We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Enjoyed 4 days in the Cotswolds with a very comfortable stay at Number Four. Great location,comfortable room, and very caring directors. Didn't get a chance to dine at Cutlers because of our busy itinerary . Maybe next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yasmin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit exploring The Cotswolds and hope that we can welcome back again soon.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    136
    37
    6
    6
See reviews for
123
623
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I took my mum and dad away for a short treat to the Cotswold’s where we met my cousin and her husband. The hotel staff were so welcoming and the hotel was spotlessly clean, the food was excellent we had dinner bed and breakfast, will definitely return can’t fault anything, neither could the rest of our party.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you all to Number Four and thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor, very much appreciated. I do hope you all had a safe journey back and that hopefully we can welcome you all again soon.

Please send our best regards to your parents and we wish your Father a speedy recovery.

With warm regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday at the beginning of August. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and breakfast each morning was excellent - wide range of options and very tasty. My family joined us for the evening meal and our food was just delicious - the lamb was the best I have ever tasted and my sister said the same about her duck! The chef was unable to provide a birthday cake but the owners recommended that I contact Silke from Cacao Bean in Moreton-in-Marsh - not only did she bake a lovely birthday cake with only about a week's notice but she also delivered it to the hotel for us as well for a very reasonable price. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the whole place had a lovely atmosphere. We had a lovely weekend and would definitely return!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sprintergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are delighted that your husband's birthday weekend was a success and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your compliments have been passed on to all the staff and is very much appreciated, thank you.

We now hope to welcome you back again very soon!

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Newbald, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We only stayed one night here bed and breakfast on our way home to Yorkshire from Devon. The "kerb appeal" is very good, plenty of parking. Classy Lloyd Loom seating and tables on the patio.
Very helpful staff on arrival carrying luggage to our larger room on the first floor. Very clean, two TVs above dressing tables, perhaps a face mirror could be on one of them - minor fault.

They could have saved money for themselves on lights! There are wall lights, spotlights, table lights in the adjoining lounge area, two reading lights, very generous!

Breakfast was excellent a good choice, nicely cooked - again cleanliness was of the highest standard. Just 4 stars on this review as we did not eat there in the evening as there was a restaurant nearby we wanted to try. If we had it may well have been 5* Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to your review our hotel following your recent stay. We do appreciate all feedback that we receive and have passed your compliments on to all the staff, thank you.

We certainly hope to welcome you back soon and perhaps you will have the opportunity to sample Cutler's Restaurant on your next visit.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A great place to enjoy the beautiful Cotswolds.
Comfortable rooms , with AC for the warm days.....
Modern,clean ...all great. We had a family room which consists of two rooms ,one with a king bed and the other with 2 single beds..perfect for us..
Service is friendly and good..we had dinner and breakfast which were both excellent..
They can be a bit more generous when pouring a rather expensive scotch or after diner drink,but no big deal. We had a great time.

Room Tip: A family of 4: they have a great family room. Wish all hotels had one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchmen0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the UK and had a safe journey back to the United States.
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, your compliments are very much appreciated. We do now hope that if you find yourselves visiting The Cotswolds in the future that you will return to Number Four where a warm welcome awaits.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newton Abbot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We had 2 suites, they were clean and modern. Very relaxing, as were the lounge areas. The owners Patricia and Caroline, were superb, as were their staff. The food was comfortingly wonderful. Couldn't be happier! Will be back soon xx

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are so pleased that your family weekend away to celebrate your Daughter's birthday was such an enjoyable one. We very much appreciate your compliments and now look forward to welcoming you all back to The Cotswolds very soon.

With kind regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here at the weekend with my husband and two young children (aged 2 and 5 months) and we were so warmly welcomed - the owners and staff could not do enough to help us and we had such a comfortable stay. We had the adjoining rooms which were absolutely perfect and there were some lovely touches like toys in the room for the children and a changing mat, wipes and extra towels. The rooms were beautiful - clean and spacious with a lovely spacious bathroom.

We did not have dinner at the hotel as we just wanted to go and check out the different towns in the evening but I have no doubt we would have been made very welcome with the children and breakfast was fantastic.

We fell in love with the town of Stow on the Wold and enjoyed visiting many of the other towns and villages in the Cotswolds - such a beautiful part of the world.

We'd love to visit the Cotswolds again and if we do we will definitely stay at Number Four.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Losels, Owner at Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with your family. We are pleased that you found the extras in the room for the children helpful.
If you are visiting the area again I can highly recommend The Cotswold Wildlife Park, which is a great place for families to visit. We hope that we can also welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,058 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant

Property: Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#1 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and run boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. In Cutler's at Number Four, our intimate restaurant, chef Brian Cutler offers good simple and tasty food using the best of local and seasonal produce. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow And Cutler's Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing