We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here for one night just as a weekend getaway and really wished we had stayed longer. The hotel itself is a lovely Victorian building and very well preserved adn set in wonderful grounds with great views from the conservatory restaurant. Our room was in the Orangery, sadly not with a terrace, and was furnished in modern style. The bed was the comfiest I think I have ever slept in and the room was well equipped - our only gripes were the lack of channels we were able to access on the freesat TV and the shower was feeble to say the least.
The service from all staff was friendly and efficient and every member of staff we encountered greeted you as an individual. There was a wedding on while we there but apart from seeing their photos on the lawn ( I love watching other people's weddings!) it didn't impact on the rest of the hotel.
Our deal included cream tea which was served on the covered outdoor "cigar Terrace" which has very comfy rattan sofas. The scones were excellent and I was pleased that loose leaf tea was served. Dinner was fantastic - all courses were beautifully cooked and presented with some imaginitive flavour combinations and ingredients. The carpaccio starter and sea trout were stand out dishes and the selection of local cheeses for the cheeseboard was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was again excellent and we then went for a long stroll around the 100 acre grounds to try and work al that food off!!
All in all this hotel is a great base for exploring the Cotswolds and we will definitely return and stay loner than one night next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    462
    230
    102
    59
See reviews for
182
852
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west sussex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We where there for one night on the Friday ,wish we had the second night there All staff were professional and friendly ,there was small problem,but it was soon rectified.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful and the hotel is set of the road so no road noise which is great and the beds were comfy and we had a featured room which my wife loved .It is about 3 miles out of stow -on-the-wold which is a must to vist.
Dinner was great and we took coffee in the library, ,they also have shelted seating out side with wicker sofas etc.
Good quality breakfast and we sat in the conservatory which was nice.
All in all I would recommend and i hope to go back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelled24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

If you want a relaxing country retreat then this hotel provides just that. The hotel is elegantly furnished and the staff are very friendly. Surrounded by beautifully kept gardens and with amazing views it has a real english country house feel. We stayed in the main house with connecting rooms. The hotel is perfectly located for touring the beautiful Cotswold area. We will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed with my husband for our anniversary. Really liked the efficient way the hotel dealt with check-in especially as three couples arrived within minutes of each other. Our room was nicely decorated, in-keeping with the character of the old building and as we had a 'feature' room there was complementary tea and coffee available from room service. What actually impressed me was the use of loose tea at all times.

The food was wonderful and we found the restaurant nicely decorated. All courses were beautifully presented and cooked to perfection, I really enjoyed the sea bass. The cheese option for dessert was something special with choices from local producers. The waiting staff were attentive and each course was served with about the right interval.

I loved the spa which was very calming and relaxing. I had a hot stones massage that was professionally done and did the trick to make me feel very relaxed and pampered. The surroundings are again tastefully decorated in a contemporary style.

This hotel is a great base to visit the Cotswolds. The grounds are spacious and should be enjoyed. The building itself is full of character. We found all staff to be very friendly and all spoke to us each time we passed.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greymalkin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We used Wyck Hill as a stop off from Yorkshire to Devon for one night travelling with our 2 year old. We booked through booking.com and to be fair the price was better than its far lesser rivals in Stow-on-the-Wold itself. Despite the stunning location, views and overall cleanliness and excellent standard of the hotel and the room I found the staff worthy of most praise. The reception staff were delightful and extremely professional. Breakfast the next morning was a pleasure with the most attentive staff I have met for a very long time. Breakfast was timely, well presented and a lovely experience with great garden views. The room was to a very high standard and catered well for our daughter. Only criticism....I really wanted a massage and all treatments were booked.....so book early!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed here for a friends wedding and found it was a fantastic place. The grounds were stunning and was the most romantic setting for a wedding. The rooms were lovely and I had a massive room with a stunning view. The wedding ran smoothly and if there were any hitches I did not notice them at all... And teh food - that was good to. All round a great place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Over the past 20 years we've been to Wyck Hill House 5 or 6 times. This remains a tranquil classic in the Cotswolds. The main building if very original to the country house, the rooms are luxurious and sizable (lovely surprise to have been upgraded when we arrived.) Staff are friendly and attentive, food is modern classic English cooking. We'll be back to see you soon, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOakford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing