We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the Very Best Cotswold hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Among the Very Best Cotswold hotels”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Booking direct, rather than through an an intermediary, was rewarded, unexpectedly, with a complimentary bottle of very drinkable wine in our room. A thoughtful touch such as this just adds to the "exceptional" experience that is a stay at Number Four. Our room was perhaps not the largest, but it certainly was among the best we have experienced and the food at dinner and breakfast didn't disappoint either. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you both to our hotel recently and your feedback on Trip Advisor is very much appreciated following your stay, thank you. We hope you will have the opportunity to return perhaps in the New Year where a warm welcome awaits.

With our best wishes for a peaceful Christmas and New Year.
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    136
    39
    6
    6
See reviews for
124
627
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As always we use TP to find the best Hotels and Restaurants. Number 4 at Stow was no exception.
From the very warm service from the owner/sisters Caroline and Patricia and the Waiting and Reception staff, to the excellent food at the Restaurant . Yes, the rooms are a little small, but the beds sooo comfortable. Yes, having a ground floor room we could hear the occupants in the room above a little, but the breakfast was superb .
Whilst not in the centre of Stow it is only a short drive and parking is quite easy. The grounds are as yet not fully developed - quite open - but I believe there will be plans to change that. I do wish that the lounge areas were a little cosier in décor and choice of settees but this is a personal taste
We will definitely return for another short break.
Loved Stow and you must visit ' The Porch House' pub and Daynsbury Organic Farm / Restaurant nearby for lunch

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BasibLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Following the recommendations of Trip Advisor, we are so pleased that you chose to stay at our hotel and that your visit met with your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we are always looking at ways to improve not only the service but also the surroundings. We now look forward to extending a warm welcome to you on your next visit.


With kindest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Number Four for our Wedding Anniversary and found it to be perfect. Staff were friendly and attentive. The room was clean and well appointed - it looked brand new. The lounge was plush and the dining area immaculate. Breakfast was hearty and the evening meal we had in Cutlers restaurant memorable. Number Four at Stow is a hotel I'd recommend and would love to visit again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your compliments following your stay at Number Four. We are delighted that your anniversay treat was such a relaxing and memorable one. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future so you can discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer.


With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Number Four!

The booking process was seamless, and we were welcomed by friendly staff. We asked for a recommendation for dinner, and were told about The Bell at Stowe, which we thoroughly enjoyed! Our breakfast the next morning was also delicious.

Our room was clean, new and comfortable. Number Four is also well situated and easy to find, close to the lovely town of Bourton-on-the-Water and in the heart of the Cotswolds.

I would recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthenaFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are both delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Cotswolds and our hotel. Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. This is always very much appreciated by all the team here.

We now look forward to wishing you a warm welcome back soon.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This being our 4th stay here, it was just fabulous to be greeted again in such a warm, delightful and friendly way. Our suite was as clean and spacious as before... a well needed santuary retreat from the norms of work, stress and distractions. For anyone like us who like (or have to bring along just in case) ipads, laptops, phones and speakers etc, the number of sockets are plentiful around each room. Everyone there as always were very attentive and friendly so it was a joy to have drinks in the bar in the evening with an occasional chat and then on to Cutler's restaurant ....sheer delight in the quality of the food as expected now : over 2 evenings the lamb topped it for me whilst the beef steak was amazing with to-die-for chips!, the scallops cooked perfectly, and my partner thoroughly enjoyed his delicious, "beautifully presented" partridge dish. They were really happy to recommend other restaurants and pubs in the Stow area for Sunday evening dining when Cutler's is closed and we enjoyed a great evening at the Bell Inn (a seperate review). There is such a great community spirit in the area it's a MUST to experience!! We're looking forward to the next time!!!!

Room Tip: A suite may be more expensive than a room, but it's WELL WORTH IT!!Just try it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinEdwardsADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Number Four and we are so pleased that you had another memorable stay at our hotel. Your Trip Advisor review is very much appreciated, thank you. Perhaps we will look forward to welcoming you again to enjoy a little relaxation and retail just
before Christmas!

With warmest regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arranged to have Sunday Lunch with my family yesterday, (including our grandchildren of 9 and 6). First of all it was nice that on arrival, a table had been reserved for us in one of the lounges, where we had an aperitif before our lunch order was taken by Caroline, (one of the owners). where she was extremely accommodating, as our grandchildren decided to mix, by choosing between both the full and children's menu.

The food, (we chose a variety of dishes), was of good quality, very tasty and well presented. Also, the "front of house" staff were charming, pleasant and efficient. Well done!...

Finally, a personal thanks to Caroline for arranging a nice large round table in the restaurant, congenial for a family gathering. I would certainly recommend the restaurant, where it's very clear that both the Kitchen and Front of House are doing an excellent job and the owners; are very much "hands-on" and take pride in their profession.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italian186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Following your visit to Cutler's Restaurant we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and that we were able to cater for your Grandchildren. We now hope to welcome you back again very soon.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

While on a driving trip through England with another couple we stayed at Number Four at Stow and really loved it. The rooms are not large but they are upscale and very modern with all the comforts of home. The grounds are very nice and the restaurant has excellent gourmet type food. I highly recommend this property if you are in the area. The quaint town of Stow is just up the road and has lots of interesting shops and restaurants. We lucked out as a street fair was in full swing on the Saturday that we were there, lots of fun.

Room Tip: Be sure and make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjgagliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for coming to vivsit our hotel during your visit to the UK. We are delighted that you had a great time not only at Number Four but also sampling the delights of all the Cotswold villages. Your compliments on Trip Advisor are very much appreciated by us all.
We now look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards
Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
333 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,079 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,306 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing