We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Meriden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at Number Four at Stow on Saturday night as part of a short break away. We booked the hotel following the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The service was impeccable as was the dining (evening meal & breakfast). The night stay didn't come cheap, but I feel that the whole experience was value for money. It is very apparent that the owners are passionate about this hotel and take the time to meet their guests which I think is amazing. We don't live too far away so a return is very likely, hopefully on a sunnier weekend that this one! Congratulations on a wonderful hotel with wonderful entourage of staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed your dining experience in Cutler's Restaurant.

We now look forward to welcoming you back again soon...the sun has even been shining which we hope means a good Summer ahead!

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    132
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
121
610
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
549 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Number 4 for a wedding across the road at the Hyde Barn. The Hotel is very nice and modern and offered a comfortable night after a day's festivities. It seemed expensive for what it was as the rooms are very small and for a Hotel that seemed to me as a visitor to be in the middle of nowhere. There must be a business district somewhere close it services. Breakfast (The full English) was excellent and I would go back if anyone else got married in the area which at this point seems unlikely. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay whilst attending a recent wedding. Your compliments are much appreciated, thank you.

We do hope that you will find an opportunity to return to The Cotswolds as there is much to discover in the area including all the picturesque villages, public gardens, wildlife parks and National Trust properties to name but a few! We also hope that you will perhaps sample Cutler's Restaurant on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just spent a weekend here in one of the suites. Experience excellent, from booking to check out, kind, professional, polite attention to detail. Great food in the restaurant, wonderful room, delicious breakfast, less but better rather than more and plain. All staff well trained and wonderful. This is a great place, owner-run -and doesn't it just show. Well done, in an area where so many take their visitors for granted and for a ride. This place promises and delivers!

Room Tip: Suites well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us. Your compliments are very much appreciated, thank you.
We hope you had the opportunity to visit some of the lovely countryside during your weekend and ho that you will return soon to discover even more of The Cotswolds.

We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having just returned from our sixth stay at number four, in three years, we thought it time to write our recommendation. Throughout the standard has been impeccable. From check-in to check-out the service has been efficient, courteous, and friendly. Cleanliness is without compare, and the food at Cutlers restaurant is delicious and the menu varied. In all an extremely comfortable and centrally-located base, with ample car parking, from which to visit the many attractions of the lovely Cotswalds.

Room Tip: Room 201 - a small suite - is our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Firstly we must say it is always a pleasure to welcome you both back to Number Four. Thank you very much for your review and your compliments following your experiences with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay once again.

We now look forward to welcoming you both again very soon for visit No. 7!

Sending our warmest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a lovely one night stay recently The staff are very welcoming and friendly, the food in the restaurant for our evening meal was delicious as was the full english breakfast the next morning. The room was very clean and tidy and the whole experience was a delight and we will definitely be returning in the future for a longer stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently and also experienced dining in Cutler's Restaurant. Your compliments have been passed on to all the team here at Number Four and are very much appreciated, thank you.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Cotswolds in the very near future.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

i tried to book this hotel as we are going to a wedding at a venue opposite. i went through the online booking process which told me there was a king sized room available for my date as bed and breakfast, the booking then froze and therefore i called the hotel to check if they had received the booking or if i needed to book in over the phone. i was then told there was only a room for dinner bed and breakfast at £70 more than the bed and breakfast, i said but i don't want dinner as i am at a wedding over the road. I was told they only had dinner bed and breakfast. The lady i spoke to seemed to have no idea what was going on.very short sighted i think.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Although we are aware that you have not visited Number Four at Stow, and therefore are not reviewing your stay with us, we would like to offer feedback from your comments with regards making bookings at our hotel.

Once Online Travel Agents have sold all the rooms allocated to them, it is no longer possible to book through them. With regards booking directly we offer different types of availability (e.g. bed and breakfast only or dinner and accommodation only) depending on dates chosen. In this instance, unfortunately we only had accommodation with our dinner package available.

We do now hope that you have managed to find alternative accommodation and wish you a pleasant stay in The Cotswolds.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently on a long trip from North to South England but were only able to stay for one night. We received a very warm and friendly welcome and felt very relaxed. We stayed for an evening meal at Cutler's Restaurant and found the menu to be very good, as was the food. Breakfast was also excellent. Our room was very comfortable, the only downside being that there were no sockets close enough to a mirror when using a hair dryer (this was mentioned to reception and they have promised to look at this)The owner and staff made us feel very welcome, we look forward to a return journey to explore the area further.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your compliments and feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience in Cutler's Restaurant and do certainly look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing