We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach House is a must”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Read a few of the reviews on here before and after booking a one night stay in this hotel whihc were quite mixed. In short we really enjoyed our stay here. Main building and grounds were very stately and impressive. Staff friendly and courteous albeit front of house seemed a little disorganised, possibly driven by the wedding party staying at the hotel also.

We had booked a coach house room and were really impressed. The room was large with 4 poster bed and an enormous fireplace. A smaller dressing room then a bathroom bigger than most bedrooms. Dual sinks, whirlpool bath and a separate shower. I would recommend room 54 to anyone. Yes, its away from the main building but less than 100 yards so hardly a long walk.

Would have to say breakfast at the price was very expensive but we were on a B&B rate. I prefer a buffet breakfast to a la carte but looking out over the hotel gardens was very relaxing.

Would definately stop again unless I felt drawn to stay in one of the villages. You are reliant on car or taxi to get out for certain here. That said, its very central to the main sites of the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Room 54 - No view but felt like rural luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynicalginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I booked thru spa breaks.com and found a lovely special treat for my best friend and her fortieth! The food was lovely although the portions were a bit small. The surroundings and rooms were lovely and all the staff were helpful and courteous.
I really want to be able to go back one day.

Room Tip: The rooms were virtually soundproof, the right temperature and comfortably furnished. The duvet was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was very happy with my late choice of somewhere to stay for 1 night in the Cotswolds at a sensible price. I went for the special offer that included Cream Tea on arrival, Dinner and tickets to a local Arboretum.

Lovely setting for the hotel and close to the lovely villages of Bourton on the Water and Burford.

Reception were helpful on arrival and we were shown to room 17, a nice size room overlooking the rear lawns and conservatory dining room. Sadly one of the cups was dirty but not a big issue. Shower could have been more powerful but again not a big issue. Bed was big and very comfortable which really matters!

Cream Tea was taken in the outside garden room and was fine although we needed more jam, 1 little pot for 4 scones doesn't work! But the waitress quickly remedied this fact.

Dinner was lovely and no complaints at all, service by the staff was great. But for pre dinner drinks in the bar we did have to track down a barman..... they really need to sort the bar issue out reading other reviews.

All in all we were very pleased with what we got for our money and would book again if the price remained the same.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We briefly visited the Hotel in February and as we were due in the area in May for a friend's birthday decided to book a late afternoon Spa visit for the ladies. The staff seemed to be completely uninterested A massage was given but afterwards no robes offered or any directions given for the use of the sauna etc to such an extent that the lady whose birthday it was got dressed to leave Afterwards the package had a glass of champagne and canapes in the bar and they were left waiting twenty minutes before these were offered When we arrived to collect them we were also kept waiting a quarter of an hour before anyone served at the bar Lousy customer service!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

when we last visited Wyck hill house it was a private hotel and was I suppose a bit posh but as it was a special occassion it was fabulous. we stayed in the orangery at that time, room like a mini ballroom and views onto grassland where we could see the rabbits playing (it was june). some years later we have revisited in a standard ground floor room in main hotel (okay) in a much colder season January. staff wise it was great they could not be more helpful. there was still the nice library and sweeping staircase, so overall it was all nice. we ate at the restaurant and cannot fault it, though possibly a little bit expensive. the 2nd night we ate at the bar, the bar was not manned through the evening so had to keep going to get someone which was a bit disconcerting. the room we had was adequate, but it was a bit of a walk to the reception and breakfast room, past the service entrance and over some tatty carpet areas! (could do better) which reminded us of a very cheap hortel! I tried a spa treatment and was not at all impressed, so would give that a miss next time and keep to my normal venues where there are more experienced staff. so we enjoyed reminiscing, the food including breakfast was great, staff great, all in all pretty good, so perhaps should no harp back to the old days when it was a little bit more special.

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs and avoid that nasty corridor. or splash out for the orangery or coach rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soop77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed here last week at very short notice and got a good deal for a double at £95 b&b. The hotel is in a lovely setting, 2 miles outside of Stow on the wold. The communal areas are all lovely and very in keeping with the building. When we stayed it rained non stop, so unfortunately we didn't get to go for a walk round the grounds. Our room was ok, nothing special, more like a conferance hotel room as opposed to luxuary. The bathroom wasn't cleaned that well and felt a bit dated plus there was a damp patch above the shower head. Other than that the main issue we had was that there was no AC in the room and it felt like a sauna! We could open a window and there was use of fan but this didn't seem to help much and we had a very uncomfortable nights sleep.
All the staff we met were very friendly but there didn't seem to be that many. We did see the same guy doing about 3 differant roles. The wait at the bar could be long and at one stage we had to wait 20mins until a member of staff was found to serve us a drink.
Breakfast was good with lots of choice but once again the room we ate in was very warm.
I would probably stay here again if the price was right but there are so many lovely places in The Cotswolds, I'd probably gave them a call first.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAG123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Enjoyed a lovely two night break with my husband staying in the Orangery with its own garden/seating area. Polite and helpful reception staff. Enjoyed the three course meal in the restaurant with excellent choice of wines and superb cheese and biscuits. Very comfy bar area to enjoy a nice after dinner brandy. Full English breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. Enjoyed the Elemis spa treatments, have experienced lots of Elemis treatments thought their beauty therapists were particulary good. Very good location central to all of our Cotswolds favourites set in lovely grounds which the garden area in our room overlooked. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,086 reviews
14.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Address: Burford Road | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £75 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing