We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well up to expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have just spent a two night stay at No.4. The staff were very friendly and our room was very well appointed. One special highlight was the full English breakfast, which even included black pudding. The home made muesli was splendid. It's well located for Stow, which has some upmarket shopping and plenty of parking.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PJR407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Number Four following your recent stay. Your compliments are very much appreciated, thank you. We do now look forward to welcoming you once again when you are next visiting the area.....even if its just for another breakfast!

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I treated my parents to a night at Number four and dinner. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere. The rooms are nice, very clean. The service during dinner was excellent and my parents commented that this was one of the best meals they have had in a long time.
Patricia, one of the owners was very friendly and made sure that we enjoyed our time there.

Lots of spaces in the car park.

Will definitely be staying there again and would recommend to anyone looking for a weekend away in a lovely area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

It was a pleasure to welcome your parents to our hotel and we are so pleased that they enjoyed their stay with us. Your compliments are very much appreciated, thank you, and have been passed on to the staff.

We now look forward to welcoming yourself and the rest of the family back later in the year.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife & I enjoyed a two night stay whilst attending a wedding nearby and to say we wre bowled over by the welcome, comfort and the food would be an understatement, what a fantastic place. We are planning to spend a week or so in the area later in the year and I cannot wait. 10 out of 10 and then some.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaventryButtercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your compliments on Trip Advisor are very much appreciated, thank you.

Its great you have decided to return later in the year as there are so many places to visit in the area. We look forward to wishing you a warm welcome back soon.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Called in for lunch whilst visiting the area. All though it was quiet, we had a lovely welcome. Lunch was delicious and service was great. Would definitely recommend. Looks like a family run business. Very clean and stylish.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countrylady92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for posting your review following your lunch at Cutler's Restaurant. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable meal and hope you also enjoyed your trip to The Cotswolds. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting the area, perhaps even to stay at the hotel!

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A one night stay in early spring.

What appeared to be the main entrance for cars was locked, which was not the best start, but after that it was all good. The room was new and fresh and well equipped, with a nice view.
Breakfast was very good and prepared to order, including the fruit salad, though I got the impression that if they were busy this might not be the case.

As the hotel is out of town we will review our evening meal as part pf our stay, and it was one of the best meals we have had in a hotel restaurant for years. It seemed that the staff were new, but they were smiley and keen.

Room Tip: It is on a busy road, but the double glazing meant that we were not disturbed by traffic overnight
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Number Four recently and thank you for your compliments on Trip Advisor, this is much appreciated. We have passed these on to all the staff and in particular the kitchen at Cutler's Restaurant.

We now very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at Number Four at Stow on Saturday night as part of a short break away. We booked the hotel following the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The service was impeccable as was the dining (evening meal & breakfast). The night stay didn't come cheap, but I feel that the whole experience was value for money. It is very apparent that the owners are passionate about this hotel and take the time to meet their guests which I think is amazing. We don't live too far away so a return is very likely, hopefully on a sunnier weekend that this one! Congratulations on a wonderful hotel with wonderful entourage of staff!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We very much appreciate that you have taken the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed your dining experience in Cutler's Restaurant.

We now look forward to welcoming you back again soon...the sun has even been shining which we hope means a good Summer ahead!

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Number 4 for a wedding across the road at the Hyde Barn. The Hotel is very nice and modern and offered a comfortable night after a day's festivities. It seemed expensive for what it was as the rooms are very small and for a Hotel that seemed to me as a visitor to be in the middle of nowhere. There must be a business district somewhere close it services. Breakfast (The full English) was excellent and I would go back if anyone else got married in the area which at this point seems unlikely. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay whilst attending a recent wedding. Your compliments are much appreciated, thank you.

We do hope that you will find an opportunity to return to The Cotswolds as there is much to discover in the area including all the picturesque villages, public gardens, wildlife parks and National Trust properties to name but a few! We also hope that you will perhaps sample Cutler's Restaurant on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
346 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,091 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £151 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing