We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing evening”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Booked last minute for a single night stay to visit Stow's antique shops and had a very relaxing evening. Very good service, excellent evening meal (although a bit more expensive than I would normally consider unless a special occasion) and equally good breakfast.

Bedroom was well equipped and comfortable. The only slight negative is the roadside location which makes it a little noisy if you like to have your bedroom window open at night.

Think the hotel and restaurant most suitable for couples, business or solo travellers like myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Number Four recently and thank you for choosing our hotel for your overnight stay. Your compliments are much appreciated, thank you. We hope you had fun exploring the many antique shops and found what you were looking for.

We now look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    136
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
123
623
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel lives up to the reviews Wonderful food good service from excellent staff and very clean comfortable rooms why go anywhere else ! We found plenty of places to visit near by and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your compliments following your stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great time during your visit to The Cotswolds and look forward to welcoming you back soon....there is so much more to discover of the area!

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This Bed and Breakfast has modern amenities. It is a jewel of a find. Thanks to the reviews at Tripadvisor, this was an great stay. This B&B is close enough to village of Stow to walk. The rooms are typically small but the rooms have been refurbished. The bathrooms have also been refurbished have good toiletries. The rooms has a coffee machine machine. The hotel is within 5 minutes drives to a Tesco down the road. The breakfasts are great and worth checking out the dinner. The place is quite popular for dinner and you will have to make a reservation. The place has a small bar.

Room Tip: Try at least one dinner.This is a B&B so if you have a lot of heavy luggage, ask for the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We hope you had a safe journey back home to the USA. Thank you for choosing to stay at Number Four whilst visiting The Cotswolds, your compliments are very much appreciated. We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you once again when you are back in the UK.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We found Number Four at Stow to be a very comfortable stay. The room is just as it looks on the website, very clean with a good bathroom and very good products in the bathroom, water lovely and hot and plentiful. Thedinner was good, though we wouldn't say outstanding for the price, compared with other food we have eaten out. Nonetheless, it seemed pretty popular with non residents. Breakfast was lovely. The staff have to be the best thing about the hotel - it is exemplary in customer service - a rare thing these days. There were just two things that took the edge off what is otherwise a very good hotel. First, the noise from traffic. It is right on a road junction, but is well soundproofed. Leaving the window open is not an option at night if you don't want to hear traffic, though it would of course die down the later it gets. That said, there is a small vent in the window, so one doesn't have to open it. We started off in the room right next to the road downstairs and I asked to be moved, because it was a very wet evening and I wanted to relax in the room before dinner. However, the traffic noise was disturbing even with the window closed. There was no problem with the move - quick and efficient. It was to a room only two rooms along, but further from the road and it made all the difference. The second thing is that, while the room looks exactly as on the website, the size doesn't come over that well and I felt that it was quite small, particularly if it is wet outside and you want to relax in your room. It is a great hotel to stay at for business - great for one person to hang out in their room and use laptop etc, but not particularly for two people on a weekend break - there is only one chair for a start! The common parts are nice, but not large and again I would say more suited to business or a drink before dinner. That said, the overall experience was very good and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and have passed your compliments on to all the staff, very much appreciated.
Perhaps if you are visiting The Cotswolds again and Number Four, a Suite would be more suitable as this does certainly offer more space with an adjoining lounge as well as the bedroom.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With warmest regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton in marsh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Wonderful food.Excellent service and beautiful surroundings. Special evening out to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were welcomed with champagne and nibbles. The waiters were attentive and friendly, and looked after us so well- couldn't do enough for us. The food was so tasty, and very well presented.
The meal was not cheap, but then you get what you pay for.
Overall the occasion made for a very memorable night out. This is certainly a place we shall return to for a special celebration.

Room Tip: cannot comment on the rooms, but I'm sure they are amazing, if the rest of the hotel is anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Congratulations once again on you Wedding Anniversay and thank you for choosing to celebrate at Cutler's Restaurant. We are delighted that the meal and service lived up to your expectations and we now look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards

Caroline and Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a two night stay at No.4. The staff were very friendly and our room was very well appointed. One special highlight was the full English breakfast, which even included black pudding. The home made muesli was splendid. It's well located for Stow, which has some upmarket shopping and plenty of parking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PJR407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Number Four following your recent stay. Your compliments are very much appreciated, thank you. We do now look forward to welcoming you once again when you are next visiting the area.....even if its just for another breakfast!

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I treated my parents to a night at Number four and dinner. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere. The rooms are nice, very clean. The service during dinner was excellent and my parents commented that this was one of the best meals they have had in a long time.
Patricia, one of the owners was very friendly and made sure that we enjoyed our time there.

Lots of spaces in the car park.

Will definitely be staying there again and would recommend to anyone looking for a weekend away in a lovely area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome your parents to our hotel and we are so pleased that they enjoyed their stay with us. Your compliments are very much appreciated, thank you, and have been passed on to the staff.

We now look forward to welcoming yourself and the rest of the family back later in the year.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,060 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
186 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing