We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We enjoyed a lovely 2 night break here. The owners and staff are fantastic as was the food in Cutlers restaurant. We cannot recommend it highly enough and look forward to returning in the future. Thank you to all at number 4.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane18962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are so pleased that you had a memorable weekend relaxing at Number Four and would like to thank you for posting your compliments following your stay with us. We now hope that you will return again very soon.

We look forward to wishing you a warm welcome back.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a lovely one night stay at this hotel on a busy Saturday night. We travelled with our two small children and, despite not expecting a boutique hotel to be child-friendly, the staff and owners went out of their way to make us and the children feel comfortable and at ease.
There was a cupboard full of games and toys to keep outr little girl entertained while we enjoyed a glass of wine and the room had excellent facilities for our baby. In fact, we needn't have taken anything with us for her. There were even a couple of toys in the room for the girls when we arrived which was great while we unpacked.
We ate in the restaurant with friends in the evening and all enjoyed the food. There was a lovely atmosphere in th hotel and we will deffinately be returning next time we visit the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Number Four last week. We are delighted that you all had an enjoyable stay and also that the children enjoyed the games and toys. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Trip Advisor, it is always very much appreciated.

We hope you will return again in the near future and have the opportunity to visit more of the fantastic attractions that The Cotswolds has to offer for chlidren and adults alike.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in the Cotswolds with friends staying at Number Four at Stow. Great hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Would definitely use this hotel when visiting this area again and would recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at our hotel, much appreciated. We are so pleased that you had a relaxing weekend and now look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wanted to take a short Cotswold break while visiting friends and family on our trip from the US. We have previously stayed at other hotels in the area and Number Four compared very favorably. Service was excellent, from the arrival greeting and being shown to our room, right up to our departure. The room was a little small, but fully met our needs. Despite the hotel's location, it was quiet and everything worked. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night, also excellent. After spending 30+ years traveling the world on business, I'm a tough grader ... but Number Four completely delighted us. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are delighted that you had a memorable return visit to The Cotswolds and that you have discovered Number Four! Thank you so much for your positive feedback, your compliments have been passed on to the staff. We now hope that when you are next visiting from the USA that we can welcome you back once again.

With warm regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We made a last minute booking to visit a business associate in Bourton-on-the-Water. The hotel had a lot of positive reviews but I was a little concerned it is sandwiched between two busy roads. This did not cause a problem in our room which was quiet. The rooms are small, clean and functional. They are smart but not hugely luxurious. The owner and staff were delightful. We did have one minor problem with a disagreement over the online room rate but this was quickly sorted out to our liking. The restaurant was very good and we enjoyed a lovely evening meal there. Breakfast was also to a good standard. Parking is very easy. Overall a nice stay. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJSinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel whilst visiting The Cotswolds on business recently. It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to post your review, thank you.
We do hope that you will return again soon, perhaps even for a leisure break, and have time to discover more of the beautiful countryside.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Arranged to take two of our friends from Nashville, Tennessee, USA for a 50th Birthday gift.

Number Four offers more of a bespoke service than a regular hotel. You are greeted at reception and shown to your room, not just handed a key and sent on your way. I had several requests that I wanted taken care of and these were all met.

We asked for full size duvets and this was no problem what so ever. We were treated to two suites and I would recommend if you're staying here and would like a seating area to relax more it's well worth the extra money if available. The rooms/bathrooms are spotlessly clean, usual toiletries / amenities, tea, coffee and water provided, all modern in decoration.

We were situated in two rooms nearest the main entrance on the road and there was no noise at all to bother you, this was with the windows open as well. All rooms have air conditioning.

What I love about this hotel is the intimacy of it, you can sit quietly in the lounge with a book or device and just be.

The restaurant is intimate and they have relaxing music playing in the back ground. The service is impeccable and professional. The menu has choices for all varying tastes, wine menu is extensive/selective. The restaurant is ideal for a couple celebrating a special occasion or a get away, but also nice for a few people wanting an intimate dinner together. The produce is sourced locally, a nice touch.

Our friends from Nashville couldn't say enough about their stay and how wonderful Trisha, Caroline, Anne and all the staff made them feel so welcome.

Brian Cutler, head chef of Cutlers restaurant even came and said hello and had made a fresh cream birthday cake with alcohol that was devine!

You really notice all the little touches, candles, fresh flowers, the cleanliness of the whole hotel, the toilets in the main reception spotlessly clean and again proper individual hand towels not paper towels!

This hotel is ideal for a wedding reception or celebration of any sort, it's small and intimate for all your guests to stay. Number Four I noticed also have a board room for group meetings and can obviously cater for lunch/dinner as well.

I've read a couple of negative reviews on here however let me put your minds at rest, you won't be disappointed and bare in mind this is a Four star hotel but really the service and ambience of a 5 Star hotel.

We will be back again! Thank you again to Trisha and Caroline for making us feel at home and more importantly valued as returning guests! You're worth every penny!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

It is always a pleasure to welcome back previous guests of Number Four, we are delighted that your 5th visit measured up to your expectations and that you all had a wonderful time!
Your compliments are very much appreciated by all the staff, thank you. We certainly hope that you will return again very soon...perhaps for the next birthday celebration.

We look forward to wishing you all a very warm welcome back to Number Four very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was a fabulous place to stay for a couple of nights. We had a king suite which was a lovely room with a lounge area with settee and second TV. The quality of the bedding, furniture and decor was very good and the staff couldn't do enough for us.

We ate in cutters restaurant one night and the food is exceptional. The chef came out to speak to us all after the meal and spent time with all the guests. The monkfish was amazing

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk into stow which has some great pubs and restaurants. The local walks are very good around the area and for the hotel you can walk down hill into lower slaughter and into upper slaughter and boughton on the water.

We would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay to explore the Cotswolds

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S9-liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to The Cotswolds. We are delighted that you enjoyed discovering some of the local towns and villages and hope that you will return in the future to perhaps see more of what The Cotswolds has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards

Caroline & Patricia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
285 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,486 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,083 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £97 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing