We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when going to a wedding at Hyde Barn. The staff were very friendly and efficient. We arrived to check in early before the wedding and to our surprise were told our room was ready which was a real help. The lounge area is very comfortable and stylish. We had sandwiches and coffee and can highly recommend Brian's club sandwich. Our room was very clean and comfortable although a little small. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stay1or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Number Four whilst visiting the Cotswolds recently to attend a wedding. Your compliments are much appreciated and have been passed on to the staff and kitchen, thank you. We hope you will find the time to return in the near future to discover the wonderful surrouding countryside and beautiful villages that you perhaps didn't have the opportunity to on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    133
    36
    5
    6
See reviews for
121
615
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

On arriving at the hotel, we were welcomed by a host of very attentive/friendly staff. The hotel was impeccable as was the room. We were escorted to our room and offered fresh milk, which we accepted. No, the rooms are not massive but more than big enough for a 2 night stay. The breakfast was fresh, locally sourced and cooked to order. We only ate in the restaurant on one evening, the food was amazing and the service was fab! Well done all at Number Four for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCNovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, this is really much appreciated. We are so pleased that your stay was a memorable one and certainly hope that we can look forward to welcoming back in the near future to discover more of what The Cotswolds has to offer.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here a few weekends ago. Whilst the décor of the place was modern and high quality, the size of the bedroom was disappointing with just enough room to walk around the bed.
The check in was smooth with no problems and the Polish man behind the desk was extremely friendly, polite and helpful.
On day 1 we ate breakfast in the lounge area, which was lovely and filling. However, we were the only ones in the place and everything felt very formal. There wasn't even any music to soften the atmosphere.
Later that day we sought some advice from a lovely lady from behind the front desk about where to go for a long walk. She, by the way, was also extremely helpful and polite.
We dined in the hotel that night but had to wait in the lounge area before dining. The lounge area again was extremely formal and I found it quite uncomfortable just sitting there. We both felt like we had to whisper. A little music would have worked a treat at helping us to relax.
The restaurant area had a little more atmosphere as there were people arriving and music was playing. The food was also very good but very expensive. I have had just as nice food for a lot cheaper.
All in all, it wasn't a bad stay but we found the £350 bill for bed and breakfast and one dinner, a little steep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erialcrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We are naturally very disappointed to hear that we did not quite meet your expectations and do certainly appreciate your feedback, as this is how we can continue to improve on what we offer here at Number Four. Your compliments have been passed on to all the staff, thank you.

We do hope that you will return to Number Four sometime in the future when we will assure you of our personal attention.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Arrived at number 4 at Stow together with 3 colleagues on a miserable winter evening. It really felt like coming in from the cold.. What a lovely hotel! At £135 a night (mid week-single occupancy) including breakfast, 3 course dinner and a bottle of wine , this beats any hotel chain in the area - not just one value but on hospitality , ambience and food quality . The business trip felt like being on a mini break and I can't wait to go back with family and friends. (Thanks also to the lovely staff-you made us feel so welcome and comfortable)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlixynTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your business trip to The Cotswolds. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Number Four. We now hope you will return soon for either business or pleasure when we will look forward to wishing you a warm welcome back.
Incidentally, we do have a meeting room at the hotel, should you wish to hold your conference on site next time!

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We ate here as a family one saturday evening a few weeks back. The food was amazing, and the service was excellent. We will definitely be heading back there to eat. The decor was lovely and the manager was very hospitible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for coming to dine at our Cutler's Restaurant recently and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and hope that when you return to The Cotswolds you will come back to see us again.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We are local and booked a table for 6 in the restaurant.
We were met on arrival and our coats taken, shown through to lounge area for a drink whilst choosing from the menu.
All staff were very attentive, the decor was lovely as was the food.
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazpezzlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you all to Cutler's at Number Four last month. We are delighted that you had a memorable meal and thank you for your complimentary review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent a Saturday night here during a recent visit to the Cotswolds. The hotel is lovely. The bar and lounge area are quite intimate, and the décor is very stylish. We paid £210 for a dinner, bed and breakfast package. We also had a complimentary bottle of wine placed in our room. Dinner in Cutlers Restaurant was very good, and as this was included in our package, it was great value. The staff are friendly and attentive, and the room was clean, warm and quiet. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, including your dining experience in our restaurant. Your compliments have been passed on to all the staff here at Number Four, thank you.

We now hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing