We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chav Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Brackell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chav Wedding”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Went to Wyck Hill house for my Mothers 70th Birthday, were not told that the chav wedding from hell was taking place, paid full price for 4 rooms, took 2 hours to get a drink, could not sit in the bar due to the Chav Wedding overtook everywhere, Deputy Manager on duty (spoke little english) showed no customer service skills or concern. Was boiling hot, but the radiators were at full blast, my husband tried to turn them down but they were locked on, staff did not care, made to wait for everything, but the wedding based in Balckburn (who will never return) took first place, If you do decide to go here, make sure they have fixed their heating problems and that there is no wedding going on, as mark my words you will be ignored!!!!!!

Room Tip: in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toastie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    473
    238
    102
    59
See reviews for
183
870
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights a couple of months ago, and we cannot praise this hotel enough. Our room was upgraded on arrival to a wonderful large characterful, almost a suite size room, with wonderful views. The breakfasts and dinners we looked forward to were perfect with little added taster courses from the Chef. Although there was not any refreshments in the room, we were able to order pots of tea etc at any time (24 hrs!) and at no extra cost, and far better than a kettle and sachets. Also included was a cream tea; not tiny finger sandwiches and bite size cake pieces, but a full 3 tier tray. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful too, so we really were made to feel so welcome. We have stayed at many hotels and guest houses in England etc, and both of us thought this was the most enjoyable. I was just about to find another hotel in the same chain but felt I should write a review on Wyck Hill House Hotel (I don't normally). We did not use the fitness centre due to a busy trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Wyck Hill House and we weren't disappointed. Rooms are spacious and big still have cost feel. Breakfast and Dinner are a real highlight- and would definitely recommend. Receptionists are helpful and friendly. Would definitely think about coming back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a excellent location , with lovely views, we were allocated room 11 in the extension to the main hotel which was one of the best and biggest we have ever stayed in, we booked half board , food was excellent but very limited to three choices for starters and main meal which we coped with on our first night, but same menu again next night this is not very good for this class of hotel, another thing I was disappointed with the bar again very limited and bad service the waiter tried to replenish our drinks in the same glasses , but all in all we had a great time and will return

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 186466Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Unfortunately the room was not worth the price at all and I was really disappointed.

The room temperature was constantly over 30 degrees. We opened the windows and were hoping for a breeze, due the room was in a hidden place, there was no air circulation at all.
The lock at the door was fallen down. A screw falls out from the attachment of the bed. The toilet seat was broken and not proper attached to the toilet. The table between the two chairs in the sitting area wasn’t attached properly and glass top tipped over.

We were told the hotel was fully booked and there is nothing they could do, which was a real shame.

I was really looking forward to the weekend, but the room condition was a nightmare and we left early Sunday morning with £125 less in our pockets and big disappointment in our face.

After contacting the hotel by email and explaining my stay at the hotel, they are ignoring me. I have not received one single email or a phone call. No apologize, no thank you for your email, nothing.

I would not recommend this hotel at all. Rooms are terribly poor and service is not existing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jasmin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We booked at the Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa and also suggested it to friends after we saw the beautiful setting, rooms and location on the internet. After the raving reviews we saw we didn't mind paying a bit extra for the treat of staying here. But we were very disappointed when we arrived. They booked us into a tiny room, not looking at all like the one we booked through booking.com. We complained about the room and were given a new room but although a bit bigger, wasn't the 5 star luxury accommodation we were looking forward to. Our friends arrived a day later and also had the same experience. For the same price they lived in central London, the room they were given at the Wyck Hill Hotel and Spa, was almost have the size. Word around Stow was the same. At the restaurant we ate, the owners said a lot of people have been complaining about the Hotel, especially if you booked with one of the major online booking sites. We were very disappointed with our 3-night stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilze M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel is built around an 18th century country house. It was privately owned until after WWII when it became a hotel. The current owners have had it about three years. There is a newer annex attached to the main house and two clusters of outbuildings that also house guests, a coach house and the orangerie, where we stayed. Our room was large, clean and modern. We booked it through trip advisor as a standard room. The orangerie also has rooms with patios, undoubtedly more expensive. The advantage of the orangerie is that the rooms are on the gound floor and parking is very close. The disadvantage is that it is several hundred feet to the main building and restaurant, inconvenient if the weather is wet.

The main building has a bar, an attractive library/parlor and the restaurant, nicely situated in a new conservatory. This offers views of the grounds, with lots of rabbits in the evening. The kitchen is good. One night we shared a smoked duck breast with chutney, and had sea trout and sea bream, both with flavorful accompaniments. Another night we had beef and poussin, also with good additions. At breakfast, they had one of the best black puddings we encountered. The staff was friendly and professional and it was a good stay.

The hotel is several miles outside of Stow on the Wold and a nice location from which to visit the Cotswolds. We would not hesitate to stay again. We did not use or even look at the Spa facilities

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing