. There is also air con if its too warm. Overall, a pleasant stay and would recommend this to other travellers.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CharlieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for coming to stay at Number Four...its always worth trying to get lastminute availability and we are so pleased that you did..and that you enjoyed your stay. Your review on Trip Advisor is very much appreciated and we now hope that we can welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of September. What a lovely place, staff were professional but friendly and Cutlers Restaurant was first class and can accommodate a Coeliac diet very well.
It was great having a fridge in the room as we were able to stock up at the nearby Daylesford farm shop and keep everything cold until we left for home!
If We returned I would just make sure we were not in a room facing the road as the traffic was a bit heavy in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendywoo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel, thank you for your review, this is very much appreciated by all. You may be interested to know that Daylesford have some special Christmas events coming up in November....always worth a visit! Perhaps we may have the opportunity of welcoming you before Christmas for a little 'Cotswold Shopping'.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from our short break to the cotswolds and our stay at number four. It was the first time we stayed at this hotel and stayed after recommendations from this site and we didn't have to worry at all. The service we received, from all the staff, from the moment we walked in to our cheery farewell was excellent - nothing was too much trouble. We had a really good quality meal in the restaurant and when we wanted a couple of small changes from the published menu this wasn't a problem. In fact the steak that I had was one of the best I've ever had,(and I've had a few!) was cooked to perfection, which is surprising because a lot of places don't get this basic detail right but this was spot on. Good selection of wines to choose from also and there was no rush at all. I would highly recommend this to other travellers for a good quality break and who are looking for a bit of affordable luxury.

Room Tip: for a quiet room, ask for ones away from the main road as with the window open it can be a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Number Four and for your kind compliments following your stay with us. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and now hope to welcome you back very soon.

With warm regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Looking for a place to hide out from the road traffic on bank holiday weekend, we booked here for 5 nights, to use as a base for country walks and short drives to the small towns in the Cotswolds. The hotel is a 20-minute walk or 5-minute drive from Stow.

From checkin to checkout, the staff showed they were well-trained, as they all made us feel appreciated as guests, but did not intrude. The room was modern and well-maintained with air conditioning. Even though the hotel is situated on Fosse Way, our room was very quiet. The restaurant is worth a visit for dinner with an excellent menu and superbly prepared dishes.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was consistently good. They offered a cooked English breakfast or homemade granola, yoghurt and some of the best croissants this side of the Channel.

This hotel is a great find; reasonably priced and with service rarely found in hotels of any price and stature.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road, even though this may not be necessary. There was no road noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30POP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay at Number Four last month and your review on Trip Advisor is very much appreciated. This has been passed on to all the staff, thank you. We do hope that you will return when you are next visiting the UK. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed for one night on our way south using the Fosse Way rather than the motorways. We were warmly welcomed and given a quiet room which was immaculately clean but a trifle on the small side. A nice touch was the complimentary bottle of wine in the fridge.
Dinner was excellent with a good choice and friendly but unobtrusive service. Would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Would ask for a larger room or suite if staying more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay in The Cotswolds. Your compliments are very much appreciated. We are also delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience in Cutler's Restaurant and we now look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
356 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,466 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
569 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £128 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing