We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old Manor House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely old Manor House”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

A 2 night stay filled us with dread after reading Rebecca H's review, however the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful with us on arrival. The was no offer to help with our luggage and we were only given directions to our room. This seemed due to a lack of staff as we only saw one receptionist at a time during our stay. The room was reasonable, quite spacious. The bathroom was poorly laid out with the washbasin in the middle of the passage to the WC. There was no literature about the hotel or surrounding area in the room. The room was very warm which suited my wife. The double bed was king sized with a good mattress topper which made it very comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and friendly although the language barrier was a slight problem at times. The Spa and sauna/steam rooms are very under used. I do not know why because I found them very pleasant. I was unable to make w-ifi work in our bedroom but it was fine in the library. The food in the restaurant was excellent. We were on a DBB package and so we had a separate menu. The choice was very good. Eating in the conservatory with its magnificent views was lovely in spite of poor weather outside. It is a good idea to ask about the history about the house as they have a printed sheet giving a potted history of the previous owners. Bar snacks are not cheap but are very substantial. My wife could not eat all hers. The location is very peaceful. We could recommend it for a relaxing stay with good food and helpful staff. Car parking is no problem and it is situated well off the road so there is no traffic noise

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    486
    246
    103
    60
See reviews for
188
895
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a four night stay at this lovely hotel. From the moment we checked in at Reception we were made to feel very welcome. The very pleasant lady on reception was very helpful, offered us help with luggage, explained the geography of the hotel and mealtimes. We were given ideas about local attractions and even given a map of short walks from the hotel. Our room was in the Orangery and we were overwhelmed by the size of the room and bathroom, both were spotlessly clean and well equipped, the bathroom also having some lovely complementary toiletries. We had patio doors opening onto the lovely grounds and when the weather permitted we sat outside on the comfy garden furniture. The grounds were immaculate and there were stunning views beyond. We were kept amused by the antics of the numerous wild rabbits!
The breakfasts were beautifully presented and excellent choices, breakfast was cooked to order and was just the right amount to set us up for the day. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a bar meal, we took the recommendation of the barman's and weren't disappointed.
Overall we had a wonderful stay, had no complaints and would certainly recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Booked a 1 night stay for Friday and the hotel was lovely, fantastic rooms in a wonderful location. Reception staff were rude and unhelpful, laughed at us when we wanted to book into the spa and wouldn't even check availability, looked down on us when we asked for service at the bar, so left the hotel and went into the village instead. The evening was much better Avi the bar manager provided a service that was second to none, and he showed a different side to the staff, the food was amazing and all restaurant staff were helpful and pleasant such a shame the reception staff ruined the first impression and were rude to us. Check out reception was much friendlier.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just got back from a beautiful night at this fantastic hotel. If I could give it higher marks I would. Nothing at all to criticise, lovely staff from minute we walked in, Amy on reception should get a particular mention for her kindness. We stayed in a feature room which was stunning and love the idea of ordering tea and coffee from room service whenever you want it as opposed to the usual instant sachet of nescafe and uht milk. The setting is a delight in well maintained grounds. The food was lovely and the menu was so mouth watering we had trouble choosing what to eat, when it arrived we weren't disappointed, we would return for the food alone! We had treatments in the spa which didn't disappoint, the hubster said it was the best massage he has ever had. Really would recommend you give this one a go.

Room Tip: Go for a feature room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Safe parking for your special car. Entrance old charm. Friendly reception. Outstanding grounds. Mini spa – good treatments but no pool. Modern rooms 3+ star. Bar – cannot mix a vodka martini (refused!!). Dinner great and service, but puddings and cheeses generally average. Good breakfast. Great value. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Having stayed there Wednesday night we were very dissatisfied having booked for 1 night we arrived at 6 pm and were told the spa was closed then I asked the receptionist if the were a tv in bar area she almost laughed and said there was sky tv in room so I went up to watch football and discovered there wasn't sky but a free view box and a DVD player ( I know) quite disappointed I asked if there was wifi and was relieved to hear there was as there was no 3G coverage only to find the wifi was rubbish and took ages to load so I just gave up the "bar" closed at11 pm which I thought was early the room was ok didn't eat there so can't comment wouldn't stay there again and wouldn't recommend the staff were cold and didn't have much info regarding local area

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tom186419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at this hotel Sunday until Monday.I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husbands birthday.We had an offer from great little breaks that included 3 treatments each,dinner and bed and breakfast for £170 for both of us.We were given a complimentary upgrade as we originally booked a date that was not available due to a wedding.The treatments we had were lovely very very relaxing.
The spa smells lovely a mixture of oranges and lemons.The changing room is very small but as I was the only one in there this was not a problem,The relaxation room was lovely with a good choice of magazines.My husband and I were the only ones in there.This hotel doesn't have a swimming pool which my husband said he did miss a little but I did not.
Checkin was delayed by 1 hour due to the bride and groom being a little late to depart which was not a problem as we enjoyed siting outside in the beautfiul gardens in the glorious sunshine.The receptionist said our feature suite was "worth the wait".Once we got the key for room 25 and walked up the beautiful wooden staircase to our room we could see why.The room was absolutely gorgeous and huge.It had opening bay windows .With gorgeous hot weather we had it was just stunning.The suite was defiantly the best suite in the hotel.The bathroom was a decent size too the only thing that I didn't think was very in keeping with the detail was the pine toilet seat.
We had a lovely 3 course meal in the restaurant on the evening and the service was very good.There was a lovely atmosphere without being too quiet.A great night sleep was had by us both as the location is so so peaceful and the huge bed so comfortable.Breakfast again was well organised and very tasty.There are no tea or coffee facitilies in the suite so you ring room service whenever you want these which we did.We were always served with a smile.Nothing was too much trouble.
We had a fantastic stay that was made even more memorable by the fabulous room we were given.This hotel is well worth a visit .

Room Tip: If possible chose the feature suite that overlooks the gardens room 25 it is truly stunning?Fit for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorretta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
233 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
965 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
334 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing