We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in the Beautiful Stow-on-Wold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in the Beautiful Stow-on-Wold”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Number 4 for 3 nights while touring the Cotswolds and we were so glad we did. This hotel is centrally located and a convenient drive to all the little villages in the area. Beautifully decorated, immaculate and small, you feel at home immediately with the kind and caring staff. We had a room on the first floor which was quite small but very efficiently laid out so that it did not bother us. Since we packed our days with travel, we chose to eat in the restaurant on 2 nights (it is closed on Sundays) and we were glad we did--- the food is delicious and perfectly prepared. All in all, a fabulous choice for us and we would return here in a minute.

Room Tip: If you care about the size of your room, ask about this--- we had a king-size bed but the room was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmahls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Number Four at Stow on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had the time to experienced much of the area during your visit. We now look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting the UK.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    136
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
123
623
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

For our last night in the Cotswolds we went for a hotel rather than B&B. We took two room and both were lovely and very comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast next day served in Cutlers Restaurant in the Hotel was delicious too. The hotel has a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Number Four during your recent visit to The Cotswolds. Thank you for your compliments which are very much appreciated.
We now look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the future where a warm welcome awaits.

Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Number Four is a small, boutique-modern hotel just south of Stow, run with hands-on care by the 2 sisters who are the owners. My wife and I spent three nights in Room 201, a spacious 2-room suite, and they were excellent!! Both the bedroom and the sitting room were clean and nicely appointed, as was the large, modern bathroom. Not fancy, but crisp, comfortable and up-to-date (e.g., room-controlled heat and A/C). We also fully enjoyed the restaurant, which matches any in the area. The chef features local ingredients, with cooking that is lighter and more refined than the traditional fare we enjoyed elsewhere. Folks looking for traditional lodging right in the town may want to make another choice. But we were staying for 3 nights and planned to be out and about, so we opted for comfort and found it at Number Four.

Room Tip: I've seen some comments mention that rooms are small. But Room 201 is a true 2-room suite -- pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healthlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip in the UK and had a safe journey home. We are both pleased that your stay was so enjoyable and comfortable especially as you opted for one of our suites. Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you, and have been passed on to all the team here at Number Four.

We hope to welcome you back perhaps on your next trip to the UK and The Cotswolds.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We returned to Number Four last month for our second visit in 9 months and weren't disappointed.
The staff again made us very welcome and Chef Brian even took the trouble to mingle with the Guests prior to dinner and make them feel valued......well done him.
Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable, and the complimentary bottle of red wine appreciated( for those booking direct).
The quality of food there is outstanding . We thoroughly enjoyed it. Enough said !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Your compliments on Trip Advisor are very much appeciated, thank you. We were delighted to welcome you back once again to our hotel and hope that we can look forward to many more visits from you in the future. Don't forget to request your free bottle of wine again when you make your next booking!

Warmest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The rooms comfortable, clean and furnished to a high standard but maybe a tad on the smaller side. The staff are very welcoming and went the extra mile to ensure our stay was great. The breakfast was truly enjoyable. I would recommend a stay at number-four and you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor. All feedback is very much appreciated and we are delighted that your stay was a memorable one.

We now hope that you will return in the future and discover more of the beautiful Cotswolds.

With Kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Jane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We returned for a birthday gathering for second year in a row and had a great time. All the staff are so attentive and willing to go that extra mile. We would definitely recommend at stay here. Thanks again to all at No.4 you really do a good job

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJaneJ_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Number Four and we are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments which have been passed onto the staff, much appreciated.

We look forward to your return visit soon.

Kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have just come back from a weekend in the Cotswolds. This was our second visit to No.4 and we all had a great time. It is set in such beautiful surroundings and is the perfect location for touring the Cotswolds. Last year we booked a large table in the restaurant to accommodate us for my parents Ruby Anniversary. This year we did the same but we also all stayed at the Hotel. This was a lovely family gathering for my Mum's 70th Birthday. The attention to detail is excellent, the food in the restaurant was excellent, the quality of the room was excellent and the team at No.4 were excellent!!! We will be returning in the near future for sure! Thanks to all at No.4!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob-M-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated especially from the team. It was a real pleasure to welcome you all once again to our hotel and we are delighted that the weekend was a success.

We now look forward to welcoming you all again very soon...(maybe even to visit The Cotswolds during the Christmas Season and to shop at some of the wonderful local boutiques and stores in the surrounding towns and villages!)

With warm regards to all the family
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,058 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing