We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This being our 4th stay here, it was just fabulous to be greeted again in such a warm, delightful and friendly way. Our suite was as clean and spacious as before... a well needed santuary retreat from the norms of work, stress and distractions. For anyone like us who like (or have to bring along just in case) ipads, laptops, phones and speakers etc, the number of sockets are plentiful around each room. Everyone there as always were very attentive and friendly so it was a joy to have drinks in the bar in the evening with an occasional chat and then on to Cutler's restaurant ....sheer delight in the quality of the food as expected now : over 2 evenings the lamb topped it for me whilst the beef steak was amazing with to-die-for chips!, the scallops cooked perfectly, and my partner thoroughly enjoyed his delicious, "beautifully presented" partridge dish. They were really happy to recommend other restaurants and pubs in the Stow area for Sunday evening dining when Cutler's is closed and we enjoyed a great evening at the Bell Inn (a seperate review). There is such a great community spirit in the area it's a MUST to experience!! We're looking forward to the next time!!!!

Room Tip: A suite may be more expensive than a room, but it's WELL WORTH IT!!Just try it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinEdwardsADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Number Four and we are so pleased that you had another memorable stay at our hotel. Your Trip Advisor review is very much appreciated, thank you. Perhaps we will look forward to welcoming you again to enjoy a little relaxation and retail just
before Christmas!

With warmest regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arranged to have Sunday Lunch with my family yesterday, (including our grandchildren of 9 and 6). First of all it was nice that on arrival, a table had been reserved for us in one of the lounges, where we had an aperitif before our lunch order was taken by Caroline, (one of the owners). where she was extremely accommodating, as our grandchildren decided to mix, by choosing between both the full and children's menu.

The food, (we chose a variety of dishes), was of good quality, very tasty and well presented. Also, the "front of house" staff were charming, pleasant and efficient. Well done!...

Finally, a personal thanks to Caroline for arranging a nice large round table in the restaurant, congenial for a family gathering. I would certainly recommend the restaurant, where it's very clear that both the Kitchen and Front of House are doing an excellent job and the owners; are very much "hands-on" and take pride in their profession.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank italian186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Following your visit to Cutler's Restaurant we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and that we were able to cater for your Grandchildren. We now hope to welcome you back again very soon.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

While on a driving trip through England with another couple we stayed at Number Four at Stow and really loved it. The rooms are not large but they are upscale and very modern with all the comforts of home. The grounds are very nice and the restaurant has excellent gourmet type food. I highly recommend this property if you are in the area. The quaint town of Stow is just up the road and has lots of interesting shops and restaurants. We lucked out as a street fair was in full swing on the Saturday that we were there, lots of fun.

Room Tip: Be sure and make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjgagliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for coming to vivsit our hotel during your visit to the UK. We are delighted that you had a great time not only at Number Four but also sampling the delights of all the Cotswold villages. Your compliments on Trip Advisor are very much appreciated by us all.
We now look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had Saturday lunch with three friends. Very good menu, and food was cooked and served to a high standard. Staff very attentive. I have memories of this delightful hotel when it was The Farmers Arms - and was not looking forward to going back down memory lane. What a pleasant surprise. Will definitely eat here again, and might come back to the Cotswolds to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We are so pleased that your trip down memory lane was a positive one! Thank you for dining in our Cutler's Restaurant and we now look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Number 4 for 3 nights while touring the Cotswolds and we were so glad we did. This hotel is centrally located and a convenient drive to all the little villages in the area. Beautifully decorated, immaculate and small, you feel at home immediately with the kind and caring staff. We had a room on the first floor which was quite small but very efficiently laid out so that it did not bother us. Since we packed our days with travel, we chose to eat in the restaurant on 2 nights (it is closed on Sundays) and we were glad we did--- the food is delicious and perfectly prepared. All in all, a fabulous choice for us and we would return here in a minute.

Room Tip: If you care about the size of your room, ask about this--- we had a king-size bed but the room was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmahls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Number Four at Stow on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had the time to experienced much of the area during your visit. We now look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next visiting the UK.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

For our last night in the Cotswolds we went for a hotel rather than B&B. We took two room and both were lovely and very comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast next day served in Cutlers Restaurant in the Hotel was delicious too. The hotel has a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Number Four during your recent visit to The Cotswolds. Thank you for your compliments which are very much appreciated.
We now look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the future where a warm welcome awaits.

Kind regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Number Four is a small, boutique-modern hotel just south of Stow, run with hands-on care by the 2 sisters who are the owners. My wife and I spent three nights in Room 201, a spacious 2-room suite, and they were excellent!! Both the bedroom and the sitting room were clean and nicely appointed, as was the large, modern bathroom. Not fancy, but crisp, comfortable and up-to-date (e.g., room-controlled heat and A/C). We also fully enjoyed the restaurant, which matches any in the area. The chef features local ingredients, with cooking that is lighter and more refined than the traditional fare we enjoyed elsewhere. Folks looking for traditional lodging right in the town may want to make another choice. But we were staying for 3 nights and planned to be out and about, so we opted for comfort and found it at Number Four.

Room Tip: I've seen some comments mention that rooms are small. But Room 201 is a true 2-room suite -- pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank healthlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip in the UK and had a safe journey home. We are both pleased that your stay was so enjoyable and comfortable especially as you opted for one of our suites. Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you, and have been passed on to all the team here at Number Four.

We hope to welcome you back perhaps on your next trip to the UK and The Cotswolds.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
320 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,121 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £109 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing