We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We used this hotel when attending a friends wedding that was across the road. The rooms are adequate but not spacious friendly but not to formal.
The common areas were well decorated and the restaurant was excellent both in cuisine and service.

We have in fact booked again for June

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay recently and we now look forward to welcoming you back again next month! Hopefully you will have an opportunity to discover more of the area - cotswolds.com is our local tourist information centre which you may find helpful if you want to pre plan your Cotswolds visit.

Wishing you a safe trip back to Number Four.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a couple of months ago based as usual on Tripadvisor reviews. How I wish we had read subsequent reviews regards the restaurant being closed on a Bank Holiday Sunday. We were given various explanations about renovations but no one could explain why the hotels own literature stated they would open on a Bank Holiday weekend or why we hadn't been advised in advance. We walked(up a steep hill along a busy road) to Stow & had a good night. Room was rather cramped but breakfast was good. Very disappointed - won't bother going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank griffmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and for bringing to our attention your disappointment that you were unable to dine at our Cutler's restaurant during your recent stay.

As you had not made a restaurant reservation prior to your checking in, we had wrongly assumed that you would not be dining with us. We therefore apologise most sincerely that we did not contact you to advise of the closure. We have had to carry out some maintenence work in the kitchen and chose this quiet evening and following day to do this.

If you do return to The Cotswolds in the future we would be very pleased to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to perhaps dine in Cutler's Restaurant where we both assure you of a very warm welcome.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel for a short stay. Our room though rather small was immaculately clean & very well appointed. The staff are all without exception very polite, courteous & friendly. The food in Cutler's restaurant was delicious & very well presented. We were disappointed, however, that evening dinner was not served on Sundays, but we had an excellent meal in the Bell in Stow.
All in all a lovely break.

Room Tip: Room 109 had noview from the window. Room 106 had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coventrylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us at Number Four during your recent visit to The Cotswolds. Thank you for posting your review, this is very much appreciated and your compliments have been passed on to all the staff.

We now look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

When we arrived this hotel was not exactly what we expected. It was right on the side of a busy road. Our greeting on arrival at the hotel, and the service throughout our stay, was excellent without exception. However, we thought the bedroom was very small. It was in the eaves with a single velux window looking out at the sky and another roof of the building. Linens were of a good quality although there were two single duvets (very European) rather than one. I would have preferred one big one. Breakfast was included and very good - with lots of choice - a continental breakfast and a cooked breakfast.

We stayed one night and ate dinner at Cutler's Restaurant within the hotel. The dining room was the same place we ate breakfast. It was quite a depressing space with a low ceiling and small windows out of which you could see cars flashing by only a few feet away. That aside the service was again excellent. Perhaps a little too efficient. My plate was cleared whilst I was still chewing my last mouthful. The food was very good. Relatively simple, but high quality ingredients and tasty. I would recommend the pate and the lamb.

If you could transplant the food and service to a better space it would easily be worth 4/4.5 stars. However it is the space which is the problem. In its current location, in my opinion, it's sadly only worth 3.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. Your compliments have been passed on to all the staff which is very much appreciated.
We would also like to thank you for your feedback as it is very important to us to continue to improve on what we offer to our guests at Number Four. We do hope that you will come and visit us again and we can suggest that a Suite would be more suited to your needs. We will make sure that we also prepare the room with a kingsize duvet (please ask at the time of booking).

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights from 19th May 2014. Very well equiped hotel and restaurant about a mile outside of Stow. Rooms a bit small but very smart and with all usual facilities. Excellent breakfast but what made the stay special was the restaurant with high quality cooking and the service from all staff and the owner. Would definitely recommend for a short break

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are delighted to learn that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us at Number Four. Thank you for posting your compliments, this is very much appreciated by all the staff. We trust you had a wonderful time exploring The Cotswolds and we now look forward to wishing you a warm welcome back very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch today on the off chance, and it was amazing. The food and service were fabulous. We drive past every weekend on the way home and have never stopped before- prices represent value for money. Better than many 'gastropubs' in the cotswold. The coffee and macaroon went down great at the end. 10/10 we will be back for dinner!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank amy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for stopping at Number Four to try our lunch menu. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience and appreciate that you have posted your review on Trip Advisor, thank you.

We now look forward to welcoming you back soon - we also do a great Sunday lunch! (sorry we are closed on Sunday evenings)

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Number Four for 2 nights. We chose Number Four on the basis that you get what you pay for. It's not the cheapest hotel, and I have to say it met our every expectation.
We booked through laterooms.com, who failed to pass the booking on to Number Four. So they weren't expecting us when we arrived. Fortunately they had a spare room, immediately checked it had been serviced, and we were installed within 10 minutes of arriving.

The room and en-suite were spotlessly clean, well appointed with comfortable twin beds pushed together into effectively a very large double.

We decided to eat in the restaurant as we were tired from our journey. I must say the standard of food was among the highest we've experienced. Congratulations to the chef! The restaurant too was spotlessly clean, the staff very polite and attentive without being obsequious. A thoroughly enjoyable meal. So good that we changed plans and ate there the second night as well. The cooked breakfast was also among the best I've had anywhere. Only minor criticism is that they don't offer porridge on the menu, but I wouldn't be surprised if they could do it if you ask.

In summary - excellent all round!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandJ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to post your compliments following your visit to our hotel, thank you. We are delighted that your stay was a memorable one and we do hope that we can welcome you back very soon. (We will be pleased to prepare porridge for your breakfast on your next visit...please just ask us!)

With warmest regards

Caroline and Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
301 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,098 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
479 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £76 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing