We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$273
US$264
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
US$766
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
US$263
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosse Manor Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Lords of the Manor Hotel(The Slaughters)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
807
152
42
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
152
42
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscutlers restaurantsingle duvetshigh standardbusy roadlovely hotelmain roadlambshort breakhotel is situatedlounge areacomfortable roomsbreakfast was excellentfull englishfresh milkcooked to perfectionbreakfast and dinnerone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
939 - 944 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We went to number 4 for a romantic weekend gettaway. The hotel was just what you'd expect in this price range / region - beautifully furnished and decorated; great, and very personal service; backed up by some top quality food and drink.
One quirk of the hotel is individual duvets for the double rooms - which is either great or rubbish depending on how long you've been with your other half.
Re location, yes this is on the outskirts of the village, but if you don't have a car whilst in the Cotswolds, you're not going to get up to much.
Overall, a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyW1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2010

We are both really pleased that you had an enjoyable weekend whilst staying at our hotel. Your comments have been passed on to the staff which is very much appreciated. Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking at ways to improve what we offer here at the hotel and we do now stock some kingsize duvets (available on request) !

We hope you will come and visit the Cotswolds and Number Four again very soon where we will assure you of a very warm welcome.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel with a view to exploring the Cotswolds so were really looking for a base rather than a leisure experience. We were delighted to find that we had come across a real Gem. Number Four has all of the style and contemporary elegance you would expect from a London hotel. The specification of the fit out is of the highest standard with attention to every detail. The furnishings are contemporary with touches of quirky opulence.

we stayed in a standard room which was clean, well furnished and comfortable. The food is excellent and the owners give the service a personal touch. We would certainly use this hotel again.

Jayne Moore.
Worcestershire

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write on trip advisor following your recent stay at Number Four at Stow. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been passed on to the staff which as always is very much appreciated.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming back soon to explore more of the Cotswolds.

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

For our anniversary my partner and I spent a wonderful Friday evening at this fabulous hotel. Unfortunately due to busy schedules we could only manage the one evening, I now wish that it could have been a long weekend. We’ve stayed in quite a few hotels in the Cotswolds over the years and I can vouch that this hotel truly deserves the rave reviews it has achieved and certainly does not deserve some of the ‘nit-picking’ ones. Someone I think complained of a boringly ‘beige’ restaurant – perhaps they were colour blind and can’t see the difference between beige, taupe, mushroom, pearl, cream and black! The decor in the restaurant is wonderfully subtle, stylish and is excellent for the digestion!

The suite we had was absolutely spotless and spacious. Once again the decor was contemporary and elegantly muted, so don’t come to this hotel if you want the ‘olde worlde’ feel or ‘old english’ charm. It isn’t like that and yet it is cosy. In the evening the very welcoming lounge/bar is dotted with glowing tealights in frosted holders, and the lighting in the dining room is also very warming. It was charming and welcoming. We had a drink in the bar before & after dinner, and chatted to the extremely friendly and attentive staff. The staff were brilliant and had that fabulous balance of being attentive without being ingratiating and knew just when to retreat and leave us to it.

The meal was absolutely super – every dish was fabulous - can’t say any more than that .

I rarely sleep well in a hotel but after the owner delivered armfuls of huge synthetic pillows (the ‘default’ ones were feather) I slept very soundly.

The breakfast was probably one of the best I’ve had in a hotel in the UK, from the hugely thick sliced white and granary toast to the ice cold freshly squeezed orange juice, quite simply faultless.

Thank you Number Four, hopefully when we are a little less busy we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2010

We are absolutely delighted that you had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our hotel. It is a great incentive for our staff to receive such good feedback and very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We now look forward to welcoming you back to the Cotswolds and Number Four very soon.....perhaps for our New Year's Celebrations if schedules allow!

With kindest regards

Caroline and Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Had a lovely weekend here . Very friendly staff and Great rooms
A mile out of Stow on the wold , We got a taxi to a lovely near by Pub for Dinner

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you had a great weekend. Perhaps if you visit again we can tempt you to dine at Cutler's Restaurant! Although we are always very grateful for recommendations of nearby restaurants to pass on to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cotswolds very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Hotel Four at Stow is a real hidden gem, I was amazed at the quality of finishing throughout. the rooms are modern yet classic, the restaurant was very stylish and the staff are all very helpful. The owners Patrisha and Caroline (sisters) were very welcoming and gave great insight into things to do locally. The restaurant was as good as you'd get in any top major city... I'd imagine people travel from miles around eat here - Top class.

I don't hesitate in recommending Hotel Four. I look forward to me next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyBickerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLosel, Owner at Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Delighted to hear your had an enjoyable weekend staying at Number Four. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, it is very much appreciated.

Hope to see you back in the Cotswolds very soon.

With kindest regards

Caroline & Patricia Losel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews