We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, though not classic Cotswolds cozy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed at Number Four for one night on our way to a wedding further west. It served this purpose very well: convenient, efficient and comfortable. However, if you're looking for a snug, traditional Cotswolds hideaway for a romantic weekend, this probably isn't the place for you; it is firmly at the bright and modern end of things. Service was excellent - friendly, welcoming and helpful. The whole place has just been refurbished and is spotless: there is a distinctly teutonic air that I found charming.
We were given a complementary upgrade to a suite on our arrival - all hotels should do this when possible, it makes such a great impression right from the start, putting your guest in a good mood, and if the room isn't sold by 8pm you really might as well. Dinner was good, the wine list excellent and fairly priced, though the service and atmosphere in the dining room was just a touch formal for my taste, but that's a minor quibble.
The room was good, with a nice large walk-in wardrobe and large bathroom; we even had a bit of a view from our skylights. The room was also very quiet despite the hotel's location at a busy junction, though only if we kept the windows shut. This meant we ended up switching on the air conditioning for a bit. I slept well, though the bed was a little hard.
Overall Number Four really cannot be faulted despite my small quibbles - it achieves everything it sets out to and exceeded our expectations. We paid £190 for dinner, bed and breakfast for two - a very fair price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We have now invested in mattress toppers for those guests wanting a "softer" bed so please do request this next time you come to stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

Opt for the bed breakfast and evening meal package. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

Your comments with regards to our Dinner, Bed and Breakfast offer are greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.


With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

All staff went over and beyond to ensure we had a pleasant stay which we booked for our honeymoon.
Food excellent, service slick. New owners take great pride in ensuring guests are comfortable, happy and well provided for.
Staff friendly and attentive. All share the owners passion to provide a full, professional and unique service, working as a team.
Decor is fantastic and of a very high standard, cleanliness also second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brown53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Number Four at Stow. We were delighted that you chose to stay at our hotel for your honeymoon and so pleased that we lived up to our expectations!
We hope that when you are next in the Cotswolds you will come to stay again (perhaps for your 1st anniversary!)

Wishing you both all the very best

With warm regards
Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

When we first arrived, I was a bit dubious about the hotel, as it's right on a main intersection of road... but I needn't have worried. The hotel was wonderful, and no noise could be heard from the road at all.

The decor inside is perfect too... modern, and comfortable.

We came here for a night away from it all, and that's what we got...we came home nice and relaxed!
The food was great, we had dinner here... I never normally eat in a hotel restaurant...but the food was great... i really recommend eating here. Again service was great.
The beds were really comfortable, and the breakfast was great too... the best poached eggs I've ever had!!!
The owner and staff made us feel very welcome, and the service was fantastic too... I would recommend this charming hotel to anyone who fancies a break away in the Costwalds. It's in a great location, right in the middle of loads of pretty villages, and beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treatmenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed a relaxing stay whilst at Number Four. We have past on your review to all the staff which has been very much appreciated.

Hopefully you will be able to return again soon for more rest and relaxation!


With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My partner and I signed up for the dinner / B&B package, which was well worth it. The food was excellent, the staff helpful, and a dreamy bed!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrldtvlr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Number Four.
We hope to welcome you back soon

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We were looking for a great small hotel in the cotswolds and that is exactly what we got. This great family run hotel, has helpful & lovely staff, the food is great and the beds are comfortable. It is in a great location to walk to surrounding attractions such as the village or local resturants. We had a great break away from the city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccollins1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

We are delighted that your experience of staying at Number Four was so enjoyable.
Thank you for taking the time to write, it is very much appreciated.
We hope that you will return again soon

With best regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We love modern clean hotels but we found No 4 a bit too sterile in decor and for an out of town hotel the rooms were far too small to be inviting. You are forced to use communal areas rather than relax in room. Service was excellent, as reported in other reviews, as was the breakfast. We chose not to dine in the evening for the same reasons mentioned earlier - atmosphere lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback and are naturally disappointed to hear that the style and decor of our hotel was not to your taste. Your positive comments with regards to the service have been passed on to all our staff, thank you.

With kind regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,103 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
307 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Fosseway | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England (Formerly Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £74 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique country house hotel in Stow on the Wold, in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel offers 13 stylish bedrooms and 5 elegant two-room suites/family rooms and a relaxing and cosy lounge and bar. There is a large secure car park which is free for guests. A small but flexible function room can seat up to 40 for meetings or private dining. The entire hotel is fully air-conditioned and Wi-Fi is free and available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 4 At Stow
Number Four At Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Number Four At Stow Hotel & Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing