We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful stay mary and david”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a wonderful stay mary and david”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

this hotel is a must to stay at stow. the staff were great. they were first class.the bedrooms were very taste fully furnished the food in the restaurant was excellent. we spent our golden wedding weekend there as a gift from our children.the staff were aware of this and they made our stay most enjoyable if in the Cotswolds don't go anywhere else but at number four.the standard is of a top class hotel 5 star thanks to all at the hotel

Room Tip: all the rooms are as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable celebration weekend with your family. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at our hotel and we now look forward to welcoming you back soon. Your review on Trip Advisor is very much appreciated and your compliments have been passed on to all the staff, thank you.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    133
    36
    5
    6
See reviews for
121
615
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We found Number Four to be a lovely, newer boutique hotel with comfortable beds, wonderful linens and towels, great lighting and some very nice touches (a complimentary bottle of wine waiting in the refrigerator). Our room was smallish - it was difficult to walk around one side of the bed - but clean and comfortable. The hotel is not for people with limited mobility/difficulty with stairs but otherwise wonderful. In addition, the common spaces are warm and cozy and conducive to relaxing and reading.

The problem with Number Four (and what kept it from being a 'five') was that the check-in process can best be described as unwelcoming and snooty. We were greeted with "you gave us the wrong email address and we were unable to send you a confirmation". (In reality, we attempted repeatedly to provide our email address but the lady who took our reservation (over the telephone) had a strong accent and the exchange was frustrating). Further exchange at check-in can best be described as cold and dismissive and it resulted in our restaurant booking being 2 hours later than we'd requested. The lack of welcome at arrival set a tone for some disappointment. The restaurant food was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsRandoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post you review on Trip Advisor. It is from genuine feedback that we can measure the quality of service that we offer at our hotel and we are always looking at ways to improve on this so thank you for your comments and also your compliments.
We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Number Four in the future when we will assure you of a warm welcome and great service.

With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Very clean rooms although a bit smallish; we were not in one of the suites. Nicely situated for touring the entire Cotswolds area. If you like something nice, quiet and a bit formal, then this is the place for you. If you are more outgoing, happy-go-lucky and laid back, you may find it a bit stiff. Dinner was quite tasty but again very formal with only the two of us dining at the time, and it was expensive. All staff were polite and friendly but reserved as opposed to outgoing and gregarious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We trust you had a safe trip home to the USA and enjoyed the remainder of your time in the UK. Thank you for your comments following your stay, your review is much appreciated. We do hope that, should you return to The Cotswolds in the future, we can have the plesure of welcoming you back to our hotel.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had high expectations on the hotel but when we got into the room, we were disappointed. The room was tiny. The restaurant however, offered very nice food. Overall given the price we paid I do not think it was good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chngrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Firstly we would like to thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Naturally we are disappointed to hear that the room was not large enough for your requirements and we do appreciate your feedback. We do have a limited number of suites which are more spacious and maybe suit you better should you hopefully return to Number Four in the future.

We look forward to wishing you a warm welcome back soon.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We came here for Sunday lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the attentive service and good quality food. The beef was excellent (the lamb Wellington very good, although the pastry was not amazing), as was the roast potatoes, vegetables and drinks. Before we sat down, we were greeted in the reception and enjoyed a pre-lunch drink, and only called to the table when our meal was ready. All lovely. The big downside was the somewhat soulless room: modern, no charm, and not very much like the countryside. The same food and service in a pub would have been 5 stars.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Cutler's Restaurant following your recent visit for Sunday Lunch. All your comments are very much appreciated and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience.
We hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps for our mid-week lunch menu from £14.50 2 courses or to sample the A La Carte menu which we serve every day except Sunday!

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We made an impromptu stop at this hotel enroute to the south coast. After a friendly welcome, we were shown directly to our room by a member of staff. The room was clean, well equipped including flat screen TV, fridge, tea/coffee etc with a contemporary bathroom/shower. Breakfast was served in pleasant surroundings of the main dining room with the option of continental/full English breakfast. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the hotel is located alongside a busy A-road. As we made a last minute booking, our room was probably one of the last rooms to be allocated and it was close to the road however with the window closed, road noise wasn't an issue. There is also air con if its too warm. Overall, a pleasant stay and would recommend this to other travellers.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CharlieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for coming to stay at Number Four...its always worth trying to get lastminute availability and we are so pleased that you did..and that you enjoyed your stay. Your review on Trip Advisor is very much appreciated and we now hope that we can welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of September. What a lovely place, staff were professional but friendly and Cutlers Restaurant was first class and can accommodate a Coeliac diet very well.
It was great having a fridge in the room as we were able to stock up at the nearby Daylesford farm shop and keep everything cold until we left for home!
If We returned I would just make sure we were not in a room facing the road as the traffic was a bit heavy in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywoo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel, thank you for your review, this is very much appreciated by all. You may be interested to know that Daylesford have some special Christmas events coming up in November....always worth a visit! Perhaps we may have the opportunity of welcoming you before Christmas for a little 'Cotswold Shopping'.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing